We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cheap and not cheerful”
Review of Chevalier Inn

Chevalier Inn
Ranked #361 of 524 Restaurants in Exeter
Price range: US$4 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“cheap and not cheerful”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

i agree with other comments on here about Bad attitude by bar staff,also the Doorman need
sorting out, picking on people and throwing the out like Rubbish that keeps these people in a job
NO customers = No pub I lots needs sorting out could be a much better place if young boys just out of school (doorman)were replaced with more sensible ones.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank farm h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    50
    35
    27
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Susie”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I know the staff will probably have a good laugh about this but Susie the shift leader really does need to sort out her attitude towards customers I had ordered food and was happily eating on the bottom bar when this 'woman' was at the bar 'talking' to a customer in a really disgusting manor I felt awkward just listening to it let alone the customer, and for that reason me and my friends are not coming back and a complaint to head office is in order. Other then that the food was good and delivered in the expected time.

Helpful?
3 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Door staff way over the top”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Went for a couple of drinks with friends and one us was bundled out the door by 4 doorstaff who all seem to be no older than about 20 just for walking onto the dancefloor with a drink. Over staffed and an Appauling attitude towards customers that just want a hastle free night out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank db1986-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shippo”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Went with friends for a quick meal and drinks and we got a great service and the food was excellent. Would visit again!

Helpful?
2 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value food”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Good value food Good Beer fully recommend. The Plum Porter ale and Aberdeen Angus Steak were totally delightful. Only real drawback was the size of the TV when I was trying to watch the match.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chevalier Inn also viewed

 

Been to Chevalier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing