We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, quirky, fab food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Spent a Sunday night here on a special offer - we were upgraded on arrival to a Feature Room which was fabulous. We loved everything about the place - iPads containing all the hotel info, gorgeous REN toiletries, the inside/outside pool (very romantic on a dark, cold December night). We will definitely return next time we come this way

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank happyvoyagerEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

965 - 971 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week last year and when I had a night in Exeter recently, I didn’t bother looking for other options. This time I managed to have a bit more free time on my short stay and got to enjoy the small pool in the hotel. A mix of inside and outside it is very relaxing and very nicely done – probably not too much fun if crowded but great for the small numbers usually in there. The hotel remains really cool – but in a way that is welcoming and warm, not snobby or aloof. The staff almost manage to get the mix right of appearing relaxing but at the same time giving really good service.

The rooms and public areas are comfortable and very nicely designed. The building is beautiful but as before it is best to assume the hotel has no parking since you’ll never get one of the handful of spaces around it. There is a public car park nearby and depending on your time of arrival and exit, it might be free – as are the streets to the rear.

It is a very cool place and I can’t see a time when I stay in Exeter and don’t stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob_the_moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I have been to the Chapter on several occasions for afternoon tea and meals. My son purchased a voucher for me to try the Spa facility. Sadly I stupidly threw the £60 voucher away with a load of envelopes received on my birthday.
He contacted the Chapter asking if they would issue a replacement as he had proof of purchase and the number of the voucher proving it hadn't been cashed in. They refused as it wasn't their policy and would not budge. How disappointing and short sighted the policy is. So basically they have taken £60 of my son's hard earned cash put the cash into their system and I have nothing to show for it. We run our own business and thank goodness we don't treat our customers like this. I certainly would not go back to the establishment and would not recommend the staff attitude.
No we didn't demand, we stupidly thought that the voucher would be honoured without threats or flying off the handle. Bad management and policies. Beware if you ever misplace a voucher

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
8  Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

This has been our second stay here and third visit to the restaurant, What more to say other than great rooms, tasty food at excellent prices and friendly professional staff.

Hopefully during the summer a visit to the spa will be in order.

Thank you

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Baz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I have been here now a number of times for cocktails before dinner and at the end of the night. They have great service, the place is brilliant and the staff lovely with AMAZING cocktails. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familygirl_220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

wow what an improvement in the spa. I came to the spa in January for a pamper day with my sister and was most disappointed in the general attitude of the spa staff and the treatments were average. we returned on thursday for my daughters suprise birthday and we had the most amazing treatments, the staff were friendly and they seemed far more organised and proffesional. great improvement thank you so much for a great day we will be returning in January

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemony9797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed on business for one night. The rooms were nice - the bathroom was super clean and the shower really good.
The braised ox cheek I had at dinner simply melted in the mouth - divine!
I would echo some comments here regarding slower service in the bar but we did OK

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbysGirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.4 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#20 of 31 in Exeter
254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#21 of 31 in Exeter
275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#10 of 31 in Exeter
1,821 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#14 of 31 in Exeter
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Exeter

Address: Magdalen Street, Exeter EX2 4HY, England (Formerly The Magdalen Chapter)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range: £87 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Exeter 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magdalen Chapter combines old and new to create a stunning contemporary hotel. Service and quality are to the highest standard where integrated interiors and technology make your stay it’s most enjoyable. Situated close to the sophistication of Exeter’s centre, it's an ideal place to stay for a city break or to further explore Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Vin Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing