We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a delight”

Cote Brasserie - Exeter
Ranked #11 of 527 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our inspiration for the food and design of Cote is a modern interpretation of the many famous bistros of Paris. Inspired by new trends, we are dedicated to serving authentic classic brasserie dishes with a modern twist, using high quality produce at great prices. On the menu, guests will always find brasserie favourites on our a la carte menu such as steak frites, moules marinieres, corn-fed chicken from rural Brittany and tuna Nicoise, for dessert, Cote's creme caramel and creme brulee are much-loved house specialities. Seasonality and Cote's commitment to sourcing high-quality ingredients results in a monthly changing specials menu, ensuring there is always something new to delight regular guests and gastronomes alike, as well as the excellent value set menu. Open early every day for breakfast, through to lunch and dinner; Cote's atmosphere is informal and friendly.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always a delight”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This place is wonderful. The food is outstanding and the service second to none. Everyone working there seem to really enjoy serving people and if you like blue steak, then this is the place to come to. Always a buzz and upstairs is always most enjoyable with super views of the Cathedral. We go there at least twice a month and the food is always absolutely delicious. Don't miss it!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JuliaandRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    956
    541
    118
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Can't fault it.”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Took the fiance here for a date night last week. Always wanted to eat here but never had the chance.

I would recommend it to anybody! The a la carte menu is excellent with a good variety of choice plus not overally expensive. Affordable quality dining!

I had the duck breast with potato gratin, in a morrello cherry and calvados jus! This was just to die for! Along with a side portion of carrots it cost me just over £15! Great price!


If you are in Exeter and want somewhere nice to eat Cote is the place to go.

We've put up with the over priced trash in Princessay too long! (Strada, Coal etc...) Cote is our no. 1 now!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gfclewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Overlooking the Cathedral Green in Exeter this is a lovely place to enjoy good food and a view of the Cathedral, it's Close and the Green.25 booked for a leaving do and did not have to pre order. An early evening booking- half six, meant that we were entitled to the early brd set menu of 1,2 or 3 courses -3 for £11.90. small and delicious selection but - the portions were very small - you needed three courses! Mainly satisfied were those who chose this option. Off the main menu I chose Steak tartare which although already mixed was delicious then followed by roasted belly pork, puree potatoes with shallots and parsley and apple and sauce. no side dishes were included so i had a green salad. my colleagues were disappointed by their portion sixe but taste was good - those who chose steak au frites were disappointed with their thin overcooked steaks which were all overdone and tho the fishcakes were lovely one was delivered with a hard boiled egg! the waiter was very efficient - all things considered and worked hard to help the evening along. House wine very palatable and served cold and in an ice bucket -would definately go back though the drinks were really city centre prices. All ok but didnt rock my socks.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
140 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Lucky find”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

In a sea of fish and chips, we stumbled upon Côte in Exeter and sat outside on a beautiful sunny day. My partner had the special of the day, half a Breton chicken in a tarragon sauce with gratin dauphinois and I had a grilled chicken breast with French beans. All delicious and simply served, mine with a crème fraîche and wild mushroom sauce, and we ended the meal with a lovely caffè latte. What could be nicer? And all for around GBP26. We left very satisfied and very happy - and so will you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“We are regulars”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We love this place. Food is good and well priced. Staff are lovely and work so hard to please. A day in Exeter isn't complete without a lunch here - upstairs overlooking the cathedral...lovely

Helpful?
Thank TheAngeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cote Brasserie - Exeter also viewed

 

Been to Cote Brasserie - Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing