We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turned my business trip into a one-night holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was the honest feedback I shared with the GM of The Magdelan Chapter post-stay:

I wanted to take this opportunity to thank you and your team for the incredible experience and service I received at The Magdalen Chapter Hotel in Exeter last week. I wouldn’t dream of staying in another hotel in the area and am already looking forward to my next stay.

I think my personal Facebook message, tagging myself at the hotel upon check-in, says it all!

May 13: Okay, let me just recap on the best check-in of ALL TIME: greeted by delightful lass standing at what was definitely a carving of an enormous walnut; room upgrade; complimentary drinks in minibar (that sound was me popping a Heineken), personal iPad to control everything in my room and on my account... free wifi, cable, coffee machine (with bickies). Oh, and they had a charger to lend me after my journey took over 5hrs. In Heaven — at The Magdalen Chapter Hotel, Exeter.

Honestly, I travel globally and within the UK regularly and this truly was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. Heartfelt congrats and well done.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brickandpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

886 - 892 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

This has to be one of the best hotels I've stayed at in the UK. From our reception at check in through to checking out it's impossible to find fault.
The atmosphere at the hotel is very personal and informal which leaves you thinking you are not actually staying at a mid-size hotel. The building, an old eye hospital, has been tastefully renovated and retains some of it's original features. We were staying in a standard room, which was very modern, clean and easily spacious enough for 2. A nice touch was the complimentary mini-bar.
All of the hotel facilities can be booked via an iPad which you are provided with for use whilst you are there along with instructions for air conditioning etc...
We didn't use the Spa but it looked very nice, we had a couple of drinks in the bar. The cocktail menu is very good, especially if you can get them in the 2 for £10 offer.
All in all a great hotel, well worth a stay if you are in Exeter. It's also within an easy walk of the city centre, shops and Cathedral and only a 15 minute walk from the Quay.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I really liked this hotel. The building is amazing - wide spaces, high ceilings, ... My room was spotless and tastefully decorated. A bit on the small side, but more than enough for one person. The restaurant was also quite good, both for dinner and breakfast, and the bar is a very pleasant space. The service is also friendly and efficient. The only negative was noise from people walking up and down the corridors, from the elevators and the room above me. The hotel was very busy, the guests not very careful and the insulation probably not the best. I was there for business and had ear plugs, so it did not bother me much. But if I had been trying to rest I would have been disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I can't fault this hotel - the rooms are modern and spotless - free iPad, wifi, minibar, coffee machine and top toiletries. The staff couldn't be more helpful - when I arrive with my bike, they safely stored it. We were surprised to see a nice bed and water for us AND our dogs in our room. Understandably dogs aren't allowed in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast but the staff reserved a nice table in the library - again with dog bed and water! What's more the dogs George & Tilly Beagle were brought sausages for breakfast - spoilt!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyActuary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed for a night on our way to Truro, and we were really pleased that we did. Very modern and warm/friendly hotel with nice touches such as getting an iPad to use and pristine bed and bathroom. Nespresso coffee machines in the rooms too. Breakfast was wonderful too, and well worth the extra few pounds. We had a couple of spare hours in the morning and enjoyed sitting and reading in the library. Housekeeping were kind enough to even post my forgotten washbag back to me, for no charge! I can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicjones32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay here after a genuinely warm welcome on arrival. Room upgrade offered was great, and the room was clean and well appointed. Bar for pre dinner drinks was a bit chaotic, but restaurant and dinner were good with interesting food choices. In spite of being warned that breakfast would be very busy it wasn't, so a relaxing breakfast before checking out. Again a helpful, no fuss experience and a genuine and warm farewell from the young staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WYTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is by far the best I have visited. The rooms are so spacious. They are fantastic. The service is out of this world. The food is very good. The service is just five star. I can't say nothing bad about this hotel. It just has the wow factor I will be going back happy guest

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Vdubgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.4 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#20 of 31 in Exeter
254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#21 of 31 in Exeter
275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#10 of 31 in Exeter
1,821 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#14 of 31 in Exeter
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Exeter

Address: Magdalen Street, Exeter EX2 4HY, England (Formerly The Magdalen Chapter)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range: £87 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Exeter 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magdalen Chapter combines old and new to create a stunning contemporary hotel. Service and quality are to the highest standard where integrated interiors and technology make your stay it’s most enjoyable. Situated close to the sophistication of Exeter’s centre, it's an ideal place to stay for a city break or to further explore Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Vin Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing