We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, warm and well placed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bendene Townhouse
Ranked #39 of 68 Exeter B&B and Inns
Saint Julien le Montagnier, France
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cosy, warm and well placed”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I spent 4 days in the Bendene. I appreciated that feeling to be home. Everything is clean. While I was sharing the bathroom, i really appreciated that the bathroom were always cleaned. Very good choice for the breakfast which was generous. TV and Wifi available. The hotel is perfectly placed if you want to visit the downtown. Exeter is charming. I recommend that hotel. Beware if you have a car, there is just three free parking places available, then you must pay for it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    55
    33
    23
    9
See reviews for
21
59
35
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My daughter and I stayed one night in Exeter on our recent journey. The Bendene was known by the taxi driver (always a good sign) and the welcome was warm. I had not realised that we would be sharing bathroom facilities, but this was not a problem as it turned out. We had a nice room, and the breakfast was delightful with warm friendly assistance. We could not get our Wi-Fi to work but were informed that it must be our device (it wasn't), although this was not a major problem it was irritating. Good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquarianmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

This is a great value B&B with a very friendly lady who welcomed me upon arrival. I stayed for one night and chose The Bendene as I've stayed there before, I knew it was clean and offers a good breakfast.

It's in a great location on the edge of the city and offers parking at he rear of the B&B.

I had a twin room with wash facilities, including breakfast for £35! It's clean and great value for money.

It's a little noisy early in the morning with breakfast getting ready but you have to expect that in an old property where the sound travels.

All in all very good and I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJE100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Arrived on the off-chance and were given the basement room, which was lovely and completely private. OK, the loo was a bit noisy, but the shower was good, the breakfast was very good and the staff were very friendly. And the rate was very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lal6661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Excellent place with an old fashioned approach to cleanliness, being spotless, and comfort, being very restful.

A very nice and helpful landlady's hard work is largely undone by the froideur of the younger staff. I would go so far as to call her haughty.. Arrival is a case in point: you're paying before you've had chance to put your bag down, very efficient but rather unwelcoming. You can hear her discussing the guests, mostly negatively, in the kitchen at breakfast!

The hotel itself is very decent,although the walls are rather thin, and some rooms look rather worse - number 16 is next to the front door and the partition is paper thin. The swimming pool is immaculate. This is clearly a place that sets itself and maintains very high standards.

I would happily come here again and hope the young lady will gradually attain the standards set by the rest of the hotel and its staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyTraveller499507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The decoration is a bit chintzy and not to my taste but that apart I cannot find any fault with the Bendene. Staff are really friendly, rooms are really comfortable, the location is great and the breakfast is fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186334Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night. Comfortable room on 1st floor with pool and cathedral view. Cafetiere was a nice touch. Bathroom gets boiling after shower though as no window. Breakfast was ok although I found mine a bit greasy and don't rate the vegetarian cheese sausage! My boyfriend enjoyed his full English. Would have preferred a choice of prepared fruit rather than just a fruit bowl. Very friendly staff, would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kath11bedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
607 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#27 of 31 in Exeter
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park View
Park View
#26 of 31 in Exeter
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,683 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bendene Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bendene Townhouse

Property: The Bendene Townhouse
Address: 15-16 Richmond Road, Exeter EX4 4JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bendene Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bendene Townhouse is your home away from home in the heart of Exeter. Located in a quiet side road, moments from the City Centre, within easy walking distance to both main train stations, Exeter Cathedral and Exeter University. We offer a range of different room types to suit all requirements and budgets. We serve a delicious buffet breakfast each morning, with a hot and cold selection of breakfast goodies. It is ideal for short breaks, visiting friends, attending conferences at the University, business trips or as a base from which to explore and enjoy the beautiful Southwest. During the summer months, you can take advantage of our outdoor swimming pool and walled garden. There is some free parking on site (on a first come first served basis) and plentiful public parking nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your The Bendene Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bendene Hotel Exeter
The Bendene Townhouse Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing