We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff excellent, rooms not so much.”
Review of The Devon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Devon Hotel
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
St. Dogmaels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staff excellent, rooms not so much.”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights whilst attending a family wedding reception within the hotel. We arrived quite late on the Friday evening, checked in and found our room. As we were paying £85 per night ( discounted wedding rate ) we were quite disappointed with the size of the room, although in all fairness it was clean and well furnished.
We went for a drink in the bar area, which was lovely, again very nicely decorated, drinks fairly priced and staff extremely helpful and friendly, particularly Lloyd and Jase (assuming short for Jason?! )
Returned to our room, and considering it was in a chalet style building, found it extremely hot considering it was windy and raining outside, and had no heating switched on inside, this stifling heat only added to the terrible nights sleep we were in for due to the extreme softness of the bed, I've slept on firmer water beds!!!
The following morning we found a small electric fan in the bottom of the wardrobe, however this was next to useless against the unbearable heat, and I cant imagine how uncomfortable this place would be on a hot summer night. We had the windows open all night, but due to the ground floor location had to choose whether to close the lovely thick curtains to keep our privacy but block out any cold, fresh air, or keep the curtains open but have every tom, dick and harry walking through the car park able to see into our room. On that note, there is also a lot of noise from the busy road out front, but obviously there is not a lot the hotel can do about that!
The breakfast buffet was lovely, although the continental side could use some additional choices, (only orange juice available first morning, no pastries, yoghurt bowls but no dried fruits/granola etc)
On the Saturday afternoon we returned to the hotel for the wedding breakfast, personally I found it odd that the welcome drinks were held in the bar area in amongst non wedding guests but that's probably just my personal preference, once we moved upstairs to the function suite, I could not fault the professionalism of the staff. The food was excellent, and none of the guests on our table had a bad thing to say about it, there was also plenty of it. I certainly enjoyed the evening entertainment and would definitely return for another function here.
Slept slightly better the second night, but put that down to the copious amounts of alcohol consumed rather than the bed being any firmer!
I would not rush back to book this hotel, only due to the uncomfortable nights we had, however, if they installed air conditioning and upgraded the beds to something a little firmer, I absolutely wouldn't hesitate.
Personally I feel the hotel prices reflect the quality of the restaurant facilities rather than the quality of the rooms, and sadly although clean, they were only adequate rather than exceptional, and at £90+ a night, I had higher expectations.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room so you can keep the curtains open and allow some air in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeifiNetpoolInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, General Manager at The Devon Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time you review your stay at our hotel. I was happy to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your first nights stay with us, and wished you had brought this to our attention at the time so that we could have offered you an alternative room, and rectified the problems. The Director’s of Brend Hotels are intending to invest heavily in our accommodation.
We put a lot of effort into staff training so it is always lovely to hear such praise of them, thank you. I hope you would choose to visit us again.

Kind regards

Mr Simon Parkhouse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    324
    128
    37
    18
See reviews for
208
364
30
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and i came here for a Sunday carvery. The prices are £10 for just carvery for adults or about £13 with dessert. The restaurant is very well kept throughout with nice clean decorations. It is a large restaurant so even without a booking we were able to get a table in the bar area at 1pm. Food quality was very good with an excellent portion of lovely tasting meat (I had the beef). Dessert was also very nice. If you are driving to a Sunday roast in Exeter I recommend here. I'm looking forward to trying their normal menu on another evening.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank tom p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at The Devon Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing your restaurant experience. I am thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable Sunday Lunch with us. Don’t forget to apply for a dining reward card next time you visit us, this will enable you to collect stamps and redeem rewards for your loyalty.

Kind regards

Ross Hamilton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend break and had a very nice time. The staff were all very helpful, friendly and attentive. Also the food was very good and the rooms were clean and tidy. Good value for money. We'll definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGermanOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at The Devon Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your excellent review of our hotel, I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful time with us and that the staff looked after you very well. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Ross Hamilton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Nice room, spotlessly clean, and well looked after. Everything you need for a break in Devon at a central location. Good food and friendly and helpful staff throughout. Would certainly recommend and visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bernard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at The Devon Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for rating you stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you will return to us next time you are visiting Exeter.
Kind regards

Ross Hamilton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed a night at Devon Hotel while on a seminar at Exeter. I enjoyed a personalised service and the staff were courteous and very polite. I was treated like a King.
I surely recommend the hotel to anyone who is within the area for any occasion.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sam3285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at The Devon Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am thrilled by your comments. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Kind regards

Ross Hamilton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I attended a function at this hotel so chose to get a room too. The food was really nice with good portions and the service was very good. The rooms were clean with a nice bathroom. My only niggles were the room being just that little bit too small as difficult to store luggage so it tended to get in the way and that the rooms were a tad on the warm side without the heating on. We did open the window a little but reluctant to open further due to facing a nearby busy road.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at The Devon Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the meal you had at the function we hosted. I am sorry that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay. I do hope you will chose to stay with us again.

Kind regards

Ross Hamilton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Staff at the Devon Hotel paid attention to a comment on my booking form about a dietary requirement. They telephoned me to discuss what I could eat for my evening meal and delivered an amazing meal. The service was personalised and staff were genuinely interested in my requirement and had been researching it online.

The room wasn't large but was well appointed and had everything I needed. The bathroom was a good size and was great. The bed was sooooooo comfortable.

Room Tip: I was in a ground floor room overlooking the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneMHampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at The Devon Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, I am delighted that the staff made you feel welcome and attended to your needs. I hope that you will chose to stay with us again next time you visit Exeter.

Kind regards

Ross Hamilton
Hotel Manager

To keep up to date with all that is happening here at The Devon Hotel you can follow us on twitter @The_Devon_Hotel, like us on Facebok.com/devonhotel or visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.0 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
3.2 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#15 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
2.0 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devon Hotel

Property: The Devon Hotel
Address: Matford, Exeter EX2 8XU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Devon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With easy access to Exeter City Centre and the surrounding area, the Devon Hotel is the perfect place to enjoy a city break or stay whilst on business. Exeter is a bustling and lively city with a fascinating Roman heritage and one of the world's best examples of a twelfth century Gothic cathedral. It is conveniently situated for visiting Dartmoor and the stunning coastline of South Devon. The Devon Hotel in Exeter has an outstanding reputation for fabulous cuisine and great accommodation. Situated on the edge of the vibrant city of Exeter, when you enter the Devon Hotel, you enter a world of exquisite comfort. Set in the Georgian building which is the heart of the hotel, our flagship Carriages Brasserie and Lounge Bar beckon you to linger with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Devon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Hotel Exeter
The Devon Hotel Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing