We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT the best coffee or breakfast in Exeter”
Review of Coffee #1 Exeter

Coffee #1 Exeter
Ranked #16 of 26 Coffee & Tea in Exeter
Price range: US$1 - US$6
Cuisines: Cafe
Description: Award-winning coffee, cakes and pastries for breakfast, lunch and tea. Comfy sofa's, beautiful interiors and cosy corners that you can hide away in for a quiet half an hour are as important to us as the cake we serve and the service we give. Come and see for yourself.
Restaurant details
Description: Award-winning coffee, cakes and pastries for breakfast, lunch and tea. Comfy sofa's, beautiful interiors and cosy corners that you can hide away in for a quiet half an hour are as important to us as the cake we serve and the service we give. Come and see for yourself.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“NOT the best coffee or breakfast in Exeter”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We've actually been here twice in the last month or so - but won't be hurrying back.

On the first occasion the queue was long but we wanted to give it a go so stuck it out. Unfortunately, on ordering a couple of croissants and being told there was only one left (at 09:45), the young lady serving proceeded to drop it on the floor - oh well, round the corner to Carluccio's then.

However, we're nothing if not fair so tried again a couple of weeks later. Slightly shorter queue this time and we actually completed our order without anything being dropped. Sadly, the coffee was simply not good enough - too weak. Also, the chairs weren't very comfortable and there aren't enough "comfy / squidgy" ones to go round!

The interior's nicely done and we like the books and the quotes and the atmosphere's quite good - this really should be an easy four green dots kind of place - but it falls a bit short for us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blagbobennychicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    35
    6
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It's rare that I give five stars to a coffeehouse - this one deserves it.”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

While it's not going to blow anyone's socks off, this is certainly one of the best executions of the coffeehouse concept that I've come across - they do everything incredibly well, and it was a pleasure to try both their coffees and their selection of smoothies (in particular I can recommend The Booster!). Well worth a visit one afternoon while you're taking a break from shopping in Princesshay.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richardthewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great coffee selection and Welsh cakes”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This café is hidden away between Princesshay shopping centre and the Roman wall. Sunny and smoke free outside seating is a bonus. A little different to the usual Exeter cafes as the drinks choices include drip coffee, hot spiced apple and a good range of smoothies. Don't miss the Welsh cakes. Relaxing venue, although the seating is too close together in the inside, book lined room. Friendly staff but don't expect quick service as the specialist drinks take time to create. Only one very busy and not too clean toilet; if that was improved the rating would be excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

i always come here on my lunch break or for breakfast, theres a great range of speciality hot chocolates and coffees or fruit smoothies and the cakes are very yummy. the staff are very friendly and its the same price as other highstreet cafes in the area - i would thoroughly recommend!

Helpful?
2 Thank hellomeggg
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Comfortable location for a coffee.”
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

We visited here for a coffee and a place to rest out legs after shopping. Lovely coffee and delicious welsh cakes. Staff friendily but service slow

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ck1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coffee #1 Exeter also viewed

 

Been to Coffee #1 Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing