We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B. Superb value for money.”
Review of Four Chimneys

Four Chimneys
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exeter
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Four Chimneys
Ranked #24 of 69 Exeter B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent B&B. Superb value for money.”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at 4 chimneys several times and have never been disappointed. The B&B is situated in an ideal location. The rooms are all superb; spacious, clean and very comfortable. It is suitable for everyone, from families, couples and business trips. It is excellent value for money. Would recommend to all.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RS13579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parma, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I stayed here with my husband and two teenage daughters for three nights . We all agreed it was a delightful place to stay , the rooms are comfortable , spacious well equipped and very clean as well as having WiFI . There is a nice atmosphere and the owner is friendly, helpful and kind. The dog is lovely too

Room Tip: Room number one - Poppy is great , it has a four poster bed includes a spacious sitting area as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blaney83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed at the four chimneys whilst working at exeter airport for a few days. I was made to feel very welcome, and the rooms where spacious and clean. It was a nice place to relax after work. The owner is a very helpful and friendly lady, and the dog is a big softy. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I stayed in the poppy room which was very nice, but I'm sure the other rooms are just as nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukerathmell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

A beautiful character Victorian house, tasteful room with lovely personal touches, a wonderful breakfast and an excellent base for exploring the various resorts around the coast - I can't wait to go back - oh and Lill's just lovely too!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyExplorer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Welcoming comfortable accommodation in a quiet location close to Exeter and the M5. That is exactly what we got plus a warm welcome great breakfast and a welcome from the pets ( 1 dog and 1 cat) once we had made it clear that we would welcome that.

Room Tip: We were in the room called "Poppy" comfortable lare plus a large ensuite bathroom. Control...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erick273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, NE England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I stayed in the Four Chimneys as part of my accommodation whilst I relocated to Exeter for work. As I satyed as single person in an unfamiliar place, I relied heavily on the owner for advice and help. It is fair to say, the welcome was warm and I felt immediately at home. Throughout my 3 week stay, excessive help was given by the owner.

The rooms were clean, tidy and presentable. Furnished as a Victorian house, the property had a charming character and was peaceful due to its location. Rooms were suitably priced at £25 per person per night with an added £5 per person per day if breakfast required (if staying 7 for a week, the 7th day was not charged).

The location is ideal, located 15 minutes from Exeter city centre, 15 minutes from Exmouth and 10 minutes from the local airport. Nearby town of Topsham (well worth a visit) along with local pubs had plenty of shops and pubs. All local pubs were filled ith character with the quaint George and Dragon a 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank for319ner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2007

We found this charming bed and breakfast through Smoothhound.co.uk and once again, Smoothhound represents a great B&B. Lill, the owner, is warm and welcoming. The rooms were quiet and cozy and the breakfasts wonderful. Will definitely stay there again.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank HBSMDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
3.0 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#4 of 31 in Exeter
1,000 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
0.8 mi away
Riverdown B & B
Riverdown B & B
#1 of 2 in Exton
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Broadway House Luxury Serviced Rooms
0.3 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George
Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst ...
#1 of 1 in Clyst Saint George
235 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Globe
The Globe
#1 of 6 in Topsham
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Chimneys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Chimneys

Property: Four Chimneys
Address: Four Chimneys Odams Wharf | Ebford, Exeter EX3 0PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Four Chimneys Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing