We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wedding Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The City Gate Hotel
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Wedding Venue”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We recently had our wedding lunch and evening reception here and cannot say enough thanks to Carl, Rosie and the team for taking such great care of every detail and for making our day just fantastic. The food was wonderful, the service was superb, the venue itself was ideal , the bedrooms are great and so was the breakfast. If you are getting married then go and have a look at the City Gate, we did not even know it existed until we stumbled upon it for a Sunday Roast one day back in July and are so happy we did. We got married at the Registry Office and all our guests took a leisurely stroll in the sunshine afterwards to the City Gate. Thanks again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattA186262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    86
    34
    27
    17
See reviews for
37
70
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Bit tatty, in need of updating. Room clean, large bathroom but with big holes in the plaster! Reasonably good location, but should add extra £11 pn for carparking. Poor quality bed & pillows led to uncomfortable nights sleep. More 2 star B&B than 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadug59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I enjoyed my stay at City Gate - centrally located, the staff were friendly - my room (number 9) was very large and bed comfortable. The dinner we had downstairs was great value and very tasty, I would stay here on a return visit to Exeter.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Only two blocks from Exeter Central Train Station is a delightful old hotel and pub with good food. Numer Two room is generously sized and the beds are very comfortable. Nighttime was very quiet. Reception and wait staff gave prompt service.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Larbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I booked into The City Gate Hotel for a 1-night stay. I liked the photographs and the location when I booked it but was disappointed on arrival. Although the bar area is very pleasant with lots of oak panelling and a good layout it took me almost 40 minutes to book-in as the manager was on a meeting and the very polite barmaid told me that she wasn't allowed to use the computer. I ordered a drink whilst I waited as I was told he would be there within 10 minutes but that wasn't the case. I would have walked out and gone elsewhere but as I had booked through Booking.com the hotel already had my card details and would still have charged me. When someone did finally book me in I made sure they knew I was NOT impressed.

After getting my room key I made my way upstairs and noticed that all the stair carpets were threadbare and there were cracks so big in the wall plaster Dr. Who would have run away (if you watch the Series you'll know what I mean). The room itself was ok but the sink had mold all around the inner edge. The mattress was lumpy and the 2 pillows were almost empty of filling. All this I could have accepted for maybe £30 - £40 per night but for nearer £70 it was terrible.

On the plus side there was free broadband internet in my room and it was very fast.

I didn't eat the breakfast so I cannot comment on that.

I won't be staying there again unless things improve or the rest of Exeter is full.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytravellerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Exeter hotels

London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

While the rooms are getting tired now, they are always clean and the staff are friendly. We always choose this hotel when staying in Exeter because we like the service we get from the management. It is very central to the shops, a short walk from the station and 5 minutes drive from Marsh Barton trading estate, so works for business as well.
There is no car park, but you can park in the Council car park opposite and pay for the coming day.

Room Tip: Room 9 is a good family room, although it is on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulthechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I stayed there with a bunch of girlfriends. I can honestly say the Hotel and especially the staff where excellent. The rooms clean and modern. There is a wonderful outside area and the bar was also great. Great find close to shops and night life. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: i stayed in Room 15 on second floor. I visited other rooms and they where all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123tigerlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#27 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.4 mi away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#20 of 31 in Exeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silversprings St Davids
Silversprings St Davids
#21 of 31 in Exeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The City Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The City Gate Hotel

Property: The City Gate Hotel
Address: 1 Iron Bridge | Lower North Street, Exeter EX4 3RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The City Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Exeter, The City Gate offers modern rooms, free Wi-Fi and a beer garden. Exeter Central and Exeter St Davids Railway Stations are nearby and the M5 motorway is within easy reach. The City Gate has 14 newly refurbished Boutique rooms with en-suite. They all feature a TV (with sky box), tea and coffee making facilities, mini bar, air conditioning and some complimentary treats! The City Gate Hotel features real ales and a traditional food menu, made using fine local produce. Guests can dine either in the restaurant or in the spacious conservatory. In the warmer months, the garden provides yet more dining space. This is our guests' favourite part of Exeter, according to independent reviews. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The City Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing