We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Key West, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't go there....”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

One of the most depressing hotels I've ever been in. Thank god it was only for one night.
There was a huge hole in the wall and in the floor, hardly any light in the bathroom and everything else was broken. And it wasn't even that cheap; I paid 72,- euro....
The beds were horrible, I felt like i was sliding out of them.
There are so much better places for this budget, so avoid the 'Great Western Hotel'......

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annemieke m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    42
    70
    67
    135
See reviews for
41
68
79
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This is an old Victorian Railway Hotel that appears to be trapped in a 1950s timewarp.
It is good value and is very conveniently located so if you need a cheap hotel by Exeter St David's station this will do the job, but.....
Neither the exterior or the interior look like they have seen a lick of paint for about 50 years, the carpet is threadbare and the rooms, which are of a decent size, incredibly dated. As a consequence it looks really shabby and uninviting. Given its state the staff do a remarkable job to keep it so clean.
Internally there is no lift and the lay out is something of a warren. In the rooms there are tea and coffee making facilities but the water pressure for the shower is dreadful.
The staff, and by this I mean the one person who seemed to be doing everything, are fine but there only seems to be one person ever available - even in the bar in the evening. Interesting that the clients in both the bar and hotel seemed to be exclusively male with the only women in the building being the staff.
With some attention this could reclaim past glories but without some remedial work it will be left to what seems to be its terminal decline.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnonLondon23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Exeter hotels

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I booked this hotel despite the poor reviews because of location. How easy it would have been to simply catch a regular service to Central to a decent place.
When I arrived I asked to look at the room before I accepted a second night. Told it wasn't yet cleaned and I couldn't see until 2pm.That was the cut off time to decide on a second night!! A miracle occurred and suddenly I could see the room. Checked. Light not working.. I presumed that a new bulb had been tried.. Asked that a lamp be provided. Back that evening. No lamp. Light not working. Spoke to receptionist. They couldn't find a lamp.
Finally I spoke to the bar manager who sorted a bulb for the existing light. Voila..it worked. A total " CAN"T DO" attitude. The female receptionist was a nice person but someone needs to come in here and give this grimy dump a really good clean, employ staff with a better attitude, shut off a room at a time and bring it into this century. Pathetic shower. Noisy room. Hard bed. Good wifi. Breakfast OK.

Room Tip: Don't bother...you would be lucky indeed to find one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flica3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I arrived late Saturday afternoon with 11 others for a hen party. Not overly worried about the accommodation as long as it was a bed to sleep in overnight. And I've never ever made a review before but this was very much needed, so to warn others.
The reception staff wasnt exactly friendly baring in mind the business they had been given..6 rooms. 12 guests. Each cost £64. I finally found my room top floor, the entire landing smelling of fags, and the room door located right in the corner so I had to squeeze in.
Opened the door turn the lights on, no bulbs. Then get greeted by a galling big hole I assume has been punched in the wall?
The bathroom had tiles missing that were hidden under the sink. And the bathroom was filthy, the bath so grimy and uncleaned that I actually showered in flip flops. And I'm no snob. The shower would only let through scorching hot water no mater how much I turned the cold tap.
If you opened the cupboard door the whole thing tilts over nearly collapsing. The noise from outside and the pub across the road was so loud I had to shut the window on a stuffy day. People literally shouting and chanting at one another and running in the middle of the road.
I was glad to get downstairs finally for a drink in the bar. However baring in mind it was 12 women dressed in army gear looking for a few drinks before heading out you may have thought the staff would be more welcoming. They were miserable as sin, and bloody expensive. £3.95 for a pint and dash of lemonade. Couldn't wait to get out possibly to be greated by smiles???
In the morning I headed down for breakfast at 9.37 am to be told it finished at 9.30am. Where on earth stops breakfast that bloody early? A hotel? I had paid for bed and breakfast. What a joke! The receptionist did make some toast. I was eternally greatful, not!
I couldn't be happier to get out of the over expensive dirty dump with the most dull barstaff I have ever come across. And to let it be know this group were not drunk, rowdy or a pain in anyway. Especially for a hen do. Thoroughly disappointed. Would of asked for my money back but clearly that wouldn't have been worth the struggle. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cjtucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

This is not a luxury hotel but a Victorian railway hotel. It offers a bar with an excellent choice of real ales but no real cider.

The bedrooms - be warned there is no lift - are perfectly adequate and clean but basic.

There is a reasonable food offering which is in my opinion about 25% overpriced for the type of establishment it is.

Free wifi throughout the hotel which puts luxury hotels to shame.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed two nights while on business in Exeter. Parking is always a problem in Exeter, and so it was here, with charges that seem more like central London. Inside, there is a pervasive 'pub-smell' that is an interesting mix of beer, and cooking oil. The room was up on the top, and the stairs were steep. With no lift, I was very pleased I had minimum luggage. The room was clean and warm, but the sound of the trains through St David's every 10-15 minutes and through the night can keep the light sleeper aware. The evening meal was good, and choice of beers excellent. In the attic, water pressure is low, so showers were more of a very light trickle! Breakfast was not so good so maybe be prepared to go out on the town. In this University town, there are a huge range of pubs, restaurants and eateries that you can try, and summer is a great time to sit out by the river too. I cant say it is a place I will hasten back to stay, but this hotel provided clean rooms and bed, in a good location, and free WiFi was a bonus.

Room Tip: Rooms looking up towards the hill and University, away from the station and mainline will be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The Great Western did what it said on the tin. The hotel is dated and a little scruffy, and really an old fashioned boozer with rooms, but good budget accommodation. Our room was a clean, curious L shaped affair with a sink at the end of the double bed separate from the small (comically erratic) shower and toilet area, but there was an extra single bed too. Tea and coffee facilities were plentiful, and a pleasant selection of complimentary toiletries. Our room faced the level crossing, so was shaded from the intense heat of the sun (yes, I really did write that in England!) The reception service was perfunctory and pleasant. The bar was the plus point for me, being a real ale drinker. 8 well kept ales and a convivial drinking atmosphere, except for the resident pub bore who would benefit from a strip of gaffer tape to spare the rest of the bar his loud and ill informed opinions. Very convenient for Exeter St Davids railway station. Breakfast was £5.95 a head, but we strolled up the hill to take advantage of the largest Wetherspoons in the country to save some money, so cannot comment on its quality. To sum up, an above average hotel bar and a satisfactory bed for the night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.3 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park View
Park View
#26 of 31 in Exeter
130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#27 of 31 in Exeter
219 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,690 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Property: Great Western Hotel
Address: Approach St. St. Davids, Exeter EX4 4NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Great Western Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Exeter
Great Western Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing