We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Bag”
Review of Queens Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Queens Court
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel claims to have "Spacious" rooms and offer "free homemade biscuits".Our room, 302 was not spacious and did not have home made biscuits. The shower was tempermental running hot, cold and stopping.
In contrast the restaurant was excellent with the food first class.Apart from the second morning of our stay when i think we were forgotten, the service was also to a high standard.
The hotel is well-located close to the city centre, but it does have a "tired" look about it.

Room Tip: I would give the rooms on the top floor a miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 69Kenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at the Queens hotel on our way to Cornwall. The hotel was a bit worn, but overall a very pleasant stay, very good for the price. Location near the city centre, but not close enough to find noise or other activities disturbing. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NickNack006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Got the dreaded room 304 which was not a problem as clean and the receptionist was upfront about the issues, the room was just in need of redecoration due to the roof leaking so was offered free breakfast. Walls were dry and we didn't waste time staring at them. Hot water an issue the next day and at breakfast we were left waiting for food a long time while others got theirs as the waitress forgot us. Tired decor but ok. Not sure I would go again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Ideally situated for exploring the city. Hotel is situated in a quiet little square. Parking opposite in a car park. City centre a few minutes walk away. Warm reception on arrival. Room comfortable, lovely bedding and towels. Tea/coffee making. Airy bathroom with good selection of toiletries.
We went with friends to celebrate a birthday. Thoroughly enjoyed the 6 course tasting menu. Each course was of a very high standard and presented beautifully. Sevice was excellent, attentive but unobtrusive. Bed comfy and slept well. Breakfast was excellent also. Good choice of cereals fruit juice etc. Tea/coffee and toast plentiful. Egg Florentine was delicious and everyone enjoyed their traditional English breakfast. Staff were helpful and keen that we enjoyed our stay.

ee making

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lindsey315963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is In a good location, walking distance to both main exeter stations, the food looks good although we didn't eat there. It let's itself down however in other ways, the beds are not very comfortable, the weekend cleaners seemed to have no interest in cleaning our rooms and the phone in the room clearly had not been dusted for months.

Overall it's a bit shoddy and very 3 star but in quite a nice quiet part of town.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Marbella100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Hotel is in a great location for shopping and touristy visit.
Had a room on the first floor, no noise, crisp white sheets.
Hotel staff were gracious and welcoming.
Waiter at dinner was very patient and helpful.
Enjoyed the tasting menu, it's great fun.
Found it plentiful.
Would love to revisit again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coolmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is lovely, we are regular visitors to Exeter and this hotel has been the best that we have stayed in. The room was lovely, a good size and very clean. The restaurant was great, we had breakfast which was very nice. All the staff in the hotel were extremely friendly and very helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ANNA44171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#10 of 31 in Exeter
1,816 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#18 of 31 in Exeter
1,344 reviews
0.2 mi away
The City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel
#20 of 31 in Exeter
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#8 of 31 in Exeter
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Court

Address: 6-8 Bystock Terrace, Exeter EX4 4HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Exeter
Price Range: £61 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Court 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor Award of excellence for the past 4 years is testament to the care and quality of this family run hotel in the heart of Exeter. The Queens Court Hotel is a beautiful Georgian town house situated on a leafy square in a city, which dates back to the medieval ages. All rooms are well appointed, all with en-suites. Relax in the bar and lounge or sit outside on the terrace. Visit the jewel in the crown of the Queen's Court, The Olive Tree restaurant. Multi-award winning, dine amongst the Venetian masks and enjoy the produce of the West Country. All the food is freshly prepared and cooked for you, drawing influences from Italy and the Mediterranean. The hotel is only a few minutes' walk from the high street, main train stations and very conveniently placed for the University. It is also fortunate to have a public car park on its doorstep that is free overnight and very reasonably priced in the day. Exeter is positioned in the Heart of Devon making it a great location to experience everything the West Country has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Queens Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Court Hotel Exeter
Queens Court Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing