We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at this lovely exeter hotel
Great food and drink
Staff could be a bit smarter and get shirts that fit and have a shave
The room was nice a little dirty in places but mostly ok
We did like the free mini bar
Car park could be bigger but pay and display close

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bigballs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    343
    188
    95
    53
See reviews for
183
588
43
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

After reading some fairly mixed reviews, I didn't really know what to expect. We arrived slightly before 3.00pm and our room was ready. It was reasonably sized with a high ceiling. The mini-bar was free and stocked with soft drinks, water and beer.

I felt that the hotel was extremely clean, with some interesting features, such as a library. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

We only had breakfast at the hotel. This consisted of a buffet plus various cooked options. I had the cooked vegetarian breakfast one morning and thought that the portion was rather small. My daughter has Eggs Benedict and thought that it needed more flavour. I also felt that some artisan breads would have been a nice addition.

I enjoyed the pool, though agree that it would be over crowded if there were more than 6 people using it. I also loved the garden.

Overall, We enjoyed our stay, though I feel that the rooms are somewhat over priced.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slotnicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

After reading so many great reviews of the Magdalen Chapter (Times travel magazine, etc) my wife and I decided on a two night stay. We got off to a bad start as on arrival there was nowhere to park. After parking in the council short stay car park across the road (no concession for guests), we entered the hotel and attempted to locate the reception. This is easier said than done, as there is nothing that looks like a reception. Eventually we stumbled across a staff member who produced a laptop out of a wardrobe and put it on a wooden sculpture and started the booking in process. All a bit strange. We were told that our room was not ready, despite having arrived after 3pm. Eventually we were shown to our Superior room, and quickly realised that there wasn't enough room to swing a cat in it. I was really shocked at how small the room was for £300 a night. The disappointment continued as we were informed that the spa was completely booked up for the duration of our stay. We went to the inside out pool which was nice but very small. Beware if there are more than a handful of people at the pool it will feel crowded, also there is only room for 4 loungers at the poolside. The gym is a joke, it is very, very small and has just 4 pieces of equipment (treadmill, exercise bike, crosstrainer, useless multi gym). We were really looking forward to dinner, as we had read the rave reviews of the restaurant. MASSIVE disappointment. The waiter was unattentive and drinks took forever to arrive. I had chicken breast with salsa verde,lardons and girolles. The chicken was overdone and dry and lacked any seasoning at all. My wife had pan fried cod with samphire and romesco sauce, which turned out to be one of the blandest plates of food I'd ever tasted. Skin on the cod was not crisp and lacked seasoning and the portion was minuscule (which in this instance was a blessing). Despite the restaurant being virtually empty the staff still sat two lone diners either side of our table (the tables are very close to each other) creating a very awkward atmosphere. There was a discrepancy in the final bill as the waiter had charged us full price for our drinks despite telling us at the start that they were on special offer. When queried he replied "ooh, my bad" which is something you would expect a child to say. Overall the Magdalen Chapter way overpriced for what it provides, if the hotel was in London it wouldn't last 5 minutes.

Room Tip: Get room at the rear of the hotel. The ones at the front overlook a very busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CiaronD624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed in room 004 29/31 July 2014

I visited with work earlier this year and as it was so different I wanted my husband to experience it.

Not disappointed. Everything was great . Staff, service fantastic. Food exceptional.

The hotel is all round good quality and is somewhere ideal for a romantic break.

Drinks are high side of normal for hotel prices.

Outside pool lovely, warm. The only thing that I could say lets the hotel down is the small gym and there is no sauna or steam room. This would be a great benefit if it could be added on.

Good location. 5-10 mins walk into the city. Cathedral is beautiful. Lots of shops .

We were very fortunate with the weather, glorious sunshine.

We will be visiting again !!!!!! Loved it !!!!

I stayed in a feature room last time and thought it was fantastic and a lot more space.

Room Tip: If it is a special occasion or treat then a feature room is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan1warwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My partner and I stayed here for one night to celebrate his birthday. The hotel is great - lots of history but lovely modern fresh rooms. The iPad seemed like a bit of a gimmick at first but was perfect for ordering room service and keeping an eye on the bill. The heated outdoor pool is a lovely touch - we had it to ourselves for about an hour. The free mini bar was a nice treat as were the big fluffy dressing gowns (which were also perfect for wandering down to the pool in). The room wasn't massive and as our room was at the front of the hotel there was some traffic noise. All in all a fab hotel with lovely friendly staff. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizeranne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Perfectly located for our theatre trip, ideal for a little shopping too! We did have a problem with the meal, but it was quickly and very efficiently dealt with by the restaurant manger. Would most certainly recommend this hotel. It looked like it had lovely Spa facilities although I did not have time to check them out, sadly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyJD66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

+ great traditional building with very modern and fancy interior
+ amicable and attentive staff
+ modern and clean rooms
+ great choice for breakfast and very fast service
+ good restaurant for dinner

- Rates pretty high
- Rooms might need refurbishment in a while
- Limited space for parking

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petersuperior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#19 of 31 in Exeter
268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Exeter

Property: Hotel du Vin Exeter
Address: Magdalen Street, Exeter EX2 4HY, England (Formerly The Magdalen Chapter)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Exeter 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magdalen Chapter combines old and new to create a stunning contemporary hotel. Service and quality are to the highest standard where integrated interiors and technology make your stay it’s most enjoyable. Situated close to the sophistication of Exeter’s centre, it's an ideal place to stay for a city break or to further explore Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Vin Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin Exeter Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing