We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally nice people make for a good stay”
Review of Queens Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queens Court
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Palm City, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exceptionally nice people make for a good stay”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The family that owns this pleasant hotel has a knack for hiring able assistants. Laura Langabeer, the extraordinarily pleasant young lady who greeted us when we arrived, the mother-daughter team that cleans the rooms and serves in the restaurant, and the rest of the staff all seem to understand just how important smiling assistance is for the reputation and ambiance of any property.Throughout our 4 day stay in a bright and ample first floor room, the staff was always ready with a smile and a helping hand. Despite the more or less constant drizzle, the facilities and people at the hotel made for a pleasant visit. The dining room and small bar are a very satisfactory venue in which to enjoy an ample daily breakfast which features some of the best scrambled eggs we've had anywhere and a dinner menu featuring a selection of well prepared entrees. The hotel is very well located within easy walking distance of the downtown area and the central rail station. A strong and consistently available WiFi signal enabled us to stay in touch with the rest of the world throughout a very pleasant stay. Highly recommended and good value.

Room Tip: 103 very nice -- windows at both ends with lots of light
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLC686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    270
    94
    22
    13
See reviews for
96
348
21
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

What an experience, we booked through Travel Zoo, good price, one night but when you have had a go that's all you need. The taste part of the booking consisted of 7 dishes or rather plates. When the waitress served the plates they were big enough to see from outer space but the taster was in my view, or hard to view a waste of time. I could not wait to get to the pub across the road to see what real food was all about.
The bedroom was small and just about big enough to put a toddlers cot in. The hallways were dark and grubby with a nicely chipped painted entrance door to the Cell.
The view of the car park was exceptional if you could see past the scaffolding erected outside the window.
The service was ok apart from seeing the waitress drop some cutlery onto the floor and then place it on some ones table without cleaning the item.
Breakfast was good, full English. The chef must have worked all night!

Room Tip: Don't know what the other rooms are like but ours was small and pathetic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anthony d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Location,location,location is The Queens Courts "ACE CARD".Perfectly placed for exploring Exeter.The staff are a credit to this hotel and the rooms are in good order.Room 103 has a super kingsize bed and is nice and quiet,(being on the back of the hotel).The Devonshire breakfast was plentiful and well cooked and the coffee was proper coffee.The 6 course taster menu was a bit hit and miss which I feel reluctant to critisize, but for the Travelzoo price of £99. then it is very good value for your money.The one thing I would like to mention as a tip,not a put down, is the bedroom carpet in 103 needs replacing and hall/stairs,bar and restaurant carpet has a lot of strange stains.Shampoo these and the JURY will then be able to make I'm sure a positive decision.

Room Tip: Room 103 is quiet and the on suite is fresh
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bindone70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed over 1 night last week on a travelzoo offer, good value and really easy access to town centre. We upgraded to a large double which was clean and had all you needed, just a wee bit tired, but I understand it is difficult to keep on top of décor in old buildings. food in restaurant was good but slightly under portioned, breakfast excellent and the staff were friendly, wouldn't hesitate to come again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geelyfigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This hotel is in a good position - a five minute walk into the town centre - on a quiet square. However, our room was small for a double ( even though we had paid extra for a larger room) and the bathroom needed up dating. We had a good night's sleep but the food for the tasting menu evening meal was disappointing and not of the standard we have experienced in other hotels for the same money. We weren't made particularly welcome although the young men serving the meal in the restaurant were a little more helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purpledays_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

£99 for B&B for two, plus a lovely 6 course tasting menu! Great position, close to city centre, friendly service, decent rooms in a beautiful building. The breakfast was good and we'd definitely return here on another offer. Great stuff!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

An overnight stay on 6th April was superb. 5 min walk into town centre. Easy parking.
Friendly staff, room lovely, but the 6 Course Tasting Menu was amazing. A huge thank you to our lovely young waiter, who complimented the evening with bringing us his own homemade Petit Fours ...... deliciously wonderful. Thank you :)

Room Tip: 107 - lovely large room and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julietmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,692 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,294 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
0.2 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#21 of 31 in Exeter
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Court

Property: Queens Court
Address: 6-8 Bystock Terrace, Exeter EX4 4HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Court 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor Award of excellence for the past 4 years is testament to the care and quality of this family run hotel in the heart of Exeter. The Queens Court Hotel is a beautiful Georgian town house situated on a leafy square in a city, which dates back to the medieval ages. All rooms are well appointed, all with en-suites. Relax in the bar and lounge or sit outside on the terrace. Visit the jewel in the crown of the Queen's Court, The Olive Tree restaurant. Multi-award winning, dine amongst the Venetian masks and enjoy the produce of the West Country. All the food is freshly prepared and cooked for you, drawing influences from Italy and the Mediterranean. The hotel is only a few minutes' walk from the high street, main train stations and very conveniently placed for the University. It is also fortunate to have a public car park on its doorstep that is free overnight and very reasonably priced in the day. Exeter is positioned in the Heart of Devon making it a great location to experience everything the West Country has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queens Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Court Hotel Exeter
Queens Court Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing