We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Ley Arms

Ley Arms
Ranked #41 of 535 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Stoke on Trent
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We ate Sunday lunch here today and had nothing to complain about. The food was well presented and delicious, the staff were attentive and friendly and the beer was very tasty.

Would definitely recommend it and we will be returning.

The only very trivial comment for improvement would be to serve the cheeseboard with a cheese knife but that's very minor attention to detail.

Overall experience was outstanding.

Helpful?
2 Thank Devonites2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    82
    25
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Cheerful place, lovely food”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly agree with previous reviewers, this is a splendid pub, friendly staff, excellent food and service. Passing by on our way down to the West Country, we stopped the night nearby and walked into the village for an early supper. Shared the hummus and pesto starter with pitta and crudités, then a good lamb curry and a very good guinea fowl with piping hot veg. No room for desserts, with a tomato juice, a beer and a merlot, the bill came to just over £40 for the two of us. Try it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MelFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem, best food and hospitality in Devon.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Friendly staff, beautiful village pub with amazing food. Best food I have eaten in a long time. Had a family meal here on Saturday night for five people, we all had different meals and puddings. Ten very clean plates, wonderful will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Veggieon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy and friendly”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Popped out for a Sunday drive and decided to stop in this attractive pub for a drink and Sunday lunch and what a delicious roast we were served. Just like a tasty homemade dinner lovely. And the desserts to die for sticky toffee pud and treacle tart yum !
Very friendly staff and very welcoming will definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahj1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We waxed lyrical”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Wow, what a couple of dishes we got served tonight. Very rare venison in a beautiful sauce and a stunning fillet steak. All in the surroundings of a relaxed country pub with great staff and great beer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonLuke70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ley Arms also viewed

 

Been to Ley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing