We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic better than thistle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic better than thistle”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

New, modern rooms. Worthy of four stars, stayed for one night but wish had stayed longer. Had booked next few nights at the thistle, which was awful, would definitely choose this premier Inn instead of an other hotel. Parking free, staff friendly, great stay. Stay here!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane10114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne H, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29), responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review of your stay with us at Premier Inn Exeter M5 J29, as always our team here do their very best for our guests. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    204
    58
    17
    13
See reviews for
261
239
23
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed at 3 week old hotel with Brewers Fayre attached. As expected , spotless. Excellent bed, pillows and linen. Bathroom :very good sized tub. Large wall mounted flat screen tv in sleeping area. Staff had put up the requested travel cot with baby blankets which was lovely of them. Although it was Christmas Eve, Day and Boxing Day, the staff were SO helpful, VERY impressive .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMaypoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne H, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29), responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review about your stay here at Premier Inn Exeter M5 J29, our team always strive to give outstanding service and I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed at this brand new PI for Fri & Sat night. Self service check in is a doddle! Very good location off the main road & very close to M5. Free parking on site. Furnishings are high standard & modern, very big flat screen tv. Agree with others about the sealed windows. Air con is not suitable for everyone and an open window certainly would have helped me. Air con temp would only go down to 19 degrees, which is way too hot for a night time! Breakfast next door at Brewers Fayre was great, usual all you can eat and a good choice. Some new staff but no problems, we've all been newbies at some point!
Almost a 5 out of 5 but the air con/lack of open windows let it down.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJay60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne H, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29), responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review about your stay here at Premier Inn Exeter M5 J29, our team always strive to give outstanding service and I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lampeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay, the staff were great with the kids and very friendly. Our room was immaculate and the furnishings were of a very high standard. We all slept really well on the comfy beds and it was a real treat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne H, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29), responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review of your stay with us at Premier Inn Exeter M5 J29, as always our team here do their very best for our guests. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night on business, very nice new hotel next to a Brewers fayre. Arrived on curry night at 9.04pm and was told I couldn't have curry as it's only on until 9pm, I watched the chef bring out more dishes while I was being refused. Settled for a meal from the menu, nothing special.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank paulandtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne H, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29), responded to this review, 22 December 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback for us, and we hope to see you again soon for another great stay with us at Premier Inn Exeter M5 J29.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Excellent service and clean comfortable room.
Well located for Exeter City Centre.
There is a Park & Ride bus service nearby running to the city centre every 20 mins.
My only issue, is that the window is totally sealed. This may not bother many people, but personally I prefer fresh air to aircon to keep me comfortable at night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAndrew188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne H, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29), responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review about your stay here at Exeter M5 J29 Premier Inn, Myself and my team always strive to give fantastic customer service and a nice, clean and comfortable room. I am pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Just returned from a 1 night stay on a Sat at this new premier inn.
We were very happy with our stay. The hotel has been built and furnished to a very high standard.
The furnishings I thought were of a slightly higher standard with a lovely comfy bed and bedding of great quality. Everything spotless as you would expect from a new hotel. My only complaint was one of our mugs in the room was dirty.
Everything else as you would expect in a premier inn room. The large on the wall tv was great and the hair dryer was a better quality one, but the cable was a little short.
On leaving the hotel though we did realise that our door did not lock and I did tell the man on duty that morning so hopefully he as got someone to look at it. I now am relieved that we had no problem with anyone entering the room whilst empty or sleeping. I hope the management do check all these room doors.
One other thing I would like to mention is that the man who checked us in the morning did not tell us anything about the hotel, or breakfast or about the guarantee good night sleep promise.
I did think this was a standard thing they were told to explain to you but we got nothing.
We ate our evening meal in the Brewers Fayre next door. It was ok. It was the chicken feast buffet night. Ok for a good fill up. I wasn't that impressed with the ambience of the restaurant. All a bit bright and it was very busy. Didn't eat breakfast there.
The hotel is only a few mins walk down to the park and ride which is very useful to the city centre.
Would we stay here again? Well yes as we have already booked up for Feb as the £29 per room is fantastic value. But as we have used the Holiday inn express down the road many times and with breakfast, future bookings would definitely be down to which of these hotels are the cheapest for our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjgfitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne H, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29), responded to this review, 11 December 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback for us, and we look forward to seeing you again in February for another great stay with us at Premier Inn Exeter M5 J29.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
3.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Exeter M5
Travelodge Exeter M5
#21 of 31 in Exeter
471 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#4 of 31 in Exeter
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)

Property: Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)
Address: Fitzroy Road, Exeter EX1 3LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29) 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten minutes from Exeter International Airport and 20 minutes from Exeter St Davids train station ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29) Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing