We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms,shame about the bathroom”
Review of The Devon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Devon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice rooms,shame about the bathroom”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Just had a very nice couple of nights here,the rooms were very clean & comfy but the bathroom was in desperate need of an update,the cracked tiles & lots of white mastic sealant needs to go! Breakfast was very good nice & hot & fresh,but the only fruit juice choice was orange.Being on a busy roundabout we thought it would be noisey but the room was well insulated & it wasn't a problem.Staff were polite & helpful even at midnight in the bar! Which was abit pricey.Not very good for disabled travellers or those with young children as there are lots of steep steps to rooms.

Room Tip: twin rooms are a little bit larger than doubles
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gasmanGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Devon Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for your review, we are currently totally refurbishing all of our bathrooms, to date we have finished just under 50% of the bathrooms.
With regards to the breakfast, other juices are available which our staff should have offered you as these are not on display but are kept in chilled fridges.
Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    335
    129
    37
    18
See reviews for
213
376
30
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
237 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stopped off for Sunday Lunch here on 1 July on our way back home, having used this hotel before on business i knew how busy Carriages Restaurant could be on a Sunday so we had booked in advance for the second sitting.

When we arrived, there was a short queue as the first sitting had just finished and preparations were being made for the second sitting. Within a couple of minutes we were shown to our table and our drinks order was taken. We were left with a couple of menu but we already knew what we wanted and that was the Carvery. Once our drinks arrived we were advised that we could go up to the carvery when we were ready. As in previous visits the food selection was excellent, with everything:- vegetables, meat & even the gravey being fresh and cooked too perfection.
We just about managed to finish off a pudding each and again this was excellent. my father does not like cream and without any hesitation they offered him Ice Cream instead on his pud.

All the staff are so polite and helpful they are a real asset to the hotel. With fantastic fresh food, amazing staff and being in a good location I have no hesitation telling friends to go here if they are in the area and looking for good value great food.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,077 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 575 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Although my experience of the Brend group hotels was mainly in North devon and Cornwall I did stay here several times. More of a business hotel I feel as it is not in a good place , having said that bit is no real problem getting into Exeter.
We came back and pulled in for some lunch,place had not changed much and looked as invitng as ever.
Food decent as was the price.Easy parking.

Room Tip: Check it out, may be good for your purpose,if on business it could fill your bill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a night on the way to Cornwall. The room was adequate although twin rooms are upstairs and not very accessible for disabled persons. Accommodation is motel style with ground floor rooms accessed directly from the car park. Staff were very helpful. The restaurant served a carvery in the evening which was very good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcelebration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We visited the restaurant here while camping in the area,we hadn't booked but managed to get a table for four on a Friday evening.As we were camping we hadn't dressed for sitting a lovely restaurant but were welcomed with excellent service and lovely food.The staff are very good and I would highly recommend a visit for food .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Not up to the usual Brand Group hotel, more of a motel really. Could not fault the cleanliness or style of the room, but very cramped and very thin walls, could hear people above walking, talking, tele etc.
Food good, staff friendly, just not worth the money, felt a bit cheated.

Room Tip: Try a back facing upstairs room, good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Staff very professional and helpful. My room was spotless and the bed was so comfortable really excellent nights sleep.One thing I really did appreciate the fact that there was pleanty of tea and coffe etc in the room.
Whilst coducting a three day training course there every request I made was dealt with very efficiently. The food supplied was excellent and very large portions. Breakfast was also excellent and the restaurant in the evening had a varied men all food cooked to perfection.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie_clarke61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.0 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,598 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
495 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
2.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devon Hotel

Property: The Devon Hotel
Address: Matford, Exeter EX2 8XU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Devon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With easy access to Exeter City Centre and the surrounding area, the Devon Hotel is the perfect place to enjoy a city break or stay whilst on business. Exeter is a bustling and lively city with a fascinating Roman heritage and one of the world's best examples of a twelfth century Gothic cathedral. It is conveniently situated for visiting Dartmoor and the stunning coastline of South Devon. The Devon Hotel in Exeter has an outstanding reputation for fabulous cuisine and great accommodation. Situated on the edge of the vibrant city of Exeter, when you enter the Devon Hotel, you enter a world of exquisite comfort. Set in the Georgian building which is the heart of the hotel, our flagship Carriages Brasserie and Lounge Bar beckon you to linger with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Devon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Hotel Exeter
The Devon Hotel Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing