We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect position, small room.”
Review of Queens Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queens Court
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Another Travelzoo offer, mixed bag, so in order - reception was great, welcomed in a very friendly manner. Room was on thrid floor - lift only goes to second so lugged case up a narrow flight. Roome VERY small with sloping ceilings resulting in banged head every time I went to the loo. Clean, hot water. Bar prices too high - we spent £62 between 4. Taster menu excellent. Breakfast tasty but a bit meagre with only one slice of bacon and the waitress obviously went out for a fag break half way through and stank of smoke when she came back. In these days, unacceptable. Good value but wouldn't stay again unless a better room.

Room Tip: No lift to third floor.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keith1001340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
There are newer reviews for Queens Court
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed last night on the travelzoo offer for £99.00 for one nights stay, six course taster menu and breakfast. Lovely helpful staff, taster menu was very nice though I wouldn't normally choose to eat duck or venison, breakfast was spot on lovely piping hot and fresh produce. Can't fault the staff in the hotel or restaurant very charming and attentive. Only minor points with room not the biggest room in the world but nice big bathroom, starting to look a little tired which is such a shame. Stayed in room 106 and at the moment it has scaffolding outside the window which we wouldn't have been too happy if men had been on the scaffold outside the bedroom window! No bulb in one of bedside reading lights and the other one didn't work. T.V. in room really small, Paint peeling on window in bathroom and really worn toilet seat, but other than that very clean and on this offer very good value for money 5-10min walk from City Centre so good location. Please note the hotel no longer issues voucher/tickets for parking in the car park.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuliaCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We took advantage of a brilliant offer to stay here for one night with breakfast, and six course tasting menu, for just £99. This is a lovely little hotel in a good central location. Our room was small but spotless and more than adequate but it is in the food where this hotel jumps into the top league. We loved the tasting menu which offered something for every palette and clearly cooked by chefs with a passion for their work. We were there on a Monday night and there were also non-guests using the dining room, they too were enjoying their food. The wine list is small but very fairly priced. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. Looking forward to staying here again when the chance arises.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I happened to be in Exeter for visiting the local University. I chose this hotel mainly for its location, close to the St. David's train station, to the uni and to the city centre. The cathedral is only 10 minutes' walking from here down to queens street. The quay and the river side area are a bit further but still easy to reach with a pleasant walk.
The hotel looks really nice and the staff was lovely. I remember I arrived late but didnt have any problem at checking in.
Food too was great.
I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poppyle73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Booked this hotel as part of a visit to the university. The evening meal in the restaurant was the best part of the whole stay but I did enjoy the wonky floor in the bedroom, the enormous en suite bathroom and the quirky feel of the whole place. Free wi fi would improve the overall experience, in this day and age it always seems a bit mean to charge for this.

Room Tip: 105 had a big bathroom and was quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

last minute booking decided to stay overnight with a friend instead of driving. In hotel within hour and a half of booking >Extremely efficient receptionist,friendly and informative. The hotel bar small but nicely furnished with a warm cozy feeling .Twin room quiet , large and clean . Parking right outside but you do have to pay to park, but free overnight, so receptionist advised us to pay in advance which took us up to 10.am following day £2...the hotel is right near the centre of Exeter about a 10 minute walk so very conveniently situated for all the sites and night life . Lovely breakfast fried bread and toast and black pudding very nicely cooked good sausages too!!very important! after a night out!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odettep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Charming and helpful staff and a brilliant tasting menu deal through
Travel Zoo made this a great over night stay for us. Fantastic value. Dinner, bed and full English for £99. Food terrific, rooms fine, hotel very pleasant in quiet square minutes from the centre.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boskenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
917 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,312 reviews
0.2 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#20 of 31 in Exeter
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Court

Address: 6-8 Bystock Terrace, Exeter EX4 4HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Exeter
Price Range: £62 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Court 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor Award of excellence for the past 4 years is testament to the care and quality of this family run hotel in the heart of Exeter. The Queens Court Hotel is a beautiful Georgian town house situated on a leafy square in a city, which dates back to the medieval ages. All rooms are well appointed, all with en-suites. Relax in the bar and lounge or sit outside on the terrace. Visit the jewel in the crown of the Queen's Court, The Olive Tree restaurant. Multi-award winning, dine amongst the Venetian masks and enjoy the produce of the West Country. All the food is freshly prepared and cooked for you, drawing influences from Italy and the Mediterranean. The hotel is only a few minutes' walk from the high street, main train stations and very conveniently placed for the University. It is also fortunate to have a public car park on its doorstep that is free overnight and very reasonably priced in the day. Exeter is positioned in the Heart of Devon making it a great location to experience everything the West Country has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Queens Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Court Hotel Exeter
Queens Court Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing