We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best cinema in the South West”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Picturehouse Exeter
Ranked #6 of 21 Fun & Games in Exeter
Attraction details
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best cinema in the South West”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Amazing independent-feeling cinema, that lets you take a beer into the screening, and sit on sofas. Much more affordable than other cinemas, and shows not only the blockbusters, but some really good lesser known films. Amazing cafe restaurant upstairs. All round a great night out.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wren0200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    40
    7
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I can't remember when I went but its good. There's a good selection of adult films but the children's ones are rubbish. They always get the good films for kids when there on DVD. For kids films its better to go to the odeon or the vue

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank fluffyflamingos12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Cinema with an intimate buzzy bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Lovely place to meet for a film and a glass of wine afterwards in the cosy bar. Very good wine list. The pizzas are good too. The theatres are small, clean, and comfortable. Drinks can be taken in. All very civilised! Silver surfers get a discount and tea and biscuits on Thursday afternoon. Membership is good value too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 481 helpful votes
“Very good cinema set up.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I tend to feel a bit uncomfortable in places where a substantial proportion of the users are members and seem often to be working to an unknown or better informed agenda. I have had one or two disappointments at the box office when we have been trumped on an unusual or popular film. That gripe aside I like the Picture House, the selection and screening of the films and the general unhassled comfort of the two cinema spaces themselves. Recommended.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Josie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent way to see a film”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very comfortable and intimate cinema with reclining chairs and cup holders for your drink to take in with you.. Very civilised!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Picturehouse Exeter also viewed

 

Been to Picturehouse Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing