We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edwardian Ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Reviewed 16 July 2014

In it's heyday, The Great Western Hotel was doubtless a 'proper place' to stay and adjacent Exeter St David's Railway Station. Pictures of steam engines hang on the paneled walls in downstairs public spaces, and are suitably lined - in, with regency red highlight. The carpet is fully fitted ; the bar is cosey, and the dining room is clean

For 42 pounds a night, including breakfast, there is probably no cheaper place in town to stay.

Room [ number 48 ] was pre-booked on my computer: The Internet is free, and Wi Fi is available without a password, though I'm not sure how this would effect secure access ?

Room 48 is on the third floor, and one thing you immediately become aware of is the somewhat irregular flights of stairs, and raised landings, to get there; and this is not ideal if you have a suitcase , as I did. There is no lift.

For fire safety, several swinging fire doors are found to be in place , en-route, , and have to be negotiated as you transit the upstairs passageways, between the flights of stairs.

The once embossed wallpaper, is now painted over with magnolia paint, the carpet on the stairways is going threadbare in places, the stairs creak and there are scuffs and dents visible on the skirting boards.

The door lock to the room however, is activated by card entry, and once inside, the room was found to be perfectly adequate for the two nights I intended staying. An unusual feature was a large wash hand basin in the room itself. A single bed, desk, chair , wardrobe and decent size flat screen television were all in place: also coffee/tea making facilities, but no biscuits.

The toilet and shower were in a small cubicle adjoining the room.

The Georgian window in the room was a large , and too my relief, this was free and easily opened to allow ventilation. The view was good out over the car park in front of the station .

Breakfast was very good, comprising haddock and poached eggs, or a full breakfast was also available. Coffee & tea are self serve.

One thing that was unusual was that having taken my credit card number at the time of the internet booking, they said they would then deduct the 84 pounds, but could not give me a receipt immediately . I insisted on and was then given an and account / receipt for two nights, and on later checking my bank balance, found that all was in order.

Room Tip: Room 48 is on third floor for single occupancy and quiet enough. It overlooks the car park in front...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
There are newer reviews for Great Western Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

I stayed in room 12 which faces onto the carpark, so a little noisy with traffic and really light because of streetlights. The bathroom floor was sticky. There is nothing to prevent people visiting the pub downstairs from going upstairs to the guest floor so I felt a little unsafe and aware of noise outside my room. Felt better after I barricaded myself in with some furniture. The bed sagged in the middle. On a positive note, the room had a big screen TV and hairdryer. There were tea/coffee facilities but the coffee looked like it would give me a dodgy tummy.

Located within close proximity to Exeter St Davids (in the station car park) and about a 20 minute walk to city centre. There is a Premier Inn next door which sadly I think would be a better option, although double the price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank silly_old_amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just needed somewhere convenient and good value for one overnight stay. Easy to find, easy parking and very friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. Room a bit tired, but spotlessly clean and tea and coffee making facilities and TV if required.
Didn't eat in bar, but all looked and smelled nice! Walking distance to town and University. Yes, place could do with a refurb....but then no doubt price would go up. For two of us and including breakfast, it was very good value. Would recommend for convenience and value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peej66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed there due to location ,but the room was very poor and looked very tired.when the room next door had a shower or used the toilet then I could hear everything.there was no parking outside unless you wanted to pay for it.i had to leave early in the mornings and was not given the option of having a packed breakfast like some hotels I've stayed in even though it was in the price .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

You will have seen lots of not so good reviews for this hotel (along with pictures) but I thought I would put a positive spin on it. This in its heyday would have been a good quality hotel at one of the key junctions on Isambard Kingdom Brunel's Great Western Railway. You couldn't get closer for easy access and plenty of parking. The hotel could really do with some investment to get it decoratively upto scratch but the staff were lovely, the food all freshly cooked with a very accommodating chef and I saved myself over £35 compared to the nearby spanking new Premier Inn. We had a great trip out on the railway and it's a brilliant gateway to the South Coast of Devon leaving behind the hideous traffic. Don't write this place off, try and see past the decoration.

Room Tip: Try to stay in a room either at the front or the back one side has quite a busy road next to it
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Carpets worn, wallpaper marked and dirty generally whole place needs refurb.

Room average size, beds ok, kettle plug coming apart.

No smoking hotel, when we opened the window the were cigarette ends on the window ledge and the net curtain had a cigarette burn in it.

it's a shame as the location was good, right by Exeter St Davids station, caught the train in to centre 3 min journey but a long walk. Also by the Imperial pub Wetherspoons set in lovely gardens.

Would not stay here again unless it was completely refurbished.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c0rnishbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Located next to the railway station, the hotel/B&B was good.
Unfortunately a parking ticket costs 8 pounds for a day.
The rooms are good, but need some TLC,
Very good food and friendly staff.
A pitty we had to pay 6 pounds each to see inside of the cathedral.
Good shopping centre.

Room Tip: Our room was located at the back and only when the window was open, we could here the trains. Absolu...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.3 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#12 of 31 in Exeter
615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#27 of 31 in Exeter
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park View
Park View
#26 of 31 in Exeter
131 reviews
0.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Address: Approach St. St. Davids, Exeter EX4 4NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range: £70 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Great Western Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Exeter
Great Western Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing