We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Purple Palace...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another Purple Palace...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Having had a few bad stays within Premier inn, i've found an old purple palace…
When i say old, i'm referring to the fact this hotel is due to be refurbished; so you could say its a Premier Inn Heritage Site. However once refurbished this hotel will be unbeatable.

From the friendliest of staff, Leanne, Kelly and Matty on reception; to the housekeeping and beefeater staff; excellent you just wish there positive attitude could be spread across all the hotels.

My room (number 19) was very clean, very very little noise, and well presented. So a big well done to all the staff and I have no hesitation to stay or recommend this hotel to others…

Well Done...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajaz-events
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harriet M, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review about your stay here at Exeter Countess Wear Premier Inn, Myself and my team always strive to give fantastic customer service and a nice, clean and comfortable rooms. I am pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    140
    60
    28
    8
See reviews for
76
164
19
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Friendly staff and lovely clean room. We enjoyed our stay very much. Breakfast was good as well. Wifi was a bit expensive and dodgy at times but this was a small criticism. We were in the quiet zone which meant there was no noise at all outside the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toffandmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harriet M, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your review regarding you stay here at Premier Inn Exeter Countess Wear . I am happy that you found the hotel to be clean, comfortable . I will pass your comments on to the team who will be pleased to hear. I hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Easy to find, ample parking, clean and quiet and staff are very pleasant. However, if you want to use wifi beware! To have to pay £3 a day for wifi in 2014 is ridiculous, but to do so when the wifi is at best very patchy or on occasions non existent is plainly ridiculous - please sort it out.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Boybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We where down for the week end and needed a base close to Exeter City centre, this fitted the bill perfectly, with bus services right outside the hotel and a Beefeater adjoining. Clean comfortable, you know what you are getting and the receptionists where really pleasant and helpful.
Will have no hesitation in staying again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
248 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at this Premier Inn over the weekend and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The room was fine- we also had a a good deal on it too. Car parking was fine- the very small step up in to the room was a little unusual but not a problem.

We had a lovely welcome when we arrived and the service of the satff was very good throughout the weekend. They were willing to offer advice as we did not know the area at all - so that was a bonus.

The layout was a unusual - but one supposes that this was because it was an older building. However entrance from the car park to the room corridors was very useful when carrying bags in. There are some rooms upstairs if you have access problems- so ask when booking.

Would go there again if in the area

Room Tip: There are some rooms upstairs if you have access problems- just ask in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Choirman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed here for work reasons as a single lady away from home and family.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was lovely and good value for money.
Comparing this premier inn to the one I stayed at the next night, if I was critical I would say parts like outside and the TVs looked dated.
Overall I would recommend this premier inn

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The welcome and food was as expected from stays at other Premier Inns. What was markedly different was the quality of the room, which not only had a musty smell, but was reminiscent of an old Travelodge room, but this was three times the price!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#6 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
2.0 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
2.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel
Address: 398 Topsham Road, Exeter EX2 6HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Follow the River Exe into Exeter from this quiet spot and enjoy scenic views and quaint pubs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel Exeter
Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing