We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The City Gate Hotel
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed a weekend at the City Gate. There were a number of niggles.
The chambermaid burst in without knocking in the morning.
The room was very unclean when we arrived (the bath had clearly not been cleaned since the previous occupants) and the same bits of detritus was on the stair carpet when we left on Sunday as when we arrived on Friday.

The room was small and the curtain had partially come off its hooks.

we were offered a discount on cheackout, but that isn't really the point.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    84
    34
    26
    17
See reviews for
37
65
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We booked a dinner party for 36 people, City Gate were fabulous bearing in mind our menu choices changed several times, they arranged the room just for us and were very accommodating. Food was good , excellent choice for a christmas menu. Nothing too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tickytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed here for one night, friendly staff, nice room and great value. Beats a Travelodge any day of the week, this place may not be the Ritz but it's definitely got character. No complaints here, may well return if we come back to Exeter!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainStupidbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

The hotel is in an ideal location for exploring Exeter. It wasn't particularly cheap - £170 for 2 nights with breakfast. A lot of the public areas needed a good clean - doors etc. In our room both bedside lamps and the standard lamp were broken. The heated towel rail was not fitted to the wall properly which meant you had to be careful not to burn your leg when sat on the toilet. The toilet seat and the shower attachment were broken. The service during breakfast on our second morning was awful plus the ketchup on our table was off! When it came to settling our account the bill was extremely difficult to understand. The shift manager did take £20 off our bill but we certainly won't be staying again or recommending to any friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandyra60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Exeter hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Dirty, discugusting, badly maintained. There is nothing that could have redeemed this hotel. It was expensive. Let me list MY experience...

3 pillows for a double bed and 2 extremely flat cushions
NO Central heating - only a tiny oil radiator in the room
NO double glazing, this hotel is on the side of a busy road and all I could hear was the traffic
Half eaten biscuits left in the room which was supposed to have been cleaned
Dirty bathroom which was badly maintained - paint missing off the wall and the toilet roll holders half falling off.
No complimentries - normally I don't use them but on this occasion I had forgotten mine so I had to go to town to buy them.

This is a rip off, avoid at all costs - the photos are VERY deceiving. Read ALL the reviews first.....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We were staying around the corner from this hotel and our coach tour driver suggested it as a good place for pub grub and he was right. There is a beautiful courtyard with tables outside and a sun room just inside but we sat in the bar as it was an overcast evening and we were better able to chat with the staff. Although all were very nice our favorite was Alice; she is just the sweetest young lady and we enjoyed her so much that we went back for dinner the following evening.
The fish and chips were very good but the best thing on the menu is the tempura battered, deep fried brie with cranberry compote - to die for!
There was a good wine selection and they even had Canadian Club whiskey.
We enjoyed this place very much and were very sorry to say goodbye to Alice!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gowens56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I have just returned from a night out at The City Gate Hotel. I was driving consequently I did not drink. I ordered a diet Coke. It took absolutely ages for the bar staff to determine how much to charge me for this drink. Eventually it was £2.20 ! Now from a piped tap that means it cost them about 10 pence (and they reaped about £2.10 profit)
I returned to the bar to order two Cokes later that evening. I was charged £4.90. I queried this saying that I expected it to be £4.40 (two lots of £2.20) and the bar person said she'd poured a pint and a half. I refused to pay such inflated prices for piped, fizzy drinks. However, instead of simply giving me the pint and a half of Coke, the pint was poured away into the sink (well half of it) and the rest put in another glass. How mean and petty can you get ?!
Will encourage my friends NOT to rendez vous here anytime in the future, for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOLLOPExeterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#26 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.4 mi away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#21 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silversprings St Davids
Silversprings St Davids
#22 of 31 in Exeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The City Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The City Gate Hotel

Property: The City Gate Hotel
Address: 1 Iron Bridge | Lower North Street, Exeter EX4 2RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The City Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Exeter, The City Gate offers modern rooms, free Wi-Fi and a beer garden. Exeter Central and Exeter St Davids Railway Stations are nearby and the M5 motorway is within easy reach. The City Gate has 14 newly refurbished Boutique rooms with en-suite. They all feature a TV (with sky box), tea and coffee making facilities, mini bar, air conditioning and some complimentary treats! The City Gate Hotel features real ales and a traditional food menu, made using fine local produce. Guests can dine either in the restaurant or in the spacious conservatory. In the warmer months, the garden provides yet more dining space. This is our guests' favourite part of Exeter, according to independent reviews. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The City Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing