We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectations Exceeded”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Expectations Exceeded”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Excellent location across the road from the station, couldn't be more convenient. Premier Inn are the market drivers in Budget Hotels and do what it says on the label. Clean, comfortable and affordable.

As a customer service consultant and a hospitality educator I was impressed with the service throughout the hotel especially that of the two young men who were on duty in the morning of Wednesday November 21st. Their customer service skills were faultless they were attentive, proactive and demonstrated both their product and service knowledge and appeared to enjoy their work. A pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    147
    61
    28
    8
See reviews for
80
172
19
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

The hotel is on a very busy roundabout so was easy to find but we did miss the entrance so had to turn around and come back. The receptionist was very helpful and met our request for a quiet room away from the road. The wifi was down when we were there but when we asked for directions, she kindly printed off the instructions and a map for us.

The room was your "normal" premier inn with the standard tea/coffee making facilities. The room and bathroom were clean. The only thing to mention is that the water pressure in the shower was very poor - so a very weak shower.

We had dinner and breakfast in the beefeater which is adjacent, both meals very good. Would stay again if we were in the area and would recommend, although it was a bit pricier than some premier inns.

Room Tip: A room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKTravellerLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menheniot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Travelling with my disabled wife is never as simple as for able bodied people, this Premier Inns disabled rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. My wife and I however can never understand why such low beds are in disabled rooms, getting out of bed was impossible without my help, also, showers over high bathtubs make having a shower impossible for my wife. The hotel was good, breakfast excellent and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Being on a busy junction the road noise was noticeable, however it did not keep us awake or spoil our stay.

Room Tip: Great location for events at Westpoint Arena.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Generally speaking, you know what you're getting when you book a Premier Inn room - we have stayed in a number of Premier Inns, this being the most recent for a 2-night stay. Good clean standard of accommodation, enough space & basic facilities for most needs...but just a little irritating that they still charge for wi-fi usage (currently £3 for 24 hrs). If anything & in my opinion, this Inn was a notch or two above the average? The attached Beefeater served perfectly acceptable food at reasonable prices...if you want haute cuisine, you need to seek elsewhere!

I was most impressed with the staff who were typically young & all of them very willing & helpful, both in the hotel reception & those serving in the Beefeater. The hotel seems well patronised by business customers & although OK for a stopover or short break, I suggest there might be better places for longer holiday-type trips? The car parking seemed perfectly alright for the two nights we spent there, but please note that at peak times, it can be quite challenging trying to exit & turn onto the main road. All in all, this hotel was well up to the expected Premier Inn standard.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

After reading some of the previous reviews of the hotel we were a little apprehensive about our stay, however, Starting with reception through to the cleanliness and comfort of the room the quality of the attached Beefeater and the friendliness and efficiency of the overworked staff. we enjoyed a pleasant stay. Up to the same standard we have come to expect from Premier.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 99Terry63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

After a wait to find a receptionist, we were directed to our room at the back of the hotel ( The quietest place to be). Rooms are adequate, typical of Premier inns. The restaurant facilities, although we didn't use them on this stay are excellent.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the Motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clivegil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Hotel old and showing it's age, but ok, in an identikit sort-of way with a super-efficient, friendly receptionist.

Restaurant was another story - slowest service ever, a booking system that simply didn't work and staff who couldn't care less. Nearly 2 hours for a steak....hmmmm.

Stay here if you need to break a long journey to Cornwall, but go elsewhere to eat.... go anywhere but the attached pub/restaurant.

Room Tip: tip - find another place to eat
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this.
Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Customer Services and the Management Team at this hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina
Social Media Team,

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
1.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#5 of 31 in Exeter
999 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
1.8 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
494 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Exeter M5
Travelodge Exeter M5
#21 of 31 in Exeter
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel
Address: 398 Topsham Road, Exeter EX2 6HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Follow the River Exe into Exeter from this quiet spot and enjoy scenic views and quaint pubs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel Exeter
Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing