We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'Mixed bag'”
Review of Queens Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queens Court
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Participated in a travelzoo deal with a 6 course tasting menu.
Will give you the brief details.
Positives
1) super location close to the city centre
2) easy parking right outside the hotel
3) nicely decorated restaurant with amazing quality food.
Negatives
1) tired rooms
2) no cot in room for us on arrival (despite confirmation) and then was going to be charged £15 for it (when we got it we didn't get any bedding! )
3) portions for tasting menu main course were poor. We understood it was a tasting menu, but other diners were paying £35 a person and were treated to a much bigger plate
4) no bread with soup (other diners got bread!)
5) felt very rushed, there was only 2-3 minutes between each course and even when we were asked if we wanted a little time before our main it was only 5-6 minutes!
6) breakfast was good quality but tomatoes on toast consisted of half a tomato and four triangles of neatly cut dry toast.

Would visit the restaurant independently but probably would pay a little more for a better quality hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank AdamandCarol_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
There are newer reviews for Queens Court
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Visited for the taster menu and an overnight stay as part of a travelzoo offer. Stayed with friends.

Taster menu was ok. While we saw a menu on arrival the waitress could have told us what each course was. She seemed in a bit of a hurry and we guessed that she wanted to go out for the evening - but the chef was seen leaving at the same time the last course was delivered to our table, so it must have been him in a rush. The size / shape of plates seemed to confuse waitress as the second course couldn't be put on the table because the plate she had left after the first course were in the way, she nearly knocked over a glass - twice. Food OK.

Afterwards we went to the hotel bar down the road for a snack and a drink.

Bedroom didn't quite live up to the 'boutique' label.

Breakfast was good quality. Four of us ordered different cooked items from the menu but none of the plates arrived with the correct selection. Ran out of bacon for one of us - it arrived a little later, barely cooked.

Good location for the city centre.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonCustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had a great stay. The staff was very pleasant, a nice place to sit in the lobby so that our group could gather and breakfast was great. Our room was small but very quaint and comfortable. Good shower and plenty of hot water. We left for our event in the middle of a downpour and they even loaned us an umbrella for the evening!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The family that owns this pleasant hotel has a knack for hiring able assistants. Laura Langabeer, the extraordinarily pleasant young lady who greeted us when we arrived, the mother-daughter team that cleans the rooms and serves in the restaurant, and the rest of the staff all seem to understand just how important smiling assistance is for the reputation and ambiance of any property.Throughout our 4 day stay in a bright and ample first floor room, the staff was always ready with a smile and a helping hand. Despite the more or less constant drizzle, the facilities and people at the hotel made for a pleasant visit. The dining room and small bar are a very satisfactory venue in which to enjoy an ample daily breakfast which features some of the best scrambled eggs we've had anywhere and a dinner menu featuring a selection of well prepared entrees. The hotel is very well located within easy walking distance of the downtown area and the central rail station. A strong and consistently available WiFi signal enabled us to stay in touch with the rest of the world throughout a very pleasant stay. Highly recommended and good value.

Room Tip: 103 very nice -- windows at both ends with lots of light
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLC686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

What an experience, we booked through Travel Zoo, good price, one night but when you have had a go that's all you need. The taste part of the booking consisted of 7 dishes or rather plates. When the waitress served the plates they were big enough to see from outer space but the taster was in my view, or hard to view a waste of time. I could not wait to get to the pub across the road to see what real food was all about.
The bedroom was small and just about big enough to put a toddlers cot in. The hallways were dark and grubby with a nicely chipped painted entrance door to the Cell.
The view of the car park was exceptional if you could see past the scaffolding erected outside the window.
The service was ok apart from seeing the waitress drop some cutlery onto the floor and then place it on some ones table without cleaning the item.
Breakfast was good, full English. The chef must have worked all night!

Room Tip: Don't know what the other rooms are like but ours was small and pathetic.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anthony d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Location,location,location is The Queens Courts "ACE CARD".Perfectly placed for exploring Exeter.The staff are a credit to this hotel and the rooms are in good order.Room 103 has a super kingsize bed and is nice and quiet,(being on the back of the hotel).The Devonshire breakfast was plentiful and well cooked and the coffee was proper coffee.The 6 course taster menu was a bit hit and miss which I feel reluctant to critisize, but for the Travelzoo price of £99. then it is very good value for your money.The one thing I would like to mention as a tip,not a put down, is the bedroom carpet in 103 needs replacing and hall/stairs,bar and restaurant carpet has a lot of strange stains.Shampoo these and the JURY will then be able to make I'm sure a positive decision.

Room Tip: Room 103 is quiet and the on suite is fresh
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bindone70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed over 1 night last week on a travelzoo offer, good value and really easy access to town centre. We upgraded to a large double which was clean and had all you needed, just a wee bit tired, but I understand it is difficult to keep on top of décor in old buildings. food in restaurant was good but slightly under portioned, breakfast excellent and the staff were friendly, wouldn't hesitate to come again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geelyfigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,738 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
921 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#18 of 31 in Exeter
1,314 reviews
0.2 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#19 of 31 in Exeter
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Court

Address: 6-8 Bystock Terrace, Exeter EX4 4HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Exeter
Price Range: £62 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Court 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor Award of excellence for the past 4 years is testament to the care and quality of this family run hotel in the heart of Exeter. The Queens Court Hotel is a beautiful Georgian town house situated on a leafy square in a city, which dates back to the medieval ages. All rooms are well appointed, all with en-suites. Relax in the bar and lounge or sit outside on the terrace. Visit the jewel in the crown of the Queen's Court, The Olive Tree restaurant. Multi-award winning, dine amongst the Venetian masks and enjoy the produce of the West Country. All the food is freshly prepared and cooked for you, drawing influences from Italy and the Mediterranean. The hotel is only a few minutes' walk from the high street, main train stations and very conveniently placed for the University. It is also fortunate to have a public car park on its doorstep that is free overnight and very reasonably priced in the day. Exeter is positioned in the Heart of Devon making it a great location to experience everything the West Country has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Queens Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Court Hotel Exeter
Queens Court Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing