We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pastries and cajes”

The Exploding Bakery
Ranked #1 of 5 Bakeries in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent pastries and cajes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We found this place while we were killing time waiting for a train. One of the best sausage rolls I've ever eaten!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fishlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    20
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best coffee and food in the South West!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This place is a real find, We hopped off the Train in Exeter in dire need of a decent coffee and we stumbled upon this little Gem, We are visiting from New Zealand and have struggled to beat the delicious food and coffee that this little hideaway provides! only Gripe I have is more seating is needed as it is a very popular place! Staff are lovely too which is always a bonus!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great start”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great start - amazing coffee (2 choices) and a fairly good selection of cakes and lunchtime snacks. They could certainly offer more, such as smoothies and fresh organic sandwiches (to take away too). The Exploding Bakery has made a fantastic start and I can see myself visiting time and time again. Keep the prices sensible and offer a little more choice.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisTempleMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
509 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Explosion of taste and aroma.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I have sampled the Exploding Cake Factory cakes, but have never visited, until today. I'd also read about it but even so I was not prepared. Wow! What an experience. There is nothing like it in Exeter. The aromas are sensational. It feels as if you have walked into the midst of a working kitchen, sat at a table and feasted on the most amazing food. It couldn't be more laid back, and it just couldn't be more fresh. Batches of Lumberjack cake were being prepared as we enjoyed coffee and carrot cake. Polenta and almond cake, recently out of the oven was cooling. It was a hive of activity. We loved it. We shall be back in the area next week and we will be returning to the Exploding Cake Factory for coffee and cake. We will also be buying food to bring home.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Worldstar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Taste explosion!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Recommended if you are travelling via Exeter Central station - pop in while waiting for a train or pick up lunch or a snack to take with you. This tiny cafe with a busy bakery attached always has a warm and friendly welcome. The Monmouth coffee, croissants, cakes and savoury snacks are all highly recommended. Watch the cakes being made - Lumberjack, Carrot cake, chocolate brownies and much more. At lunchtime there is a range of sandwiches (the bread is homemade and you can buy some to take home), tortilla/frittata and soup. Two tables inside and outside seating.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Exploding Bakery also viewed

 

Been to The Exploding Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing