We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time”
Review of Barnfield Theatre

Barnfield Theatre
Ranked #52 of 119 things to do in Exeter
Attraction details
EXETER, England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Although fairly small, this theatre packs a punch. Situated near the city centre, offering a huge range of entertainment, from pantomimes to folk singers. There's great bar, and a café, handy box office, just inside the door. What ever the event, you'll find a fantastic atmosphere, seats I find are very reasonably priced, and makes for an enjoyable night out in Exeter, enjoy!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rogerdunstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“lovely little theatre”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Visited this theatre recently, it's quite small and intimate but a lovely venue. Easy to find, easy to access the auditorium whether you can walk or need assistance. Seats comfy, no pillars to get in your view!
I have also performed there with a group of singers and it is a surprisingly big space although the dressing rooms are a bit grim. As a visitor it's a great venue and won I would visit again. It also has a coffee shop on the ground floor and you could have a light meal before a performance.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice friendly theatre”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Very friendly staff. Good bar not overpriced like some theatres,
£3.60 for large glass of rose. Not bad at all.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank M15CLARK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great live music venue”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The Barnfield offers great acoustics, and atmosphere - all of the seats have a good view, and it's right in the centre of Exeter. The theatre seems to be widening its coverage of live music - especially singer songwriters. We went to see Show of Hands, who sold out 2 nights, and was an excellent show. Upcoming are people like the Spooky Men's Chorale from Australia, Ralph McTell, Mary Coughlan and Cara Dillon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philip_TripAdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Sean Lock Live”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

this was my second visit in the space of a week to this venue on the Sunday i saw the Passadena Roof Orchestra who were brilliant but you could not take beer to your seat as it was a sunday afternoon show and the average age of the audience was 70+ when we went for Sean Lock the bar was open and the crowd was younger and Sean was funny as hell. What a change. I went home to look for more things to book ! Great place to watch intimate comedy

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SDB1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barnfield Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Barnfield Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing