We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly hotel in a great situation but in need of TLC!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The City Gate Hotel
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel in a great situation but in need of TLC!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed here for the night recently while on business in the area. Had the chance to walk around that part of the city in the evening and really enjoyed it, the hotel is surrounded by nice shops and some interesting buildings. Found the staff very friendly but did feel that they spent a lot of time standing behind the bar waiting for something to happen which wasn't going to happen due to lack of customers, they might well appreciate the opportunity to do a little sanding down and painting in the accommodation side of the building which is a bit let down by a lack of maintenance, particularly in the night time entrance and, in my bedroom, the grouting in the bathroom (see photo). Overall, I found the City Gate very warm and welcoming with an interesting menu together with the opportunity to purchase home made pickled eggs and pork scratchings to go with a good choice of wines and beers. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whydoineedtodothis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    86
    34
    27
    17
See reviews for
37
70
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grafton, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We were visiting family and the City Gate is very well located in the heart of Exeter but not on the main busy road. The room we had (13) at the rear overlooking the beer garden was well appointed and the inclusive breakfast very generous. The bar is well stocked and friendly with cosy fires in winter and lovely outdoor drinking garden for the warmer weather. Friendly, comfortable and relaxed attitude to guests wandering around. Perhaps slightly overpriced for a pub but Exeter is not a cheap place to visit.

Room Tip: Ask them for the best available thats what we did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed here today. We came a few years ago, had to fight to get a table, and found a lovely ambience, good food and wine.
Today it was like visiting a different establishment. There was hardly anyone in the bar area, it was a Saturday lunchtime, and we were the only people eating.
Choice of food and wine was poor. When it arrived it was average. We had to ask for knives and forks, then for condiments, and when I asked for tomatoes to go in my salad, I was brought an egg cup with two cherry tomatoes cut in to quarters!!!
The staff didn't seem to know what day of the week it was. One girl in particular kept interrupting me while I was ordering my food, meaning it took several attempts for the lad serving me to get the whole order.
Needless to say, we will be going elsewhere next time.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dawlishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Exeter hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed here on my own , for a night . the staff were very friendly and helpful.
food was great, it was abit tired in areas , but very cosy. the rooms were clean and tidy and bed was very comfy .
management very friendly and welcoming .

Room Tip: I had room 5 its at the front near the road but didn't hear much noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon_p127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I would not recommend this hotel. The whole pub is poorly managed, the general reason being laziness on behalf of the staff and management. The hotel does not feel nice and clean, it looks like it has been neglected and general TLC of the place is non-existent. The inconsistent reviews on this is probably due to the fact that a lot of staff don't bother turning up to shifts and so rooms may not be cleaned to a high standard as well as the whole pub being under staffed. If you want a guaranteed nice weekend stay I would recommend the Thistle hotel as The City Gate Hotel cannot guarantee this.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaW789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We have now stayed at this hotel twice and will be going back again!

-Rooms are a good size with a clean bathroom and complimentary toiletries which are replaced each day.
- Quiet rooms. We stated at both the front and the back of the hotel and both were fairly quiet considering one is next to the road!
-Breakfast was delicious - zero complaints whatsoever!
-Staff friendly and helpful making check in and check out quick and easy
-Very lively bar but closes earlyish so doesn't keep you awake
-Considering the location - proximity to the city centre and the train station - I feel it is good value for money!

Thanks for two great weekends! We will be back :)

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank L-England1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed a weekend at the City Gate. There were a number of niggles.
The chambermaid burst in without knocking in the morning.
The room was very unclean when we arrived (the bath had clearly not been cleaned since the previous occupants) and the same bits of detritus was on the stair carpet when we left on Sunday as when we arrived on Friday.

The room was small and the curtain had partially come off its hooks.

we were offered a discount on cheackout, but that isn't really the point.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#27 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.4 mi away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#20 of 31 in Exeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silversprings St Davids
Silversprings St Davids
#21 of 31 in Exeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The City Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The City Gate Hotel

Property: The City Gate Hotel
Address: 1 Iron Bridge | Lower North Street, Exeter EX4 3RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The City Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Exeter, The City Gate offers modern rooms, free Wi-Fi and a beer garden. Exeter Central and Exeter St Davids Railway Stations are nearby and the M5 motorway is within easy reach. The City Gate has 14 newly refurbished Boutique rooms with en-suite. They all feature a TV (with sky box), tea and coffee making facilities, mini bar, air conditioning and some complimentary treats! The City Gate Hotel features real ales and a traditional food menu, made using fine local produce. Guests can dine either in the restaurant or in the spacious conservatory. In the warmer months, the garden provides yet more dining space. This is our guests' favourite part of Exeter, according to independent reviews. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The City Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Gate Hotel
The City Gate Hotel Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing