We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Chapter Pamper day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Thank you to the spa, restaurant and reception members of staff for being so welcoming, friendly and making our day special. I came with my Mum for the Chapter Pamper package and we will definitely be returning - the full-body massage was amazing and the package at £70 each was very good value. It was perfect for us because it was small and we had privacy whilst using the pool, but as there are only 2 showers and 2 individual changing rooms, it is unsuitable for big parties and might be less relaxing on busy days.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elinor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

914 - 920 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

We were travelling away from the floods by train and had booked a dinner and bed deal. The hotel might have its quirks but the staff were all efficient helpful and competent what more do you want. The building is fascinating and everything worked. The room was not large but we got what we were paying for and the bathroom was good. The bed was very comfortable. The lounge areas were very good and relaxing.
The food was first class as was the service. £7.50 for breakfast was excellent value and the room was very good for what we paid we were only sorry we were not staying longer.
Added to that you can wander into the centre of Exeter in minutes.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank td2traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had looked forward to visiting this Hotel after reading its own reviews. Very modern indeed
with all the high tech bits & bobs that appeal mostly to young people. Our room - DeLuxe
- was comfortable but we found very little space to empty our clothes into!! Wardrobe was
only a flat area barely wide enough for a coat and already held the ironing board - nowhere
to hang a coat. Also very poor drawer space. So pleased we were only on a 2 night stay
with a skeleton selection of clothes!!
The layout of the public rooms does not permit much space to relax and have a drink/coffee
especially when one of them was closed on the day of our arrival for a private party.
Parking is practically non-existent apart from the public car park which is a bit of a walk
in wet and windy weather.
The restaurant is like a hot house when the sun shines in - some type of blinds would be
helpful. Also the provision of food is a slow operation - lots of hype but not a lot of
content.
The good points of this Hotel are within their staffing arrangements as everyone was
pleasant and helpful in the extreme. I would make particular reference to the helpfulness
of Ian and also of James and his colleague in the Bar.
Perhaps it is an 'age thing' but this hotel would not be on our 'return' list. Sorry

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The hotel itself is beautiful. Unfortunately, the staff are rude, unwelcoming, incompetent and unwilling. There is little understanding or commitment to hospitality and services are mis-sold with little capacity to accommodate the services promised. In-attention to the most most basic of details (enough chairs for the people booked for a meal etc) makes this a disappointing and overpriced stay. Many of the four star touches advertised are unwillingly and begrudgingly attempted by an under prepared loose collective of individual employees unable to communicate with one another, leaving for an embarrassing and awkward consumer experience.

Stayed: February 2014
6  Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed at The Magdalen Chapter earlier this week and had a fantastic stay. We arrived slightly before check-in time but we were immediately offered our room. However, on entering the room we were disappointed that it did not match up to the pictures contained on their website. Unperturbed, the management took us to two other rooms and we were able to select the one we were most comfortable with; a first class attitude and approach, and a really strong first impression.

The food - lunch, dinner and breakfast - was excellent and presented very good value for money with the service polite and courteous throughout.

A really refreshing change that a hotel got all aspects right and tried hard to give their customers a great experience. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c_millar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Having been looking forward to staying at this hotel ever since I moved to Exeter, I had high hopes having heard such good things. In my experience though I found the overall visit thoroughly disappointing. Like other reviews have stated, the parking situation is dire. With the little change we had we were able to park in a council car park until 9am the next morning, which was truly annoying when the whole reason I booked the Valentine's package was because we wanted the breakfast in bed and a lie in. Having paid £250 for one night in a feature room you expect certain amenities and again this hotel failed to live up to these. Yes you get ipads in the room, but when they don't work and the staff have to spend half the night trying to fix it with no avail, it makes it a big waste of what little time you have. We ordered room service for dinner as there was no availability in the restaurant and when it turned up we were expected to eat on the bed. I would expect them usually to bring a portable table or the feature room to come with one. Add all these things together and as I said it made for a truly disappointing stay. Thank god I had some amazing company!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Adam Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Hype is the word that best describes this hotel. Some features are excellent, some are downright hopeless. The pretentiousness of giving each guest an iPad to "navigate" the room, and to select wine in the restaurant, pales into insignificance when it comes to the room lighting that offers 5 function light switches that "change the mood". This hotel needs to focus on the basics. Housekeeping only did half a job in the room, with no replenishment of tea and coffee facilities, t
face towels, and a bed that would have been better made by a 3 year old. The restaurant food was a huge disappointment, the rooms (we had a superior) are pokey, with no hanging space, a poor shower and tiny windows (oh, and a toilet you can't turn round in). a hugely disappointing Valentines weekend treat, expensive for what it was. AND if you have a car, arrive early to nab one of the 10 or 12 parking spaces - if not the hotel tells you about the free pay and display from 6pm to 8am, but not the £10 plus it costs to park during the day.

Finally, any doubts about my frustrations? Well they're really fresh in my mind - I haven't even checked out yet, I'm writing this from my room!

Room Tip: choose an expensive one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reda610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#21 of 31 in Exeter
271 reviews
0.4 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#19 of 31 in Exeter
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Exeter

Address: Magdalen Street, Exeter EX2 4HY, England (Formerly The Magdalen Chapter)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range: £88 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Exeter 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magdalen Chapter combines old and new to create a stunning contemporary hotel. Service and quality are to the highest standard where integrated interiors and technology make your stay it’s most enjoyable. Situated close to the sophistication of Exeter’s centre, it's an ideal place to stay for a city break or to further explore Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Vin Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing