We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best museum in uk”

Ranked #1 of 92 things to do in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Exeter's world-class museum has stunning displays and galleries, fabulous exhibitions and modern amenities. The displays reveal Devon and Exeter's rich history and global connections. Exotic animals, birds and insects delight children and the world cultures galleries display stunning items from all over the world. The shop offers hand-picked gifts, unique craft items, books and affordable souvenirs for children. The cafe serves delicious homemade food. Opening times: Tuesday to Sunday, 10am to 5pm. Closed Mondays and bank holidays. Free Admission. From time to time galleries may be closed for special events; please check before travelling.
Reviewed 24 September 2018

Just go and enjoy this amazing world class museum and interact with the facility. Great fun and its free.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank 186254Johnscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"stuffed animals"
in 64 reviews
"natural history"
in 31 reviews
"all ages"
in 103 reviews
"eclectic collection"
in 13 reviews
"roman wall"
in 33 reviews
"free entry"
in 61 reviews
"rainy day"
in 59 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 26 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 47 reviews
"on display"
in 35 reviews
"the ground floor"
in 30 reviews
"few hours"
in 43 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 55 reviews
"nice cafe"
in 22 reviews
"lovely building"
in 13 reviews
"visiting exeter"
in 20 reviews
"young children"
in 23 reviews
Filter

39 - 43 of 1,307 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2018

I visited the museum specifically to go on a 1 hour guided tour. It was an ideal way to get about on a first visit and understand the layout. Entrance was free so I decided to make a purchase in the lovely gift shop. I also stopped for a cup of tea and a bite to eat at the cafe before leaving. All in all a good visit. I would recommend this historical place especially if you are stuck for something to do on a wet day. I shall be back as there is still plenty more to see.

Date of experience: September 2018
3  Thank tracysymonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

My wife and I visited here early 2018 we left it until later in the day ( we wish had not) as there was so much to see, the collections take you back in time and make you visualise what the travels were and how difficult it must have been to transport the artefacts and collections across the globe , the stories and descriptions on each exhibit tell a tale.

We will definitely be going back to absorb more and give it more time.

Don't miss this trip

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank Charbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

I visited with a friend, we spent a long time going around the museum, then we had our
Lunch in the cafe.
Good choice of food. We chose the jacket potato with cheese. It was nicely presented and loved the way the cheese came in a separate bowl to add yourself

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank vigusp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Always something to see! I love the displays, the great staff, the atmosphere and grand surroundings, cafe and the gorgeous shop!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank janrenee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Albert Memorial Museum also viewed

 

Been to Royal Albert Memorial Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing