We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky but good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin Exeter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quirky but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay here after a genuinely warm welcome on arrival. Room upgrade offered was great, and the room was clean and well appointed. Bar for pre dinner drinks was a bit chaotic, but restaurant and dinner were good with interesting food choices. In spite of being warned that breakfast would be very busy it wasn't, so a relaxing breakfast before checking out. Again a helpful, no fuss experience and a genuine and warm farewell from the young staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WYTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    324
    167
    87
    42
See reviews for
163
545
40
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is by far the best I have visited. The rooms are so spacious. They are fantastic. The service is out of this world. The food is very good. The service is just five star. I can't say nothing bad about this hotel. It just has the wow factor I will be going back happy guest

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vdubgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

From checkin to checkout nearly everything was superb about our stay at The Magdalen Chapter.
Most high-tech and simplest checkin I've had (just sign the screen and collect your iPad).
We had a mid-range room for two of us and our 2.5 year-old. Not huge, but enough room for a short stay. Complimentary minibar was a nice touch, although drinks weren't cold enough. Bathroom was great, with REN toiletries. Seemed to be a problem with hot water on bath.

Ate in the spacious lounge area, choosing from a wide range of tapas. Good cocktails and wine list too with knowledgeable and helpful staff.

We loved the "inside-out" swimming pool and the terrace area.

Breakfast was included in our rate and was OK. Continental good, cooked food very average.

Spa was a little expensive but a pretty good express massage.

Think we did well with our Sunday room rate of £140 as price jumps right up midweek.

Staff very friendly and helpful throughout. Genuinely seem to live working there. Great with kids too.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrSloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I booked a standards double room. There was not enough room to walk around the bed without turning sideways. The shower is so small you can't wash properly and when you stand out to dry you burn yourself on the radiator. They lend you an iPad but it takes up too much space in the cell sorry bedroom. I have stayed in hotels in major cities all over the world. Never in a room this obscenely tiny. Ridiculous!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I booked to stay at this hotel as a suprise for my partners birthday. We were greated with a smile and informed we had been complimentary upgraded.... what a delight! The bedrooms were a good size with free ipad, free minibar and as a little bonus for my boyfriend, a birthday card from the hotel manager! Its the little touches that make all the difference! We didnt use the pool, as much to my despair, we forgot to pack our swimwear, but had a look around. There is a small swimming area outside and a door to swim through to an inside bit ( not really big enough to swim in ).
The food was tasty and plenty of choice on the menu - i am vegetarian and some great options available. My boyfriend really enjoyed his steak!
All of the members of staff we encountered couldnt do enough to help us, even by making my favourite cocktail which wasnt on their menu.
All in all, a great trip for a special occasion and we are already looking to return with some friends in the summer - this time we will remember our swim gear! Cant wait to return!

Room Tip: book a room with free standing baths! such luxury!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loulou90_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at your hotel with my wife and little boy.

I am very lucky that I get to travel extensively as part of my job. I regularly stay in great hotels all over Europe. I can honestly say that your hotel is right at the top of the list. The building itself is beautiful. The décor is lovely. The location is fantastic. The facilities, library, restaurant, swimming pool etc are really great. But the best thing is the staff. They totally make this a special place to stay. Everyone was happy, polite and offered the best service. This is very hard to achieve across the entire team, so congratulations. You made our stay really relaxing and enjoyable and I am very grateful for that.

Please pass on my thanks, appreciation and admiration to your team. Together you have created a great place to stay. We loved it.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 'feature' room which was big, beautiful and had a great bathroom. Well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel back in August last year and it was an amazing experience. Great service and lovely decor. I've been back a few times since to dine in the potting shed. Today I went to the Spa with my husband for a joint back massage. The ladies were very polite and I felt very comfortable. Lovely massage and would defo recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#21 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#26 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Exeter

Property: Hotel du Vin Exeter
Address: Magdalen Street, Exeter EX2 4HY, England (Formerly The Magdalen Chapter)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Exeter 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magdalen Chapter combines old and new to create a stunning contemporary hotel. Service and quality are to the highest standard where integrated interiors and technology make your stay it’s most enjoyable. Situated close to the sophistication of Exeter’s centre, it's an ideal place to stay for a city break or to further explore Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel du Vin Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing