We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely to return to the Nobody Inn!”
Review of The Nobody Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Nobody Inn
Ranked #6 of 69 Exeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely to return to the Nobody Inn!”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Having enjoyed a stay on honeymoon (a very long time ago) we returned with our daughters and their husbands to celebrate a significant birthday. While the Devon Lanes are not for a fainthearted driver, unless you live locally; the drive is well worth it!
Our three rooms were very pretty, individually decorated with good quality linen and furnishings. a decanter of sherry tea tray and copious water ( it was very hot) were much appreciated.
The breakfast menu was excellent and freshly served rather than as a buffet. Dinner was a real treat and all the food was very well cooked.
The staff team are experienced, well trained and "went the extra mile" to help our family enjoy themselves during our two night stay.
An excellent stay; thank you so much.

Room Tip: 3/5 we saw were all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnwright1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    57
    26
    14
    2
See reviews for
50
204
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Launceston
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I can't praise this pub highly enough. We had stayed previously (wonderful) and wanted to visit for lunch. On the sunny day we went, most people must have decided to go to the sea as we were the only visitors (it was early, mind). We ate outside in the beautifully tended garden. All was peace. The surrounding hills and valleys and rivers are so pretty.

Service was pleasant and prompt. The wine list would do for your reading for a week and, I believe, the whisky menu lists over 800 whiskeys!

We had steak and ale pie which was superb, better than you can make at home, with horseradish mash, glazed baked carrots, broccoli and cabbage. My husband didn't want a heavy meal, so he had two starters. Soup of the day and breadcrumbed squid rings. Now I don't like squid, but I had a taste and they were marvellous - not at all greasy and tender as anything. All the food and drink were delivered together, not ten minutes apart as at some places. All in all, it was a wonderful visit and we are still talking about it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Fantastic pub we are local and live in the village we go at least once every two weeks for a meal.
Great atmosphere, amazing steak pie, my husband loves a pint of NoBody.

I would strongly recommend you try this traditional pub lovely gardens great menu.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed one night on our way to far south west of Cornwall from the Midlands, to break up our journey. The venue is an old world classic british pub, in the middle of a very quiet village, feels like it's miles from nowhere, with 3 real ales on tap, some good wines and an extensive whiskey collection. Worth a visit on it's own.

We did book late, on the morning we arrived, so had the last room which was the smallest they had, a small ish, standard double. It was a high quality, very comfortable room.

The food was excellent. The burger was recommended as 'the best burger you may ever have'. I was sold. Copping an eye at the burgers being delivered to other tables, I was in for a treat. Delivered was a sizable affair, a homemade burger complete with classic bacon. cheese and red onion marmalade, accompanied with decent fries, tangy red pepper and tomato salsa. The bun was a homemade, sour dough type, perfectly fresh, lots of crispy fresh lettuce accompanied a well crafted hand made burger, pink in the middle, lovely and juicy. The only only critisism from me, it was very messy, perhaps too much 'burger relish', as nice as it tasted, it did over power the taste of the meat slightly and the main event. All in all, a tasty burger that I would certainly recommend, my rating 76/100.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Returned to the Nobody Inn. Stayed in the Primrose room which at £60 is great value. The shower room is separate but is for your use only. Had a lovely four mile walk suggested by the pub in order to build up our appetites for dinner. We ate in the bar which is more atmospheric than the restaurant. Food gets better each visit. The wine list is extensive as is the list of whiskeys.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mortlaketraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and could have stayed 3 weeks as it was so enjoyable - both the hotel and the beautiful location. The countryside and village scenery is to die for! Also, a lovely country garden with ample sitting areas to enjoy either a drink or, as we were fortunate to do, have our meals.

We were on a special early summer (June) deal for BB & Evening Meal. It was a fantastic value considering the high standards in the lovely room and the meals we enjoyed. I nearly didn't submit this review as I didn't want too many people to know about it!

Lovely friendly staff who, without exception, made our stay very memorable indeed. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Every room appeared to have the same high standards and lovely views of the gardens and village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This a excellent pub, great selection of wines,beers & spirits. Accommodation is first class & staff are very friendly & helpful. Excellent breakfast & first class Dinner Menu. Well worth a visit. Not easy to find, but well worth it when you get there.

Room Tip: Take Sat Nav
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulsand186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
3.3 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
6.5 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
6.4 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,639 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Globe
The Globe
#1 of 6 in Topsham
458 reviews
6.3 mi away
Townhouse
Townhouse
#5 of 69 in Exeter
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nobody Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nobody Inn

Property: The Nobody Inn
Address: Doddiscombsleigh, Exeter EX6 7PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nobody Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Nobody Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nobody Hotel Exeter
The Nobody Inn Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing