We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What it says on the adverts!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What it says on the adverts!”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Excellent room, totally quiet, great location, good price - can't fault it. Access to all areas of interest in Devon is immediate - it is 5 mins from the M5. Only downside is the Beefeater pub - there's no noise, but the beer isn't great and the meals were average. Darts Farm is just down the road though, good for a breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palaeolithic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    154
    62
    28
    8
See reviews for
82
180
19
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Modern clean, comfortable value hotel. Helpful staff. Good adjacent bus services into Paignton and Brixham. Good restaurant and free parking. Made cheap booking in advance, very good deal. Full price wouldhavebeen twicetheprice

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Very good location for travelling and excellent facilities. Good quality room and service. As always value for money and staff friendly. The beefeater next door was good standard pub grub and the breakfast was plentiful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I travel all over the UK with work, using Premier Inn's as my accommodation all the time.
This makes me more aware when things aren't quite right, well In this case very wrong.

I stayed at countess wear just over 2 years ago and remembering then thinking that it couldn't be far off its refurb renewal. Well, it's still waiting!
This hotel is tired, worn down and lifeless. Yes the rooms are clean and the beds comfortable as always, but the rest of he place needs serious TLC.

This particular visit was a bad day at the office for the hotel.
On arriving, reception staff were lovely, friendly and bubbly...perfect.
The same however could not be said for the beefeater staff.
I was using he meal deal voucher which seemed the garlic to the vampires! I was told there was a 15 minute wait, this actually turned into a 50 minute wait for my starter alone!! I was then told, after finishing it, my steak would be another 15 minutes , with a short "sorry bout that!"
For a beefeater the steak was average. That's the best I can say sorry.
I decided to take my desert to my room, where I found a piece of foil half way down my lemon Sunday! I just gave up at that point.

The next morning.
I had to step over 2 slugs right outside my bedroom door (which was opposite a door into the car park) to make my way to breakfast.
The girl serving was "shy"?? Didn't say much and left me to get on with things, I ordered bacon, 2 poached eggs and plum tomatoes , the tinned ones she said, yep their the ones I smiled!
Below is the photo of the cremated bacon I got with 2 "grilled" tomatoes slapped on a plate, I ate my eggs and watched my bacon shatter as i touched it with my knife!
i left as I couldn't see any staff to tell.....turns out she was chatting to her mate on reception!

Really disappointing stay but it will not stop me from using premier inn again, but I may just avoid this one.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Highfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The room was spotless, the bathroom gleaming and the bed comfortable. A lot better than the Travelodges we stayed in on the same trip and worth spending a bit more money. Car parking was easy and the people on the desk were very helpful.

Try walking down the main road to the river/canal and then walking into Exeter Quays down the canal - about 3 miles and a lovely walk.

Would undoubtedly choose to stay here again when we next visit our daughter at university

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrUnbiased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2013

A quick check in with the guarantee explained. The room was clean and tidy and the bed was comfy. The staff went out of their way to resolve a noise issue with the room nextdoor at 5am! I didn't even think about asking for a refund as it was outside of the hotel's control, but was offered and issued without me bringing it up. Customer service was exemplary. The breakfast was varied and tasty. The only thing that let it down was only two coffee sachets in the room, but then I am a coffee-holic. I would definately reccommend stay there in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wyre75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Finding the entrance to the Inn was not easy. Recption staff were great. Room was good, clean and comfortable. WiFi was very slow but connection was easy. The 'Meal Deal' was a big mistake. Staff treated us as sencond class citizens when they found we were on the deal. Service was slow, food choice was very limited and staff were actually unpleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartClem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
1.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,063 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
515 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Exeter M5
Travelodge Exeter M5
#22 of 31 in Exeter
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel
Address: 398 Topsham Road, Exeter EX2 6HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Follow the River Exe into Exeter from this quiet spot and enjoy scenic views and quaint pubs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel Exeter
Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing