We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Thatch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Thatch Inn
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

The room we stayed in was lovely. The staff were always happy to help. The food was excellant. Room was tidy and clean. Would happy stay there again. Stayed for 3 nights and was the perfect place to be so we could visit lots of places.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AIlsa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
16
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I spent the night before my wedding here, along with my best man and his wife. The pub itself is great, full of olde-English charm, many fine real ales, and exceptional food. The rooms are also excellent, feel very modern and comfortable, whilst remaining in keeping with a building that must be the best part of 200 years old! The landlord was exceptionally friendly and knowledgable on a wide range of topics, and the locals were also exceptionally friendly. I thoroughly recommend staying here if you are passing through the Exeter area!

Room Tip: Room 4 is right at the back of the pub, so is probably a bit quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boycie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

A group if us were staying in cottages nearby and thought we would give this pub a try.

We were thoroughly impressed with the hospitality and quality of food. The pub landlord (Simon I think) worked hard throughout the night in a crowded pub to make sure the service was excellent.

The food was full of flavour and my recommendations are the burger and the cheese cake for desert.

Thanks again!

Aj & Beth

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Aj-Southbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Last minute decision to go away and what a gem of a find. This is an old fashioned pub with 2 rooms they rent out on a bed and breakfast basis. It is in a little village just on the outskirts of Dartmoor. No music, no dartboard no snooker table, just good old fashioned conversation is what you get here. The pub is old and the furniture eclectic which adds to the overall charm including a fire in the middle of the pub which kept us toasty during our stay. The landlord Simon is a lovely man. He is an old fashioned landlord, one that cares about his clientele. Sadly this is a very rare thing nowadays. The room was great, very clean as was the on- suite bathroom comfy bed and tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk(no little cartons). Breakfast was great; you could have a cooked brekkie or just toast cereal or fruit if you prefer something lighter.
The pub serves food but to say it is pub food would be an insult. The food was of in my opinion an exceptionally high standard. We ate there both nights we were there. Night one we both had the soups to start, I had the butternut squash soup and hubby the oxtail. Both superb but the oxtail was amazing. This was followed by the venison. This possibly was the nicest venison I have ever had; it was so tender it just melted in your mouth. Night two, I had the cheese and leek stuffed roulade, this was lovely really made a change. Hubby had the koftas which he thoroughly enjoyed. For mains we had the lamb and the curry again both were exceptional. Being naughty we had the white chocolate cheesecake with white chocolate and lime ice cream…..Wow. The chef is amazing. The waiting young ladies always had a smile and overall the whole experience was fantastic. We will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heathend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

My friends and I were searching for a place to stay while visiting Devon for the weekend and found The Old Thatch Inn online. This was a very special weekend as I'm leaving the UK and we don't know when next we will all be together again. We couldn't have picked a better place! Where to begin! The second we walked in the door we were made to feel right at home. The staff greeted us with warm smiles and the landlord, Simon, came out to introduce himself and show us to our rooms. The rooms were lovely: impeccably clean and equipped with everything you could possibly need or want. We had dinner in the pub every night and the food was absolutely amazing! Between the three of us we managed to sample a good part of the menu and everything was incredible. The food is definitely restaurant standard at pub prices! But even more than the lovely room and gorgeous food, I have to recommend The Old Thatch Inn for the wonderful atmosphere and warm, welcoming staff. Chatting to Simon over the bar each night was a real pleasure. He was fantastic company: great to talk to and full of interesting stories. He really helped made our weekend particularly special, so special in fact that we have decided we need to make an annual visit!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whiteytherat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night as visiting son at university In Exeter 15 mins away. What a find! Room very good and bed comfy. All staff so friendly as were locals. Great selection of well kept beer and good wine list. Food was first class and well priced I found it difficult to choose! Breakfast was equally lovely and nothing too much trouble. We had a lovely chat with the chef who I might add is very talented. Looking forward to next visit as we will definitely return!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmileyDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed nearby and had an evening meal here one night. Great atmosphere in a character-filled pub. Service and food was excellent and reasonably priced. The pub dog, Todd, was friendly, very well behaved and well controlled by the publican. The pub was quite busy the night we went and it is obviously and justifiably a well regarded eatery in the local area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDaveStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exeter
9.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
9.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
3.9 mi away
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tedburn St. Mary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Thatch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Thatch Inn

Property: The Old Thatch Inn
Address: Cheriton Bishop, Exeter EX6 6JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Exeter
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Thatch Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 2 minutes from the A30 and 10 mins from the Historic city of Exeter and on the very boundary of Dartmoor National Park, The Old Thatch offers something for everyone. Whether you want to sit in our sun trap beer garden for a refreshing tipple on a warm summers' day or in front of our stunning double sided log burner in winter, we're always happy to see you. With award winning food and a wide selection of drinks to choose from, as well as accommodation, The Old Thatch Inn is the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Thatch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Thatch Inn Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing