We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient but loveless!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Western Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Convenient but loveless!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

This is a hotel that I have used a few times before ... so I knew what I was letting myself in for!! Lets start with the plus point - it is across the road from St Davids railway station and therefore extremely convenient as a journey start/finish point if travelling around the West Country by rail.
Now to the reality - it is a former British Transport Hotel - and appears to have seen little spent on it since those days. Old décor/fittings in the rooms accessed through a "main" entrance that also doubles as the access to the public bar. Have only sampled the English breakfast (adequate) and not even seen the food menu otherwise. Oh and the breakfast serving time is an hour later on a Monday (puts me off staying on a Sunday night).
To sum up the appearance of this hotel in 2 words - "uncared for".

Room Tip: I don't think there are any?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Railwaynomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    41
    66
    61
    122
See reviews for
38
61
74
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

As soon as I arrived I thought, Christ on a bike.
It's an old building in need of desperate repair. It's one of those smelly old pubs you find beside the railway station.
Upon my arrival into reception I was created by a lovely lady. Very pleasent and polite.
As I walked through the hotel to find my room I noticed the musty smell eminating from the pub on the ground floor. The yellow nicotine stains still present on the paint and plastic fittings.

Once I got into my room I found it neat and smell free.
I did my usual inspection to ensure it was clean enough. Looked at the walls, bed, bathroom and toilet.
The bed had eight hairs on the duvet and two pubic hairs on my pillow.
The bathroom and toilet were clean as a whistle.

I chose not to complain, as in my experience, if you find a curly one in one bed then most likely you will find one in another.

I chose to go and drown my sorrows in the bar, £3.95 for a pint, and was greated by a small bar surrounded by locals. Not the overly friendly welcome locals but the defensive "this is our bar" type. I shoved my way to the bar and asked for my drink, the girl behind the bar was polite and pleasent.
I chose my seat in the back corner so I could see any bar stools coming ny way.

I stay in many types of hotels all over the country. This place I found to be old, out dated, smelly and in need of a refurb.
I would not stay here again when I return to the area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingassessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This room was booked by my company for a business trip. I also had a colleague staying in another room. We both recommend anyone thinking of booking not to bother. We have reported how bad it was to the company booking department so no one else has to stay here. The room smell of damp. The carpet was ripped. There were tiles missing in the bathroom. The grouting was black. The bathroom was so small they have put the sink in the bedroom. The shower attachment was on the side wall so did not cover you, I had to hold it over my body to was. The door to the bathroom was a sliding door which would not close due the the ripped carpet. There was no headboard for the bed. The sheets were so old they were yellow, not white. The corridors are not well lit. And why anyone presents a chopped up fried egg as a scrambled is beyond me.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Businessman127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marazion
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel. The room was comfortable and warm but like the rest of the hotel it is sadly lacking in TLC.Tiles missing in the bathroon ,chipped and craked lino,the paintwork leaves a lot to be desired though out the complete hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_WMarazion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

This review is more for single travelers as I have no idea about the double rooms. The single was neat, tidy and clean. The included breakfast in the downstairs restaurant was a great start for the day.
As I arrived early in the day the hotel let me leave the luggage in their care and as I left late in the day they held it again for me.
Generally the staff attitude was one of being pleased to help.
Its close location to buses and trains make it an ideal city stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert312663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights in September 20123. This hotel was perfectly adequate for the price. My single room was clean (if a bit on the small side), the staff were pleasant and friendly and the breakfast was good (although the poached egg I asked for seemed to have been 'poached' in hot oil). As per other reviews, extremely convenient for the station. Also highly convenient for the kebab van opposite which is open until 4am on Fridays and Saturdays.
Exactly what I'd expected for the price, if anything, I was pleasantly surprised after reading the other reviews.

Would definitely stay again if I needed a budget option in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jannah222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

If you planning to tour Devon by train with Exeter as base, then this is a great place to stay- it is just outside the railway station (less than 50 metres); the room that I was in was en-suite; good English breakfast, basic but pleasant service and the pub is right inside the hotel! Good value for money! Exeter Centre is also just 12 minutes walk for dining out!

Room Tip: Ask for an suite room on second floor - they are quieter with no noise from the pub; although one ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corfumumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.3 mi away
Park View
Park View
#25 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.7 mi away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#26 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Property: Great Western Hotel
Address: Approach St. St. Davids, Exeter EX4 4NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Great Western Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Exeter
Great Western Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing