We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The City Gate Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The City Gate Hotel
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Gaydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Read past reviews and yes no car park but secure mult storey parking which is locked down at night and only cost from 5.40 until 12.45 the next day cost £ 11.80 Bargin
Room 13 yes shower did stop half way through but if you turn it off when soaping up it returns ok!
Good atmospher in pub beer good breakfast excellent!
Easy check in and out staff very good!!!
And the clincher is they have nice soft toilet paper !!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    80
    34
    26
    17
See reviews for
36
61
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed at the city gate fro three nights in early August. This is a very very good pub with rooms establishment. Thje room was very clean, newly decorated, good sized and with a good quality bathroom. Staff were very friendly. Location is a couple of minutes walk to tthe high street and Queen Street. 5 minutes walk to Exeter Central station, 15 minutes to St Davids.

We stayed room only and didnt eat in as there are many good places to grab breakfast around and the hotel breakfast finished a bit early for us.

All in all, you can go to a larger hotel near the Cathedral and you'll probably pay twice as much for not much more, for the quality and value this is a 5* review.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KingsleyTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

We had dinner here a few years ago and it wasn't good - thought we'll give it another go as things might have changed... We both had burgers; £10 each, a very small, not great portion of chips, onion rings, which were more like oily batter rings without the onion; and the burger meat was just not edible...Definitely not grilled, it was probably deep fried with everything else. Very tough and did not taste like any meat i have ever eaten. It tasted like a "solid lump" of cheap liver&bacon readymeal. I did not even bother to complain. The beer garden is nice; the bar itself is nice, the food was really bad. Even for a fiver I would have expected something edible. For £10 - no good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ildiko W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Exeter hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed one night at this hotel which has good central location. Large beer garden which my room overlooked but was quite noisy at times as a result of this.
Room was clean and tidy, although the toilet had not been cleaned properly and had a 'deposit' left which I had to draw to the attention of the hotel staff.
Staff were overall helpful and friendly. This hotel is also a busy bar, didn't eat here as breakfast not included in the room rate which for £55 I would've expected, therefore in my opinion not value for money, if your driving there is no parking.
The overall decor is quite dark and woody!

Room Tip: Maybe choose a room which is situated at the back overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shannon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
376 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

The good:
Great location – near city center, attractions, restaurants. Staff were efficient and friendly, as always. The breakfast offered was delicious and very English (if you choose to). Wifi was available and had great connection throughout.

The bad:
This place really needed updating and refurbishing. Toilet seats could have been replaced, from wear and tear. Shower curtains needed a bit of a scrub. Walls needed repainting. Carpet needs deep cleaning.
May not stay there again (this is the third summer for me).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Not able to rank the hotel 3.5, so went for the 3 but wanted to mention this.

All in all, the hotel stay was a positive experience- stayed for 2 nights last weekend, for a friends wedding. We couldn't park at the hotel and had to put it in a multi story opposite. if you arrive after 6pm, parking was £2 overnight, which was pretty good, then £11 for 24 hours. Not great, but it could've been worse. This isn't the hotel's issue, it's more of an Exeter centre thing but it does impact the stay.

The City Gate is a pub with a hotel on top- the welcome was warm, and the rooms were cosy (if a little small). We got #14 which had a view of the beer garden, which was probably the best we could expect. Bed was comfy and of a decent size, LCD TV had a good choice of channels, free WiFi was handy, plenty of storage space.

The stairs carpet lets the side down a bit, as it's very worn out, but this is an exception.

Breakfast was included, and it was quite nice - choice of Full English or continental as you'd expect. Breakfast service was friendly and well meaning but a little bit erratic. They'd forget the odd thing here and there, but this wasn't really a big deal as it was all put right quickly.

The only negative (apart from the parking) was the shower- it just stopped working (ie. no pressure) for about 5 mins, then started up again. No big deal, but my gf was halfway through lathering up and wasn't overly impressed!

All in all, a decent stay, recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BugPowderDust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

My husband and I stayed just 1 night at the City Gate Hotel on July 19th and I would not recommend it provided our room (#11) had a terrible en-suite bathroom. First of all, the tap of the shower was leaking all night (!) but more importantly, we discovered the next morning that the shower was not working : there was no hot water and no pressure at all. At some point, we hadn't any water at all. We complained to the staff that we couldn't use the shower and they were aware of the issue of the room 11 (!!!). They temporarily fixed the shower while we were having breakfast. Unfortunately, it was not repaired properly so we hadn't had the chance to have a hot shower and also, the pressure was still very low.
The bathroom was not cleaned properly, some accessories were broken or missing
On the + side : nice staff, good location, good choice of breakfast options with fresh croissants on the buffet.
On the - side : the room and bathroom were not perfectly cleaned, some accessories were broken in the bathroom, beds' mattresses need to be replaced, no view over the city from the hotel.
I guess we had the wrong room but before allocating it to clients, they should fix the shower issue and also change the old mattresses...

Room Tip: Avoid room 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#26 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silversprings St Davids
Silversprings St Davids
#21 of 31 in Exeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The City Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The City Gate Hotel

Property: The City Gate Hotel
Address: 1 Iron Bridge | Lower North Street, Exeter EX4 3RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The City Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Gate is closed for major refurbishment and will reopen early April with 14 boutique style bedrooms, fantastic pub, dining area serving classic British food and our secret garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The City Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing