We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch city centre hotel with excellent friendly service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin Exeter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Top notch city centre hotel with excellent friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

We had just the one night at the Magdalen Chapter, but every moment was enjoyable. The staff were extremely helpful and professional, the room very comfortable (the shower was particularly nice) and the restaurant of a very high standard. The bar, library and lounge are good spaces to meet. And keeping some of the features from the old eye hospital - the building's original use - is a nice touch. It also makes for spacious lifts (think about it!).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    324
    168
    87
    42
See reviews for
163
545
40
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
SOMERSET
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Stayed here several times over the last few weeks for work and i cant say enough good things about the place.
The pool is intimate and is both inside and out in one pool and well heated. The Restaurant is good and food excellent along with the service.
The rooms are very comfortable with large tv's and ipads and the best wifi speeds i have had in a hotel. The complementary mini bar is a great bonus.
Banged on enough but just try it you wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tricky63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

We were taken by friends for Dinner on a Riday evening. the Bar area was packed - nowhere to sit (or even stand) so we went straight into the Restaurant.

The Staff were friendly and helpful and were able to answer questions not only about ingredients in the dishes but alos the wine list (displayed on an iPad!)

Food was excellent - taste, presentation faultless. Quite expensive for what you get.

Only complain - difficult to park. Small Hotel Car Park - difficult to find entrance to Public Car pak if you do not know the area

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busyaccountant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel from 21/02-24/02/13. I had read all the reviews and most were right. The hotel definitely lived up to its reputation.

Check in was awesome, all done on a laptop in reception. The girl that checked us in was friendly, showed me where to park as the car park was quite full. She asked us what we were going to be doing on our trip. When we mentioned we contacted the spa she immediately brought up the booking form and helped us select a convenient time for a massage. She also upgraded us from a standard room to a superior.

We were booked into a room on the 2nd floor at the front of the hotel. The hallway leading to the room has plush purple carpets and is decorated to a high standard. The room had a passage way that lead through to the main bedroom. What a room! Plenty of light, nice big bed, free mini bar, very nice bathroom and connections for your iPad with speakers in the bathroom. Very cool! We were at the front of the hotel and you couldn't hear the road at all as there was double glazing.

We had a mooch around the hotel. The lounge, bar, library all have open fires. It's so chilled out! We started on the cocktails early. They do a cocktail of the week.

We had dinner in the lounge the first night which was served quickly. It was very good food.

We had breakfast each morning in the restaurant. There was a wide choice of hot and cold food. All very high quality and served from the open kitchen. (You can see right into the kitchen).

I swam in the pool a couple of times. It had changing rooms that lead into the jacuzzi area(with another log fire inside the room). The water is heated but could do with being a bit warmer. I swam through the gap in the wall out into the outside section of the pool. It was warmer out there too.

Finally, the spa. I had a back massage that was out of this world. It was very well stocked out and another fire burner to keep the place warm.

The 4 days we were there were great!

The only disappointing thing was that the staff did not have name tags for us to thank them personally in this review.

Well done Magdalen Chapter!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sledgerwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

We loved our stay here! A post wedding/honeymoon pick us up was needed. We booked last min and had a fantastic stay.

Great details inc being able to plug in your iPad and speakers projecting your music/programme to the bathroom. A lovely room although compact but immaculate and well provided- nice touch with free mini bar. Room was very comfortable with lively bedding.

We loved the library/bar and wish we had booked spa treatments. Great cocktails. We tried the pool but water was so old even with lit log burner in the room we had to leave- gorgeous setting but just too cold. Decor throughout was beautiful. Only gripe was the chilly pool, but we would love to return and also try the spa.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gremelingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
337 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

My friend and I spent 2 days enjoying the hotel and spa it was a lovely experience from the moment we arrived. All the staff were so friendly and everywhere was very clean. It was such a treat to be swimming in the warm outdoor pool at 8.0. am on a February morning and as it was for my birthday we had treatments booked at the spa which made it very special in the lovely relaxed atmosphere. This is somewhere that I would thoroughly recommend and we will most certainly be going for another stay in the future.If someone wants to book a spa treat for a loved one it is well worth looking into.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

This hotel deserves its good reviews, but there are (as ever with hotels) a mixture of good points and points to watch. So, first the good points:

- a building with character, well maintained. Clean but un-modernised on the outside, modern on the inside, with a few reminders of its past as an Eye Hospital.

- pleasant, helpful, informal staff. No doubt they are trained to smile and be helpful, but they make it appear sincere (let's hope it is!).

- rooms vary in size, but are well equipped with useful gadgets e.g. Nespresso coffee machine, an Ipad if you want one. Unlike many "tech-y" hotels, they are easy to use - the Nespresso, the TV, the lighting, the aircon, the shower being examples.

- useful and good quality freebies - the REN toiletries, contents of minibar (replenished daily)

- generally quiet at night (but see points to watch) with a sensible check out time of 11am. They will gladly store your luggage until later.

A few points to watch:

- check in (which they do on an IPad, guests don't sign anything) involves no discussion of agreed rates, so check that they have it correctly.

- they might offer you a complimentary upgrade or one for £20 per night. Before you agree to pay extra, ask to check the types of room offered ; I did and didn't like my upgraded room which was only slightly larger but considerably darker with a poorer view, so I stuck with my single.

- there's nothing in writing to tell you, but phone calls are charged at 10p a minute for local calls, 20p a minute for national calls. So the latter may be cheaper on your mobile. Make sure they don't charge you for free calls (0800).

- I didn't use the restaurant, which looked nice but the menu didn't particularly appeal and was expensive. I've read that when busy, service can be slow. There is no shortage of restaurants in the City Centre, 10-15 minutes walk away.

- bedroom doors begin by closing slowly, then bang shut (why do so many hotel room doors do that?). Light sleepers bear in mind.

- check that they have validated your room key for every night of your stay, not just one night (and why do so many hotels get that wrong?).

- they are a bit lax on their dusting!

Room Tip: windows do not open in some rooms, for security reasons, so ask if you like fresh air. Some rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarryMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#20 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#26 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Exeter

Property: Hotel du Vin Exeter
Address: Magdalen Street, Exeter EX2 4HY, England (Formerly The Magdalen Chapter)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Exeter 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magdalen Chapter combines old and new to create a stunning contemporary hotel. Service and quality are to the highest standard where integrated interiors and technology make your stay it’s most enjoyable. Situated close to the sophistication of Exeter’s centre, it's an ideal place to stay for a city break or to further explore Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Vin Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing