We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good carvery + dessert”
Review of The Devon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Devon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Devon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good carvery + dessert”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Spent the evening 01/03/12 with a group of friends. The carvery was especially good. Tasty beef and pork with a good selection of vegetables. Choice of 5 desserts included in the £12.50 evening carvery + dessert offer. On our previous visit we mentioned how poor the Fruit Salad was as it was full of apple and little else. Decided to give it a try again and it was delicious, a good variety of fruit and well presented. Excellent value for money in pleasant surroundings, give it a try.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bpauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    334
    129
    37
    18
See reviews for
213
373
30
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We took a special offer DBB. The room was nice if a little small especially the bathroom but all very clean. The maid was ironing right outside our door when we came out - quaint! The cooked breakfast was fair but not much choice other than that. The dinner was very few choices, 2 of the desserts were cheese and ice cream - not very inventive. I ordered a lime and got water and the soup was tasteless. Not up to the Brend Imperial Hotel in Barnstaple that's for sure. But, well done the little German waitress you made our night!

Room Tip: Lots of stairs so make sure you are fit! Had to shut window lorries started at 3am Sat morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. The hotel was nice enough, warm, clean etc but the room was very small and I wouldn't want to stay here for business purposes for more than one night.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OJFUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Very good service. Food excellent and bedroom very clean. Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Wehad a room at the back so it was very quiet. Front facing rooms might not be as quiet as they fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uccharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This break was a last-minute decision to get away for a few days so did have problems finding somewhere. The package offered by the hotel did not seem to be offered anywhere other than on their own website. 3 nights dinner, bed and breakfast in a king room for £240. The room was adequate but not overly large with a good TV, good selection of tea/coffee & biscuits and plenty of storage space to hang clothes and to put things away. Bathroom was a bit of a disappointment, only just large enough to take the wash basin, bath and toilet. The shower was over the bath which in itself is not a problem, but in this day and age it would be better to have a shower screen rather than a curtain, for both hygenic and usage reasons. The bathroom we were in could have done with some work as it was starting to look a bit tatty with obvious repairs having been made using copious amounts of sealer and generally well worn.

The highlight of the stay was the restaurant, where the food was excellect, good size portions and very friendly and helpful staff. The package offered a reduced menu (although you could order from the main menu up to a certain value) but what was offered on the reduced menu was a good selection from the main menu and exactly the same in quantity. A nice touch was that the reduced menu items were changed every evening, unlike so hotels which offer the same reduced menu night after night. The food was really well presented and was of excellent quality. We both had the the brie on the first night and after that we were struggling to eat our main course, I had the sea bass which was really very good, and my wife had the carvery which was also excellent. No comment on the dessert as we could not manage it but the coffee was once again well presented with a cafetierre and hot milk. This first night set the tone for the rest of the stay and each evening we were presented with excellent food. The breakfast was a choice of either a continental breakfast (which was a bit disappointing as the selection was minimal) or an excellect full English which was once again well cooked and presented. Other items are available for breakfast but at a supplement incl haddock, kipppers etc. I had poached eggs on the last morning and they were cooked to perfection. Tea/coffee are served along with a selection of toast.

Overall a very good stay, perhaps only let down a bit by the bathroom. A little work in this area would have brought it up to excellent. By the way, we had a room at the front of the hotel and did not notice the traffic noise from the main roads/roundabout directly outside. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Did not see the rooms at the back of the hotel but from the floor plan they looked a little smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill_emery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Nice staff, good service, but poor food.
Just popped in for a quick meal out about 9pm on a Friday evening,
Our starter of baked Brie in bread crumbs was somewhat short on the Brie.
For the main meals we both had Sizzling Fajitas, one vegetable & one Chicken. The Veggie, was over cooked & soggy & the chicken had copious amounts slimy lightly cooked onions.

Probably, wont be visiting again in a hurry

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Mrs_Smith_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed at the Devon Hotel for 2 nights and thought the experience was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was great and the bedroom was more than acceptable. I would recommend this hotel however it would be worth requesting a back room as I can imagine the front rooms suffer a lot of noise from the busy road,

Room Tip: Choose a quiet room round the back overlooking fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline4845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.0 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,591 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
494 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
2.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devon Hotel

Property: The Devon Hotel
Address: Matford, Exeter EX2 8XU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Devon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With easy access to Exeter City Centre and the surrounding area, the Devon Hotel is the perfect place to enjoy a city break or stay whilst on business. Exeter is a bustling and lively city with a fascinating Roman heritage and one of the world's best examples of a twelfth century Gothic cathedral. It is conveniently situated for visiting Dartmoor and the stunning coastline of South Devon. The Devon Hotel in Exeter has an outstanding reputation for fabulous cuisine and great accommodation. Situated on the edge of the vibrant city of Exeter, when you enter the Devon Hotel, you enter a world of exquisite comfort. Set in the Georgian building which is the heart of the hotel, our flagship Carriages Brasserie and Lounge Bar beckon you to linger with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Devon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Hotel Exeter
The Devon Hotel Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing