We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Not so Premier Inn”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The place is dated with the smallest rooms we have ever stayed in. There is no easy chair or table, the bed was uncomfortably soft. There is a approx 7" step at the room threshold to catch out the unwary, the attached Beefeater is tired, dark and in need of a refurbishment. All this is not a reflection n the staff who were all polite, friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    154
    62
    28
    8
See reviews for
82
180
19
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Not very good bedrooms, shabby and tired, staff lack interest and appeared as tired as the rooms.

Food substandard, all a bit shabby and run down - starts with the reception, follows into the bar / restaurant and then into the rooms, was probably really nice when first built 20 years ago.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poole,dorset
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We visited the beefeater here last night for a family friendly dinner. Arrived at 7.40 and given table at 8pm so far so good. Placed our order (no rump steak but that's fine, lots of other choice) and asked for kids packs. 15 minutes later called waitress to ask again for kids packs. Another 10 mins and garlic bread and potTos skins come - can't go wrong with bread but the skins were disgusting. Asked again for kids packs - oh sorry we don't have them! I can get you colouring..fine... Oh no we have no crayons !!! Meal was "ok" but nothing to write home about. Kids order dessert but guess what "we have no bananas, strawberries or gateau!" Seems that no one is capable of going to cash and carry or supermarket as it all comes on back of a lorry. Decided we would give a second chance and go for breakfast (kids eat free deal) car park empty which is a worry ... Go in and wait ages for someone to attend us before being told .... It's been bank holiday we have no bacon or hash browns!!!!!! Shocking.... Asked why they couldn't go to cAsh and carry or supermarket but no, it all comes from some factory some where .... Just don't bother!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank VikkiSlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stopped at Premier Inn at Countess Wear on our way to Cornwall, the hotel was very comfy, the staff were very helpful and the attached beefeater inn served good food and had a nice atmosphere. Breakfast in the morning was all fresh and our order came very speedily which was useful as we wanted to get on the road ASAP.
Overall the stay was very good value and would highly recommend asking for a non road side room to avoid traffic noise.

Room Tip: Room off the road side. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huddy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stopped off here on a Sunday evening on our way from Penzance to Dorset. Friendly welcome and although the hotel is a little dated from the outside the room was clean and comfortable and great value.

Room Tip: Free wifi for 30 minutes each day of your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Good stay at hotel. Good quality room, clean and well presented. Had evening meal in restaurant. The food was very good; good selection and well priced. All staff very good, helpful and genuinely wanted to make sure you enjoyed your stay. Will stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here on a Sunday night recently to break our journey to the south west of Cornwall, pleasant reception staff on arrival, directed to our room, room perfectly acceptable, nice and clean, but come bedtime the mattress was so uncomfortable that neither my husband or myself got any sleep, in fact so bad we were up showered, dressed and ready to leave at 6-45am the following morning. When handing keys back to reception, the guy on duty asked if all was ok and when we explained, well not really etc etc without any prompting or us asking he immediately said he would refund our money on this goodnight guarantee and then he proceeded to tell us that the Inn would be undergoing major refurbishment come November, I think they need to bring this forward or else they are going to be losing a lot more money through sleepless nights. Otherwise great location, easy to find.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKcoupleWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
1.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,068 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
518 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Exeter M5
Travelodge Exeter M5
#22 of 31 in Exeter
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel
Address: 398 Topsham Road, Exeter EX2 6HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Follow the River Exe into Exeter from this quiet spot and enjoy scenic views and quaint pubs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel Exeter
Premier Inn Exeter (Countess Wear) Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing