We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have looked at a B&B.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This Premier Inn must be one of the oldest. If it isn't then I can't imagine what condition older ones are in. Although nothing really wrong with our room - apart from the fact that we couldn't unlock the fire escape door(luckily for us we didn't need to escape) - it just looked tired. It really needed a little facelift. The reception staff were great and check in was quick and efficient. The hotel is just off of a very busy roundabout and traffic noise was a issue as vehicles roared away from the traffic lights. Breakfast on the Sunday morning was busier than the Saturday morning (possibly some non residents?) and we had to wait for juices to be refilled, cereal bowls to be put out - and then they were warm from the dishwasher and we had a much longer wait for our breakfast order to be taken- in the end I went to ask someone to take our order, If you have to leave on a Sunday morning at a specific time be warned. .

Room Tip: Not sure if any rooms don't face out onto a busy street but it may be worth asking if you could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pathiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is the first time I have been back to this hotel since 2003- it was shabby then. The room was clean but small in the typical Premierinn layout. Check in was good. This place is in dire need of a refurbish. I paid £165 for two nights, where and when on earth are these £29 rooms I keep getting emails about? Do you have to go to the north of Scotland in winter and books 2 years in advance?

Stayed: June 2013
2  Thank Clive W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed here on the way back from Cornwall. It is basically a motel with rooms around the car park. Our room was small and a bit shabby, the paintwork was scuffed and marked and the telephone was covered in dust. The bathroom had black mould on the tiles nearest to the floor and along the bottom of the door. If I had got the room for te £29 they are always advertising, I would have been satisfied, but I paid a lot more and was not impressed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlamGranLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Had a nice quiet room. The room was clean, we only stayed the one night but would stay there again on our next trip to Exeter. Breakfast was good,included in the price I paid, a nice selection and the fried breakfast was cooked to order.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank midgetbasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

As I say it all depends on where your room is located. If you are in the two story block they are quiet. You do not have to walk across the car park you can get to your room internally. But if you get a ground floor room next to the road or pound about you will be disturbed by the traffic. The thing with this hotel is it's top price for outdated not soundproofed rooms. Take your chance I will not return until it refurbished. Which it really needs. Mot of the staff are excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justturned25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Excellent room, totally quiet, great location, good price - can't fault it. Access to all areas of interest in Devon is immediate - it is 5 mins from the M5. Only downside is the Beefeater pub - there's no noise, but the beer isn't great and the meals were average. Darts Farm is just down the road though, good for a breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Palaeolithic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Modern clean, comfortable value hotel. Helpful staff. Good adjacent bus services into Paignton and Brixham. Good restaurant and free parking. Made cheap booking in advance, very good deal. Full price wouldhavebeen twicetheprice

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
1.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#4 of 31 in Exeter
1,172 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Exeter M5
Travelodge Exeter M5
#22 of 31 in Exeter
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Hotel Buckerell Lodge
#24 of 31 in Exeter
652 reviews
3.4 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
545 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#9 of 31 in Exeter
1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel

Address: 398 Topsham Road, Exeter EX2 6HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range: £46 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Follow the River Exe into Exeter from this quiet spot and enjoy scenic views and quaint pubs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel Exeter
Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing