We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, well placed hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Walsall
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good, well placed hotel”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is a relatively new hotel in the 'Premier Inn' chain and is conveniently situated close to the M5 (J29/30). There is a 'Park and Ride' very close at hand for visiting Exeter.
We used it as a 'stop-over' on our way to Cornwall.
The rooms were spacious and very clean. The bathroom was excellent. The bed was large and very comfortable. Reception staff were vey helpful.
There is a pub/restuarant next door that sells a wide range of typical pub food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarrieWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne H, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29), responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review, I'm glad you found our reception team helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    206
    58
    17
    13
See reviews for
261
241
23
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I didn't check in until gone eleven pm but the staff member that greeted me was very polite and helpful as we're all the staff for my two night stay.
Other things that made my stay enjoyable were the airiness of the room and the lack of noise coming from within the building.


  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne H, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29), responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were visiting Exeter University with a teenage son and, due to the distance, wanted a reasonably priced hotel, with parking to spend the night and this Premier Inn was perfect. The rooms were large, air-conditioned and clean and came with their new comfy beds as well as a sort of chaise longue. The rooms were very well soundproofed, so we could hear no noise from other residents or from the nearby main road. The tv had been set up with a max volume, so again a lot of consideration for neighbouring rooms.
The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming.
We had booked dinner at the adjoining Brewers Fayre and were glad we had done so, as it was so full with hotel guests they were turning people away. The service there was poor but the food was okay. Breakfast was a help yourself buffet but nothing special.
Since this visit we have stayed at other Premier Inns (in our tour of visiting universities) and this is definitely one of the best.

Room Tip: Unlike some Premier Inns, this one has a lift so it doesn't matter which floor you are on
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueMaths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne H, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29), responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review, I'm glad your first experience of a Premier Inn was a pleasant one, we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

For me Premier inns have one major thing going for them and it is what they advertise on TV,
The beds! They are exceedingly cosy particularly with the choice of various pillows. The TV in this Premier Inn is recommended too, having a large flat widescreen with HTML and USB connections and good reception, not always found in East Devon.
During my stay of 4 nights the room was not made up by the time I returned in the evening at around 5pm. The cleaner looked absolutely shattered and was obviously unable to cope. I didn’t ask her why and as there is usually no reception staff I never found out the cause of such poor service.
I not keen on the personless booking system for these hotels and the pre-payment of meals for the adjacent Brewers Fayre pub/restaurant.
The evening meals in the Brewers Fayre are OK if you like basic pub grub and there is also a themed buffet each evening. The breakfast are good if there are no shortages and the staff has arrived early enough to prepare it.
I will not be using this Premier Inn again for any stays longer than one night as there are many other establishments in this area that are comfortable and have character.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ME&ERR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
810 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Being just a few minutes from M5/J29 after a 5 hour drive was a definite plus, but a lack of pruning of the vegetation (not PI's fault) obscured the road name - and a large, tall tree obscured the PI sign - so look for the jazzy "Met Office" sign, turn here & the hotel is behind the office with a large, free car park with, what promises to be, pleasant landscaping.

The Receptionist was very welcoming and her helpful assistance was needed by me and other guests who had no idea how to operate the check-in machine! All this took longer than if checking-in was by the "person" method. The family bedroom was OK & the beds very comfortable. However, the bathroom had not been properly serviced (pedal bin visibly overflowing) & only provided with 1 small & 1 large towel - between 3 people!! Later told this was company policy & more towels available on request! Found that the lack of an electric razor power point quite ridiculous.

Having read reviews by other TripAdvisor on the adjoining Brewers Fayre restaurant, we decided to skip the "me too" menu and walk for 5 minutes to the nearby Barn Owl Vintage Inn (which served a very good supper).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MedEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed for one night, on route to the Riviera. The hotel is only seven months old and our room was very clean and comfortable. We also liked the late check out time and made full use of it after a long drive. Would stay here again, as cleanliness is most important to me when choosing a place to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britsontour2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne H, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29), responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for oyur kind review, I will pass you comments to my housekeeping team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Disabled facilities good and staff extremely helpful on arrival . Good disabled parking right outside . Would certainly recommend this hotel . Brewers Fayre next door very accessible for wheelchairs and good value for money

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne H, Manager at Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29), responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review and for saying you would recommend us to other people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
3.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Exeter M5
Travelodge Exeter M5
#21 of 31 in Exeter
474 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#4 of 31 in Exeter
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)

Property: Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29)
Address: Fitzroy Road, Exeter EX1 3LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29) 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten minutes from Exeter International Airport and 20 minutes from Exeter St Davids train station ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Exeter (M5 J29) Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing