We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Railway Bazaar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Railway Bazaar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed two nights while on business in Exeter. Parking is always a problem in Exeter, and so it was here, with charges that seem more like central London. Inside, there is a pervasive 'pub-smell' that is an interesting mix of beer, and cooking oil. The room was up on the top, and the stairs were steep. With no lift, I was very pleased I had minimum luggage. The room was clean and warm, but the sound of the trains through St David's every 10-15 minutes and through the night can keep the light sleeper aware. The evening meal was good, and choice of beers excellent. In the attic, water pressure is low, so showers were more of a very light trickle! Breakfast was not so good so maybe be prepared to go out on the town. In this University town, there are a huge range of pubs, restaurants and eateries that you can try, and summer is a great time to sit out by the river too. I cant say it is a place I will hasten back to stay, but this hotel provided clean rooms and bed, in a good location, and free WiFi was a bonus.

Room Tip: Rooms looking up towards the hill and University, away from the station and mainline will be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    41
    67
    61
    124
See reviews for
38
63
75
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

The Great Western did what it said on the tin. The hotel is dated and a little scruffy, and really an old fashioned boozer with rooms, but good budget accommodation. Our room was a clean, curious L shaped affair with a sink at the end of the double bed separate from the small (comically erratic) shower and toilet area, but there was an extra single bed too. Tea and coffee facilities were plentiful, and a pleasant selection of complimentary toiletries. Our room faced the level crossing, so was shaded from the intense heat of the sun (yes, I really did write that in England!) The reception service was perfunctory and pleasant. The bar was the plus point for me, being a real ale drinker. 8 well kept ales and a convivial drinking atmosphere, except for the resident pub bore who would benefit from a strip of gaffer tape to spare the rest of the bar his loud and ill informed opinions. Very convenient for Exeter St Davids railway station. Breakfast was £5.95 a head, but we strolled up the hill to take advantage of the largest Wetherspoons in the country to save some money, so cannot comment on its quality. To sum up, an above average hotel bar and a satisfactory bed for the night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

I stayed here last night, 17th July 2013 for 1 night as a business trip. I didn't expect the room to be 5* so that side of it met my expectations as it was clean and tidy but in need of a bit of TLC. I went to the bar and ordered a drink, they gave me the wrong drink, to which a rather large, slightly drunk man sitting at the bar spread out reading his newspaper started arging with me saying that is what he had heard and they had given me the right drink. I said i had asked for a half pint not a pint to which he became even more rude and said we don't do half pints it's not measured like that. The man was vile. When I asked why he had got involved he pointed at the bar lady and said 'cause I'm her boss' HE WAS THE MANAGER!!.. I was mortified for her and she was so embarressed, . He was rude, ignorant, sat spouting his mouth off at me in front of everyone.
To top it off this morning at breakfast there was one chef on, and a lovely lady on reception. I waited quite some time and then went into the kitchen and shouted hellllooo. Eventually a chef came out and went to get the receptionist who was also the waitress. Poor girl was so helpful and had a smile but competely run off her feet. Where was the fat horrible manager now?? no sign of him doing his crossword at the bar now! What a shame the only girl in the hotel has to work for such a pig and bully. If you don't want to me accused of liying and shouted at please don't stay here..

Room Tip: Room 9 was ok, just can't understand why they put a tv bracket over the mirror so you have to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Exeter hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Booked this over the internet as wanted two days in the city with my daughter... DO NOT be deceived by the photos. Turned up walked into reception my heart sank as the first thing that hit me was the smell of urine. Given our room walked in wanted to cry looked more like a prison cell, we decided to just dump our bags go out and enjoy ourselves, got back after midnight and spent the rest of the night itching and scratching. Packed up early and left could not spend another moment there. Our two night city break was spoilt and the only thing we came home with was flea bites!!!! Did speak to reception what a waste of time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gert6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Very close to St David's Railway station and bus stops. Well stocked bar with seven real ales in good condition. Plenty of fire doors. Room was quiet despite the hotel lying between a busy railway line and a main road. Room was clean and tidy with a spacious bathroom. Friendly staff.
Some of the stairs are quiet steep. The outside of the hotel, also corridors and stairs are in need of redecoration. Good value for money

Room Tip: The hotel has four floors. There isn't a lift. Stairs to the first floor are not too steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALANMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stayed here with my husband we were greeted by friendly receptionist, and given key to room 15,the room was clean throughout, plenty of fresh towels, good supply of tea,coffee, just lacking a bit of painting to bathroom,had the steak for our meal very impressed with the food, good value.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

was in exeter for a few days after arriving at st davids train station said we would go to see the gre aat western hotel what a disappoinment like lost in a time warp needs upgrading fast iits in a really good area for trade so if its to carry on face lift needed saw a poor chap aske for a half of beer and was told that hotels does not serve halfs would need for staff to do courses as not custumer friendly

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank badgerbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.3 mi away
Park View
Park View
#25 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.6 mi away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#26 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Property: Great Western Hotel
Address: Approach St. St. Davids, Exeter EX4 4NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Great Western Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Exeter
Great Western Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing