We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”
Review of The Devon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Devon Hotel
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bristol
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Just enjoyed a weekend break, with friends, at the Brend DEVON HOTEL in Exeter.

Though we were advised at the time of booking that this is a business/motel style hotel we were extremely pleased with the level of comfort and service we received. The lack of guest formal lounges did not have a negative impact upon our stay. The bar area and dinning room are very well presented and very comfortable. The hotel presented the usual high standard expected from a Brend hotel.

We found all the staff to be welcoming and friendly. Our King size room well presented and immaculately clean. Although the hotel is situated at a roundabout we were not bothered by any external traffic noise, though in all fairness this was a winter visit and wanting to open bedroom windows in the warmer weather could find traffic noise slight intrusion.

If its Exeter you want to visit, you can walk to the Matford Park & Ride and catch a bus into the centre of the city.

The buffet breakfast offered an excellent choice and the evening meals were ample and well presented. As we were staying on a DBB package our evening meals were selected from the table d`hote menu, rather than the main restaurant menu. The first evening Table d`hote menu offered a pleasing and well balanced variety of first and main courses, but we felt that the second evening’s menu was not at all inspiring. – having said that it must be borne in mind that our two night stay fell under the umbrella of a Brend Hotel “January Sale” and therefore we could not fault our stay considering the price we paid – excellent value.

Though this is not a traditional hotel in the true sense we would not hesitate in returning and using the hotel as a base to explore the local area.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PunchandJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    324
    128
    37
    18
See reviews for
208
364
30
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, England
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Motel type accomodation. Worth the upgrade to king size bed. Rooms are small so are bathrooms. Clean and well looked after. Attentive and friendly staff. Evening meals and breakfast served next door, so be prepared for the short walk. Very nice food and bar serving at least one ale. Can recommend the carvery and buffet breakfast. Close to park and ride into Exeter. 5 min walk. Good location for rugby fans 10 min taxi ride to ground.

Room Tip: Upgrade to king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fortysomfing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed there twice & enjoyed it both times wedding reception fantastic spread nice staff room okay for a good nights sleep comfortable warm & a decent bathroom

very good for exeter park & ride good food excellent buffet breakfast i would reccomend it for a sort stay its really a motel with very good facilities for wedding

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ward57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2013

This is a motel. The rooms are tiny, I don't think I have ever stayed in such a small hotel room. The room was very cold, we were on the ground floor and being a Motel the door opens straight outside. The breakfast was disappointing and they finish serving at 9:30 sharp even on a Sunday. For the price I expected a lot more. Will not be back

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

I took my wife, mum & stepdad here for lunch on Boxing Day. Not the first time we've been and it won't be the last. The carvers is excellent. The service is fantastic. All the staff are friendly and helpful. We prefer to eat in the bar, in one of the bay windows if possible. Be warned. No bar tabs are allowed on Sundays. Fantastic every time

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stewart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keynsham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Our first stay at this particular Brend hotel, once again a good experience. We had one of the refurbished rooms downstairs. The bathroom refurb was well thought about, towel rails in the right place and plenty of room for personal toiletries etc. The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of extra pillows, if required. We were on a BB&EM deal - the carvery was excellent and the chef both polite and helpful - the vegetables were extensive, fresh and hot.

Room Tip: The downstairs room we book was excellent as we could park our car directly outside the door, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

This was the third Christmas Day my husband and I spent at this hotel with my two elderly parents. As always, the service and consideration was second to none. A table in good light was found for us, due the near blindness of one of my parents and accommodation on the flat was provided due to the very poor mobility of the other. The food was excellent as always. Not cheap but then it was Christmas and it was excellent value for money. No dou t we will return for a fourth Christmas!

Room Tip: Just specify any requirements you may have. The staff will do the rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.0 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
3.2 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#15 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
2.0 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devon Hotel

Property: The Devon Hotel
Address: Matford, Exeter EX2 8XU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Devon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With easy access to Exeter City Centre and the surrounding area, the Devon Hotel is the perfect place to enjoy a city break or stay whilst on business. Exeter is a bustling and lively city with a fascinating Roman heritage and one of the world's best examples of a twelfth century Gothic cathedral. It is conveniently situated for visiting Dartmoor and the stunning coastline of South Devon. The Devon Hotel in Exeter has an outstanding reputation for fabulous cuisine and great accommodation. Situated on the edge of the vibrant city of Exeter, when you enter the Devon Hotel, you enter a world of exquisite comfort. Set in the Georgian building which is the heart of the hotel, our flagship Carriages Brasserie and Lounge Bar beckon you to linger with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Devon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Hotel Exeter
The Devon Hotel Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing