We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carriages Restaurant”
Review of The Devon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Devon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Carriages Restaurant”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Arranged a meal here for my mothers 93rd birthday as good experience of this restaurant in the past. This time not so good. Non-attentive pretty much sums it up. We arrived a little early but table not ready. Balloons we'd paid extra for not prepared so had to walk 93 year old back to the bar area and wait. Food ok but not made feel special. Lighting so dim we couldn't see what we were eating. Had to prompt for everything including bringing out the birthday cake (we supplied) candles were broken so lit laid down on top causing wax to run all over the icing. Could have been so much better. :0 (

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BowlersDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    342
    133
    38
    20
See reviews for
222
392
31
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
st aulaye france
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

A group of retired nurses use this hotel for their annual reunion. This year my friend and I decided to stay overnight as well. I can highly reccomend the room, we had one over looking the front car park and although the main Exeter bypass runs very close with the windows shut we heard almost no traffic noise. The room was very good,clean linen,plenty of towels and most importantly of all tea making facilities. The bathroom clean and hurrah the shower curtain clean and free from black edges. The food at this hotel is excellent and the carvery is very good value with a wide choice of vegetables and 2 choices of roast. One of our group is vegetarian and was well catered for with her dish served at the same time as we went to the carvery. The desserts are to die for. The staff are good on the whole but we had to call the waiter over when he presented our bill as the main courses had been left off, just for a few seconds we couldn't believe how inexpensive our meal had been until we realised their mistake,sadly they made no monetary reduction for our honesty just presented us with a handful of the chocolates they serve with coffee. Our newspaper and morning call were delivered and breakfast was fine, although both of us were still full from our meal so only managed toast but there was a comprehensive choice if one wanted a full 'English'. This hotel offers excellent value and is a good base for exploring South Devon. It is so good that we have already booked next years reunion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you are bothered by traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelagh d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

If you want a place to stay or just to eat without the hassles of going into the city this is the place to visit.

The location is central to all networks and with its beautiful gardens and large car park the venue enables you to have a relaxing visit.

The Hotel isextremely comfortable, clean and the Carriages Bar has a lovely atmosphere. The staff are well trained well dressed and very attentive.

If you are a local it is an ideal plavce to pop out for a meal or just for a few drinks. If a holiday maker there are so many places to visit with lovely walks, cycle rides only a few miles away in Haldon Forest.

This Hotel comes highly recommended

Jill and Les

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stay at this hotel on a regular basis. The rooms are more than adequate for a short stay. The food in the restaurant is excellent both for choice and quality, I would especially recommend the carvery. Staff are always polite and more than helpful from reception through to the bar staff. Wifi is free and an added bonus is that it is quick which is not always the norm for hotels offering free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheIronTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Had dinner at The Devon Hotel last saturday with my husband, my mum and aunty, we booked The Devon Hotel as the food is always brilliant. We sat in the busy atmospheric bar area to eat, staff were attentive and pleasant. We all had starters and mains which were delicious. An excellent venue for dinner in Exeter.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TW86613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were transferred here by The Exeter Hotel in August 2013. The reception staff were cold and unwelcoming. They told us on arrival that they were not expecting our 3 year old son, in front of him and made him feel very unwelcome after a six hour journey.

Our room was dark and old fashioned aka The Shining in decor. The noise of the dual carriageway is constant as it is about two metres away. There was no fan facility in the midst of a heatwave and windows had to be left open all night. A slamming main door beneath our bed reverberated the entire night, the shower dribbled - no water pressure and the toilet took repeat flushes to clear.

When I complained in the morning, after no sleep, the Duty Manager was defensive and unwilling to acknowledge both their poor staff reception and accommodation. I pursued the complaint by email requesting a refund. I was advised that the hotel had given us a bed for the night. I would have been delighted if I had been offered unreserved apology and some for of reimbursement as it would have restored some faith in their hospitality.

Unsatisfied, I pursued the complaint further with the Managing Director - he advised that I pursue a refund from The Exeter Hotel, even though we did not stay there. I have replied again to Mr Sands requesting a refund for an unsatisfactory stay and have not even had the courtesy of an acknowledgement. To say I am disgusted is an understatement. Unpleasant at every level, from the moment we arrived right through to the biased complaints process.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Director at The Devon Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
We take everybody’s complaint seriously at The Devon Hotel and try to ensure that we make everybody’s stay welcoming and comfortable, with the high quality of service, as confirmed by other reviews of the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Spent two nights at this well run hotel (26/27 Sept) where my wife and I were made very welcome by extremely pleasant and helpful Reception staff. Our allocated room was spotlessly clean, modern and very comfortable and clearly prepared to a high standard. We were equally welcomed in the Bar and excellent Restaurant where we found a very comprehensive menu and food prepared and presented to a high standard. With the restaurant being clearly popular and pretty full on both evenings there did seem to be a shortage of staff for the numbers involved and on several occasions waitresses were wandering from table to table with hot meals clearly unaware of who the meals were for. Some meals must have been cold after having been "paraded" around the Bar and through the large Restaurant before finally arriving at their destination. Clearly a lack of supervision here!!
Nevertheless, I would certainly recommend this hotel as a good place to stay and feel that a special mention must be made for the Reception staff for whom nothing was too much trouble and certainly made all comers very welcome...well done to them !! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgioGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.0 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.9 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
506 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
3.2 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
1.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devon Hotel

Property: The Devon Hotel
Address: Matford, Exeter EX2 8XU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Devon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With easy access to Exeter City Centre and the surrounding area, the Devon Hotel is the perfect place to enjoy a city break or stay whilst on business. Exeter is a bustling and lively city with a fascinating Roman heritage and one of the world's best examples of a twelfth century Gothic cathedral. It is conveniently situated for visiting Dartmoor and the stunning coastline of South Devon. The Devon Hotel in Exeter has an outstanding reputation for fabulous cuisine and great accommodation. Situated on the edge of the vibrant city of Exeter, when you enter the Devon Hotel, you enter a world of exquisite comfort. Set in the Georgian building which is the heart of the hotel, our flagship Carriages Brasserie and Lounge Bar beckon you to linger with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Devon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Hotel Exeter
The Devon Hotel Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing