We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money, good location and good food offering”
Review of The Devon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Devon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Firstly, don't let it's appearance put you off. The Carriages restaurant has a more traditional style to it, whislt the hotel and rooms look a little more modern almost Chalet style.
The receptionist was very welcoming and friendly. Check in was swift, painless and efficient. A short walk to my room and hey presto. Bathroom was small but had all the toiletries needed( they do also sell additional items should you have forgotten anything)with a good sized bath and over the bath shower, finished off with a heated towel rail( a little favourite of mine).
The room was a good size and double bed very comfortable. Nice sized TV with the selection of Free to air Digital channels. Free wifi( via BT Openzone.) with a good speed connection.
Tea/coffee was supplied with a tea pot as well. Not seen one of them in a room for a while but it is was a nice touch..saves having to re brew every thirty seconds :)
Decor in the room was pastels/cream. Well turned out, tidy and clean. A well lit desk area is included and would suit the business trip individual very well.
Wardrobe was a little small, but that is the only thing I can complain about.

Breakfast was plentiful and served with a nice smile. Hot and Cold on offer so you cna pretty much sort yourself out.
I didn't eat an evening meal in the restaurant but others tell me the food is of a nice quality. There is a fairly good list of Room Service items available if you wish, ( all come with a 20% surchage - that's std these days).

All in all, a nicely appointed hotel that suits a variety of travellers. I'm not 100% convinced its ideal for families but certainly for business or couples looking to explore the area it is great.
At £66 per room b&B..its a bargain.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear facing room. The front faces onto the main road and if you are a light sleeper I woul...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spongegod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,104)
There are newer reviews for The Devon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,048 - 1,054 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

Booked lunch for 19 on the 19th March for my birthday party and could not fault it! The food was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for the friendly helpful staff. We all had a great time at a very reasonable price.
We then stayed the night in a comfortable room and enjoyed the self serve breakfast.
We will definately be going there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Great hotel. Stayed during a work week night so it was quite quiet. Alot of Wedding material and I believe it is a popular Wedding venue. Clean rooms, good room service and good food.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower ground have patio doors however this looks out onto a busy road. Not much noise...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nauney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Spent the evening 01/03/12 with a group of friends. The carvery was especially good. Tasty beef and pork with a good selection of vegetables. Choice of 5 desserts included in the £12.50 evening carvery + dessert offer. On our previous visit we mentioned how poor the Fruit Salad was as it was full of apple and little else. Decided to give it a try again and it was delicious, a good variety of fruit and well presented. Excellent value for money in pleasant surroundings, give it a try.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bpauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We took a special offer DBB. The room was nice if a little small especially the bathroom but all very clean. The maid was ironing right outside our door when we came out - quaint! The cooked breakfast was fair but not much choice other than that. The dinner was very few choices, 2 of the desserts were cheese and ice cream - not very inventive. I ordered a lime and got water and the soup was tasteless. Not up to the Brend Imperial Hotel in Barnstaple that's for sure. But, well done the little German waitress you made our night!

Room Tip: Lots of stairs so make sure you are fit! Had to shut window lorries started at 3am Sat morning
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. The hotel was nice enough, warm, clean etc but the room was very small and I wouldn't want to stay here for business purposes for more than one night.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OJFUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Very good service. Food excellent and bedroom very clean. Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Wehad a room at the back so it was very quiet. Front facing rooms might not be as quiet as they fron...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uccharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.0 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
2.4 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
528 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,736 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#18 of 31 in Exeter
1,313 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devon Hotel

Address: Matford, Exeter EX2 8XU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Exeter
Price Range: £66 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Devon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With easy access to Exeter City Centre and the surrounding area, the Devon Hotel is the perfect place to enjoy a city break or stay whilst on business. Exeter is a bustling and lively city with a fascinating Roman heritage and one of the world's best examples of a twelfth century Gothic cathedral. It is conveniently situated for visiting Dartmoor and the stunning coastline of South Devon. The Devon Hotel in Exeter has an outstanding reputation for fabulous cuisine and great accommodation. Situated on the edge of the vibrant city of Exeter, when you enter the Devon Hotel, you enter a world of exquisite comfort. Set in the Georgian building which is the heart of the hotel, our flagship Carriages Brasserie and Lounge Bar beckon you to linger with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Devon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Hotel Exeter
The Devon Hotel Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing