We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (667)
Filter reviews
667 results
Traveller rating
235
294
101
24
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
294
101
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews taster menu travelzoo voucher city centre car park lovely hotel large bathroom top floor quiet location night's sleep breakfast was excellent bed was comfortable one night stay pay and display very pleasant stay train station would stay again short break
Filter
Updating list...
613 - 618 of 667 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2011

The Queens Court Hotel - Exeter

Upon arriving Exeter Railway Station, the walk to the hotel was pleasantly easy! Located about 3 minutes from the Railway Station, Queens Court Hotel is in a beautiful court surrounded by pretty Georgian houses and a massive Public Car park in the centre! The hotel is also a pleasant and safe walk away to the town centre and the Quay.
We got in just a little after 10.30 am and check in is not until 2 pm. Greeted by a cheerful receptionist who checked us in swiftly but had to leave our luggage as the rooms were not yet ready. We then head off to the Town Centre to join the 11 am Red Badge tour of Exeter - its Cathedral and City Wall! Made it just in time and just realised that it was a free tour! This was definitely a great way to begin our mini break as we had a passionate guide which oozed a lot of enthusiasm about Exeter’s history. Happy!

Went back to the hotel and happy to find out that our room was ready, the classic inspired rooms were surprisingly big with high ceilings, King Sized bed, well furnished and had a large bathroom! The hotel has a bar lounge and an in house Restaurant ‘The Olive Tree’. Decor for both the bar lounge and restaurant was opulent and has a great spacious layout! Our first night’s sleep was peaceful, especially having had a long bath that afternoon. The shower pressure was great and complimentary toiletries were a treat.

The next day, a scrumptious Easter Breakfast awaited us at the restaurant. The continental breakfast was divine with poached fig, syrup blanched apricot and varieties of fresh fruits were on offer. Of course, the regular cereal and 4 kinds of fruit juice was a delight. If that wasn’t enough, a cooked British breakfast was on offer, but I opted for the Salmon and scrambled eggs instead. Lavazza percolated coffee is just the right drink, to start a day trip at the Riviera. Heavenly Easter Breakfast indeed!
We came back to the room after a day at the Devon coastline and another thorough stroll at the Exeter Village as well as a closer study of the Cathedral. My partner and I decided to have dinner at the hotel’s restaurant - The Olive Tree one night. This was definitely one of our highlights on the little break. After ordering the trio of lamb for the other half, the Best of British (3 course meal) for me, we had a complimentary soup and home baked bread. My partner is not usually a fan of any soup but both of us just melted at the superb taste. What followed was an exquisite mains, with a zingy set of sorbet to finish it off (this had us wanting for more, especially the blueberry one). Kudos to the restaurants Chef for the great food, combined with a service oriented team, no wonder The Olive Tree has Two AA Rosette Award.

All in all, The Queens Court Hotel, Exeter was a delightful surprise which made our mini UK adventure a memorable one.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank romanida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We stayed here for one night on a visit to the West Country. The hotel sits on a tree lined square just a few minutes from the station and shops but away from traffic so we had a quiet night. Parking is in the square outside the hotel and you can get a voucher from the hotel that covers parking at the end of the day and up to 10 am. Our room was well equpped and the king size bed was comfortable. The breakfast was a pleasant surprise in that it offered the usual full English menu but with nice touches such as the option of scrambled egg with smoked salmon and home made marmalade for the toast. Although we didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, the menu looked good and if the well presented breakfast is anything to go by, it probably won't disappoint. For the rate we paid, this was a bargain given the quality. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiggerAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

The Queens Court is set in a pleasant location within walking distance of bars, restaurants and shops and train station. There is a car park opposite which costs £6.20 per day to park in. Hotel was reasonably clean, although there was a filthy table cloth in desparate need of a wash in the bar/lounge area. When we booked this hotel we asked if there was a bar in the hotel which there was, we were not advised that the evening staff would be extremely put out if you wish to use it! On the Saturday night of our stay we were told it was 'bed time' by the lady on duty which was not appreciated by our group. It was pretty much the same on the Sunday evening. One of the rooms we booked had quite thick cob webs in and tissues behind the bed, something the chambemaids should have noticed when servicing the room. On the Monday morning the woman who was cleaning then served our breakfast which I personally felt was not particularly hygienic. Our group, which consisted of ten 30 - 40 year olds on the whole thought the hotel was ok but the service and attitude of some staff members let it down considerably. When you are paying over £100 per night at a hotel you expect certain levels of service and little extras which we felt we did not receive here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EJDOMDSLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

This is a really nice small hotel, right in the centre of Exeter.
Receptionists Caroline and Paul are very nice and welcoming, so much so, I stayed an extra night.
The hotel is situated in a small square, and the square itself is a car park. The car park is quite expensive for by Devon standards, but the hotel can give you a pass that allows you to park there from 4 pm to 10 am.
The room I stayed in was excellent, very clean, good shower, very quiet and the bed itself was fantastic.
Breakfast here is superb, the food is just brilliant and there is a huge choice.
The lift is fast and it will take you up to the 2nd floor, I was on the 3rd and walked the last set of stairs, this is no problem for me, but if you cannot do stairs, stay on the 1st or 2nd floors.
I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel, it is just really nice and centrally located. Recommended 100%.

Richard Kaminski.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trigga1526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here as a base for 3 nights over a long weekend. It's located in a square, slightly on the edge of the centre of town. The building seems very old - it has its own quirks, like a slightly wonky staircase (don't worry - they've also installed a lift), and windy corridors. Staff are helpful. The main loung area / reception looks great - zebra print material on the sofa. Rooms are quite functional - comfortable, but nothing particularly amazing.

There's a restaurant on the ground floor - from the menu, it looks like the chef is higly competent. The only catch is that the restaurant is on the expensive side, and when we were there, seemed a little quiet (with the exception of one night when there was a large party).

Overall, it's a good place to take a girlfriend away for a few nights in an English county town hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmbma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews