We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Muskoka Lakes, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed 5 nights at this lovely hotel, a former eye infirmary from days past, renovated to a modern facility run by youth no older than 30 (or so it seemed). They handed us an iPad when we arrived and the bar fridge was ours to use at no extra cost. Bathroom area quite cute and a very comfy king size bed. Not much room for clothing to be stowed and the housekeeping varied day to day, but overall it was just great. A short walk to the Cathedral and all the local draws.
The dining area and library were top notch. We really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcdivitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    333
    179
    91
    45
See reviews for
170
565
43
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed for one night and would definitely go back again. Reception is different with no desk and staff with lap tops. But it all worked smoothly and staff were very helpful sorting out our booking for several rooms. The hotel was very busy but staff soon found chairs for us to use in the lounge and food ordered came quickly. We also ate in the restaurant and again this was very good. All the rooms were nice and priced reasonably. Our only concern was the slow service at breakfast although the choice was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnoldkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This hotel is really interesting... It is trendy and modern (not having a reception desk, each room being given an iPad etc) but is still friendly!

Our room was overlooking the front of the hotel, and retained some original architectural features whilst being very modern.

We stayed with the Twilight Spa Package, and enjoyed the inside/outside pool. However, it is slightly odd that to get to the Spa from the pool you have to walk outside.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSH1662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salgados
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This hotel is well different and will not suit everyone.. Hurrah! ....because for me it was a breath of fresh air after years of the standardised corporate hotel standards we have become so used to. The staff are obviously 100% committed to the place in which they work so service standards were exemplary and left most others to shame - even though we unfortunately chose to stay on a Friday night when loud locals had decided to monopolise the bar and parking spaces - the staff did all they could to ensure we were helped to avoid them and served promptly. Room designs and other customer friendly details are excellent and I would stay there again without hesitation - perhaps if space could be found for a residents only bar/lounge it would add even more icing to an already impressive cake! ( and next time I will try to treat myself to an upgraded room too as based on this first experience I think it would be well worth the extra)

Room Tip: Standard room was small but perfectly appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank columbinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

stayed at the Magdelen Chapter ,very nice old building ,on old eye hospital.Very clean and comfy able hotel.
Nice bar area and restaurants .excellent breakfast included in the price .on arrival were given an upgrade to a larger room .
Nice Egyptian cotton bedding ,very commutable .
Would recommend .

Room Tip: Use a booking site to get a good deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Cant praise this hotel enough, it is fantstic! Great interior, excellent staff, fantastic restaurant and food. Booking in, you receive an ipad to use throughput your stay... With wifi all being free. Complimentary mini bar, nespresso machine in room, lots of gadgets, great decor, free newspaper. Food in restaurant is excellent. There is an open kitchen with food cooked fresh and to extremely high standard. The vibe is great throughout. Food and drinks are not the cheapest but you wont be disappointed. The only negative is the tiny tiny carpark. There wasnt a space during my two day stay there so had to park in the nearby pay and display carpark, which at £10.80 a day is very expensive. Other than that I cant fault this hotel. Looking forward to have another reason to return to Exeter so I can book in here again.!!! Makes such a change to have happy staff, good customer service, good food and just a fabulous all round atmosphere.... Did I mention I loved this hotel? Lol

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suitcasecarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We were coming to Exeter to catch the British Pulman dinner service on Saturday 26 April and to make a complete weekend of it looked for somewhere a bit special to stay in easy distance of the railway station.

I read the reports on Trip Advisor and those on The Magdalen Chapter reviews were full of mixed messages but I thought its worth a chance for something a little different. Having stayed there for the weekend I can understand why they are so mixed, it promises so much but falls short on so many little things.

Pre arrival
A nice touch, a few days before I was due to arrive I received a call to confirm the booking (I'd booked via booking.com) and ask if I would like to reserve a table for dinner. Gave me plenty of hope of things to come

Arrival
OK, there are limited parking spaces, no real surprise for a city centre hotel but there is so little space just to unload that you end up blocking people in for a short while. There are two spaces clearly marked for unloading only, but they were used as 'parking slots' throughout the weekend so no use to anyone - except those guests that parked there. On the plus side there is an open pay as you go parking area really close by and the reception staff are good with their information that if you pay after the 6.00pm cut off point those fees count towards the next day so you don't risk a parking ticket if you don't get there by 8.00am the next morning when the charges start again

Reception
A little different, no desk, no paper work just a couple of lap tops and friendly reception staff. This is where you get given the ipad to use in the room

Room
On the surface good, but in reality not so good. I had booked a leisure package which is described as half board - a term usually describing dinner, bed and breakfast. It does include breakfast, but only £40 is allocated towards food or drink. In fairness again, if you read the small print it does tell you, but at first glance I thought it would be £40 per person not £40 per room - my mistake
The Nespresso coffee machine is a nice touch, and the idea of being told by reception 'please use the mini bar its included in the rate' is good as well, but for two people it is set up with 3 cans of soft drink, one bottle of beer, two bottles of water and one glass.

I can also understand a previous reviewer referring to IKEA furniture, it looks like it, the cupboards have kitchen style hinges, there is a complete lack of usable space with the wardrobe just about ok for one person ( we just left clothes in the suitcase) and the bedside cabinets are next to useless both with space and the fact they just move the minute you touch them they are so flimsy. And although there is plenty of wall space, not even a hook to hang a coat or jacket. Maybe you have to upgrade to a deluxe room to benefit - but I would have expected more for standard room at their prices, and it doesn't excuse the long dangling cobweb hanging from the ceiling that was there when we arrived and was still there when we left in full view

The bathroom layout is a joke, best touch an LED style light built into the bottom of the wall that is permanently on, so you are not scrambling about in the dark at night or having to put lights on and risk disturbing your partner. But it is almost impossible to turn round between the sink and the bath edge with banging yourself against it - and if you like your baths warm taking advantage of the lovely toiletries in bottles at the side of the bath then great, but if you want a soak in hot water - no chance not even when you have the tap turned to maximum temp.

Now back to the ipad - probably a lovely idea when first thought up - but ours didn't unlock via the swipe so returned it to reception, problem is then you don't have any information about timings for meals, if there is room service or anything at all as there is no good old fashioned hotel guide in paper in the room - nice booklet on the art throughout the hotel though.

Dinner & Breakfast
Food OK, nothing outstanding in choice and I don't mind smaller portions when the flavours are there but in truth it was a bit bland. Service is OK actually, but its all very functional not memorable. And here's another small thing, and depends how you view. In isolation its OK, but put together with all the little faults .... anyway, we came back late Saturday night with a note under the door warning us that the hotel was full with a suggestion to come down before 9.30 or risk waiting for service. As I said either a nice touch, or an admission that the hotel can't cope with a full house of only 59 rooms. So we get up a little bit earlier, arrive around 9.00 - and yes you guessed it, so did plenty of other people. We had a table, but service was slow and then when the order was taken advised that it would be 15 minutes before being served, they were not far out the cooked breakfast arrived 20 odd minutes later -

Bar
Good spaces, nice feel about it and with menus on the tables you sort of expect the bar staff to come to you and take an order - nope, at one stage there were three staff talking to each other behind the bar, but no one interested in serving

Check out

Painless really, no paperwork they send you a copy of the bill to your email address and do offer to open up the various tabs if you have a query.
But not once was I asked if I had enjoyed the stay and so I left feeling very well processed as a guest - but special, no

To summarise
This could and should be a good place to stay. The building is interesting, its a good location but it is let down by so many little things, including staff that are not particularly guest focused. It's trying to be a modern stylish hotel, but it is a pale imitation of one. Was I unlucky, maybe but in every department something wasn't quite right - I don't know if there were managers about but no one stood out

Would I go back? Was it good value? No on both counts, I came away feeling let down and with a wallet left feeling far emptier than it should have been, I supposed a little bit cheated or conned. This place flatters to deceive, it won't take much to sort it and be good on a consistent basis, but you know what, I don't really know if they want to

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CotswoldsHappyDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#20 of 31 in Exeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Exeter

Property: Hotel du Vin Exeter
Address: Magdalen Street, Exeter EX2 4HY, England (Formerly The Magdalen Chapter)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Exeter 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magdalen Chapter combines old and new to create a stunning contemporary hotel. Service and quality are to the highest standard where integrated interiors and technology make your stay it’s most enjoyable. Situated close to the sophistication of Exeter’s centre, it's an ideal place to stay for a city break or to further explore Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing