We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night”
Review of Queens Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Queens Court
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“Great night”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Booked this hotel as part of a visit to the university. The evening meal in the restaurant was the best part of the whole stay but I did enjoy the wonky floor in the bedroom, the enormous en suite bathroom and the quirky feel of the whole place. Free wi fi would improve the overall experience, in this day and age it always seems a bit mean to charge for this.

Room Tip: 105 had a big bathroom and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    260
    92
    22
    13
See reviews for
94
337
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

last minute booking decided to stay overnight with a friend instead of driving. In hotel within hour and a half of booking >Extremely efficient receptionist,friendly and informative. The hotel bar small but nicely furnished with a warm cozy feeling .Twin room quiet , large and clean . Parking right outside but you do have to pay to park, but free overnight, so receptionist advised us to pay in advance which took us up to 10.am following day £2...the hotel is right near the centre of Exeter about a 10 minute walk so very conveniently situated for all the sites and night life . Lovely breakfast fried bread and toast and black pudding very nicely cooked good sausages too!!very important! after a night out!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odettep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Buryan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Charming and helpful staff and a brilliant tasting menu deal through
Travel Zoo made this a great over night stay for us. Fantastic value. Dinner, bed and full English for £99. Food terrific, rooms fine, hotel very pleasant in quiet square minutes from the centre.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boskenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel for two days in January 2014, whilst my daughter attended an interview at the university. The hotel is superbly located: it is walking distance to Exeter St. David's and Exeter Central railway stations, the university and the city centre. The room was basic but comfortable. Breakfast was good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Free wi-fi would be a nice addition!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Lark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed on the Travelzoo offer of standard double room, 2 course dinner and breakfast, which was very good value.

Minor quibbles were: no biscuits on tray in room, towels for one person were out, other set I found in the wardrobe, no discount on parking.

The rest was very good and the food - superb. Helpful staff and very good head waiter for the evening meal; breakfast lovely and a good menu.

We upgraded our standard room to a large double and it was fine, although a very small T.V with poor sound quality, and the decor rather plain. Lots of hot water for the over bath shower though.

Good location in a quiet square 10 min walk to the city center.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay here and hope to return.

Room Tip: We were in Room 201, next to the lift, large double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiley2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is a really lovely welcoming small private hotel. It is very comfortable, clean and has a nice old world charm and atmosphere. The service is excellent. Our room had 2 comfortable chairs as well as all the usual amenities, including home made biscuits. The bed was very comfortable. We will certainly visit again not only for the excellent food.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Hallingbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I arrived here for 1 night on business after a long train journey from London. The guy on reception was very efficient and helpful. I was surprised that my walk upstairs to my room wasn't lit, and I had to turn on about 3 lights along my way (not easy when I'm carrying all my luggage) I imagine this is an eco-thing to save energy, but it's not very welcoming. (They obviously don't stay on very long either, because I had to put them on again when I came back down for dinner)

Ah yes, dinner. I went in the bar area, which looked nice enough, but it was empty and there was no-one behind the bar. Even after studying the menu for a few minutes, no-one arrived, so I left and went out to seek food elsewhere. (And may I heartily recommend the "Ruby" Diner on Queen Street).

When I returned to do some work, I logged into the (externally provided) wi-fi, but it kept cutting out and the signal was very low. It said that if this happened to speak to reception for a refund, so I did this the next morning (after a pleasant night's sleep it has to be said) but he said because i booked it directly online and not through the hotel, he couldn't give me a refund. So that's a tip for next time. Although there won't be a next time. I had to stay in Exeter another night, but i walked a few metres around the corner to the Rougemont Thistle, which is infinitely better and my room was bigger and cheaper too!

Room Tip: Make sure you book the wi-fi at reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VirtualOli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.5 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#15 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#27 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Court

Property: Queens Court
Address: 6-8 Bystock Terrace, Exeter EX4 4HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Court 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor Award of excellence for the past 4 years is testament to the care and quality of this family run hotel in the heart of Exeter. The Queens Court Hotel is a beautiful Georgian town house situated on a leafy square in a city, which dates back to the medieval ages. All rooms are well appointed, all with en-suites. Relax in the bar and lounge or sit outside on the terrace. Visit the jewel in the crown of the Queen's Court, The Olive Tree restaurant. Multi-award winning, dine amongst the Venetian masks and enjoy the produce of the West Country. All the food is freshly prepared and cooked for you, drawing influences from Italy and the Mediterranean. The hotel is only a few minutes' walk from the high street, main train stations and very conveniently placed for the University. It is also fortunate to have a public car park on its doorstep that is free overnight and very reasonably priced in the day. Exeter is positioned in the Heart of Devon making it a great location to experience everything the West Country has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queens Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Court Hotel Exeter
Queens Court Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing