We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wakey, wakey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Tenby, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wakey, wakey”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Nice new hotel, lift available, and great parking. Only a couple of issues, fire alarm went off at 3:05am and another 2 or 3 times in the next 40 minutes, temperature control for the room was set to central, hence no temperature control in the room. Would stay again though, probably the best Premier in Exeter!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian6319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne H, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29), responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review, even though you were awoken by our fire alarm. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Exeter M5 J29.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    197
    55
    15
    13
See reviews for
256
229
22
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My first stay in this Premier Inn. I'm a convert from the Holiday Inn Express next door which charges astronomical prices sometimes considering it's only an Express. This Premier Inn was very new with the automated checkin (nice idea but prefer the personal touch) and the room was very comfortable and absolutely spotless, with a nice large flatscreen TV and deep bath. The beds in Premier Inns are always comfortable and this was no exception. Downsides: 1) I couldn't open the window 2) the WiFi should be free in line with many hotels these days. And that's me being picky. Breakfast in the Brewers fayre was actually quite reasonable. My Son's hoping to come to Exeter Uni so I can see me coming to this Premier Inn quite a bit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne H, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29), responded to this review, 16 March 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback for us, and we hope to see you again soon for another great stay with us at Premier Inn Exeter M5 J29.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our 2nd stay at this premier. Once again excellent. New and modern. We were kindly given an early check in and the same room as our last stay as we were so happy with it last time being so quiet. I am such a light sleeper. Thank you for that. Didn't use the brewers fayre next door as wasn't so keen on our last visit. This is one of our favourite premier inns and will keep returning when they have the £29 deals. Excellent value. Very friendly staff also on check in and checking out. Only thing I will mention is the shower gell dispenser was empty but not a big deal!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tjgfitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne H, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29), responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review of your stay with us at Premier Inn Exeter M5 J29, as always our team here do their very best for our guests. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Brand new hotel. I had a top floor room facing the car park - very quiet. Good facilities, cheap internet and very clean.
Only used the Brewers Fayre for breakfast, which was of a good standard given the level of the hotel. I have just paid five times the price for a poorer selection at breakfast.
Very convenient for M5 and A30/303 but away from the noise.
Barn Owl just down the road is excellent for evening meals.

Room Tip: Facing the car park is the quieter side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2manyhotelsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne H, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29), responded to this review, 17 February 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback for us, and we hope to see you again soon for another great stay with us at Premier Inn Exeter M5 J29.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed here as a 1 night stop-over. Booked the room well in advance and paid £29 for a double room for 2 of us. Fantastic value - the hotel was brand new, modern, clean and smelt lovely. Cosy, and a MASSIVE Samsung flat-screen TV mounted to the wall. Situated in a fairly nice and quiet area which was good, and lots of (free!) parking. We avoided the restaurant for our evening meal, but ate breakfast there which was average. Staff were friendly. All in all a very pleasant stay and we will be visiting again. I will always try to book the 'new build' Premier Inn's now, because they are more luxurious and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilieWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne H, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29), responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your kind review about your stay here at Exeter M5 J29 Premier Inn, Myself and my team always strive to give fantastic customer service and a nice, clean and comfortable room. I am pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Perfect hotel and great staff but Premier Inn's reputation must soon be seriously compromised by the ghastly Brewers Fayre pub located on the same site, by the all-too-obvious lack of competent people to manage it, and by junior Staff who appear to have no idea that they are employed to serve those who need, and pay handsomely for, food and drink. The ordering system is absolutely chaotic - and it is utterly shaming. Lengthy delays ('The bad weather's to blame....') and an extraordinary failure to comprehend that not everyone over the age of 60 appreciates being addressed as 'guys' or, worse still, as 'lads'. Breakfast proved to be a nightmare: the hopper on the clever coffee machine needed to be filled with beans (it had ceased to function) so we asked one waitress for help THREE times but she chose to ignore us, carried on laying tables, and then flounced off into the kitchen (furious) when we demanded to speak to the Duty Manager. A major confrontation followed. Can Whitbread be proud of this, probably the worst pub in the United Kingdom? I doubt if we will return to the hotel until a major clear-out of truly grim personnel has taken place.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoesAnyoneRespond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Malo, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We usually try and stay in a Premier Inn because we think they are good value for money. This newly built hotel has taken the usual Premier Inn plus points and improved them. The decor is more imaginative than the older hotels and the rooms are big and comfortable. The bathrooms are a good size with good lighting and mirrors - all good. However we had a few issues with our room not being serviced on the first day and WiFi was frequently unavailable as the system of codes broke down and the credit card registration also was faulty. I understand that this is a budget chain but I wasn't too happy with being faced with machines to check in. The reception desk was sometimes manned but often unattended.
Finally , the restaurant. Very poor service and average food, just not good enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rossandcromarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
3.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
2.6 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#6 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)

Property: Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)
Address: Fitzroy Road, Exeter EX1 3LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29) 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten minutes from Exeter International Airport and 20 minutes from Exeter St Davids train station ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29) Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing