We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of The Devon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Devon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Nice comfortable 'compact and bijou' room; vey clean and everything in working order. Excellent breakfast and dinner with friendly service. This is not my first visit to the Devon Hotel and it certainly will not be my last.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

978 - 984 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

OK, the 'restaurant' kind of has the look of the interior of a chain pub, bog standard pub decor. The food was ok, frozen peas and frozen chips with my steak, the steak, a pice of fillet was ok though and cooked rare the way i like it. During the course of my meal, a waiter came over, and in the process of clearing the next table, he deposited city glasses onto our table so he could wipe down the table he was clearing. I did ask him what on earth he thought he was doing, and to remove them immediately.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank jenjen300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Devon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our restaurant. I will speak to our waiters and re-train where applicable.
I would just say our decor is far from bog standard. Other viewers can check the photo gallery on our website to view the true quality of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We booked two rooms here day before we stayed on booking.com got really good deal £60 per room. The rooms were really great for the money, best of all they were super clean, the bathrooms were great the water was hot and pressure great. We had a room by the road, our son had Room upstairs our room was really warm but put fan on and kept us cool and made a background noise so we did not really hear cars. We did not eat here but did go to bar ( overpriced ) and food looked good. Would we stay again YES! Thank you Devon Hotel for lovely clean stay! :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank den-rick71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

If you are ever in the area you must visit this hotel. The hotel is situated just off the road and is easy to get to from all road networks. It's gardens and appearance are immaculate and once inside it doesn't disappoint. The staff are smart, friendly amd attentive. They offer a wide selection of food for breakfast including fresh fruit traditional and continental breakfasts. The food was very tasty and hot and there was plenty of it. During the week they offer a special dish and this week it was seafood lasagne which comes highly recommended. After a hard day at work if you fancy a relaxing night out this is the place to come!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hamlyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Just stayed for two nights over the weekend whist attending family do. Picked off internet for location and value. Scores highest on most things, does exactly what it says on the label, super staff, lots of them and always ready to go an extra yard. Décor excellent, maid service early sunday even though we were only there for 2 days. Bar and restaurant excellent evening and breakfast(superb) Only complaint is traffic noise from boy racers Saturday night round the roundabout outside not ameliorated by double glazing, thin walls and ceilings mean that you can hear everything going on next door and upstairs( and I mean everything).

Room Tip: downstairs front rooms very noisy, only been once so do not know what other options are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend, everything was first class especially the carvery meal was the best we have ever had, everywhere was spotless and the staff were so friendly,
We were so impressed we have booked 2 more weekends there

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandy1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed here on our way to cornwall. Room nice and clean and come with the few essentials that you might need: tea,coffee, and shower gel. Had Meal in the restaurant which very nice and price seemed reasonable.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.0 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
2.4 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
543 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#10 of 31 in Exeter
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
5.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devon Hotel

Address: Matford, Exeter EX2 8XU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Exeter
Price Range: £67 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Devon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With easy access to Exeter City Centre and the surrounding area, the Devon Hotel is the perfect place to enjoy a city break or stay whilst on business. Exeter is a bustling and lively city with a fascinating Roman heritage and one of the world's best examples of a twelfth century Gothic cathedral. It is conveniently situated for visiting Dartmoor and the stunning coastline of South Devon. The Devon Hotel in Exeter has an outstanding reputation for fabulous cuisine and great accommodation. Situated on the edge of the vibrant city of Exeter, when you enter the Devon Hotel, you enter a world of exquisite comfort. Set in the Georgian building which is the heart of the hotel, our flagship Carriages Brasserie and Lounge Bar beckon you to linger with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Devon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Hotel Exeter
The Devon Hotel Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing