We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a brilliant and original and fantastic addition to Exeter”

The Exploding Bakery
Ranked #1 of 5 Bakeries in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“What a brilliant and original and fantastic addition to Exeter”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Had read a few articles and reviews about the Exploding Bakery and thought would give it a go and what a fantastic place.

It's essentially a small group of people who are absolutely passionate about food and what a brilliant concept.

I only went in for a coffee but wish I hadn't had lunch and got something there. It's a proper working bakery but they are producing some of the most fantastic and simple cakes and snacks. And the coffee was excellent and very good value.

Well done Exploding Bakery and don't change what you are doing! Brilliant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spence01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    21
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Basildon
Level Contributor
188 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“One of the best cups of coffee ever!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Back in Exeter visiting family and got off the train at Central station and then turned right to meet up with my son at this great little bakery.

We both are coffee purists and the Monmouth coffee used here is superb and brilliantly produced! We were also tempted by the range of cakes and in our many visits have yet to experience anything other than a superb taste.

Busier than last time but with this quality of food, coffee and service it is well deserved.

Will definitely return when next in Exeter.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“What a great find”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at the Rougemont Hotel and wanted to eat outside the hotel. We walked across the road and stumbled into the Exploding Bakery and so pleased we did. After two weeks suffering average coffee, what a bonus it was to come across this place. Brilliant coffee and great to watch the baking going on as you drink and eat. Breakfast and lunch are limited, but made up by the quality.
We went back for lunch and had the curried lentil soup with freshly baked bread, which was lovely. The real highlighted was the lumberjack cake - unbelievable flavour and texture.
All this at a low price and combined with the great coffee, why would you go anywhere else?

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonandTracyBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent pastries and cajes”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We found this place while we were killing time waiting for a train. One of the best sausage rolls I've ever eaten!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fishlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otago Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best coffee and food in the South West!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This place is a real find, We hopped off the Train in Exeter in dire need of a decent coffee and we stumbled upon this little Gem, We are visiting from New Zealand and have struggled to beat the delicious food and coffee that this little hideaway provides! only Gripe I have is more seating is needed as it is a very popular place! Staff are lovely too which is always a bonus!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Exploding Bakery also viewed

 

Been to The Exploding Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing