We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May 31st”
Review of The Devon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Devon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Clean but pokey, apart from packs of biscuits, I would say inferior to Premier Inn. Definitely a hotel for the over 60's. Stayed at hotel for it's location rather than anything else. Staff were pleasant

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at The Devon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am glad that you were happy with most aspects of your stay. I hope that you would choose to stay with us again.

Kind regards

Ross Hamilton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,104)
There are newer reviews for The Devon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

842 - 848 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Devon hotel as it was close to other areas we visited.
The hotel and rooms are clean and tidy. Staff very pleasant
Breakfast was good value for the money we paid.
On the down side this hotel is situated on a major roundabout which is very very busy. The traffic did subside at around 22.00 hours, however I was awoke at 5am the following morning by fast motorbikes.
My advise if considering staying at this hotel would be to request a room at the back of the hotel and not at the front.

Room Tip: Request a room at the rear of hotel
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minniemouse78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at The Devon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. I was happy to hear that you found the rooms, staff and breakfast to your satisfaction. I do hope that any noise you experienced wouldn’t discourage you from visiting us again.

Kind regards

Ross Hamilton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were really pleased with this hotel. We only booked it as it was on special offer, but we would definitely stay again. The room was very comfortable and had everything you needed. We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel and the food and service was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was so much nicer than the value chain hotels and really good value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at The Devon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had such a lovely time. I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards
Ross Hamilton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Had a really great stay. Rooms very comfortable service fantastic and resturant amazing. Highly re contend you try thus hotel out. You won't regret it trust me. Try the rump lamb fillet amazing!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank theclint0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at The Devon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Wow, thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay with us. I am delighted that you had such a fantastic time with us, and loved the rooms and Carriages Restaurant.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Ross Hamilton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was a great alternative to the soulless Premier Inn etc & was great value for money. The food was good & all staff very professional and helpful. Comfy room with drink making facilities. Ideal for the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank M.Slater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at The Devon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. I am thrilled that you like the feel of the hotel and that you were happy with the facilities and staff. We spend a lot of time and effort on our training so it is always satisfying to hear such praise of them.
I hope that you will chose to stay with us again when next in Exeter.


Kind regards

Ross Hamilton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

A friend and I stayed for two nights. The hotel is in a good location to tourist attractions. The rooms were very clean, the staff were friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant which is situated next door for breakfast and evening meals. Both were very nice and value for money. I would definitely come back and stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia197114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at The Devon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted that you had a lovely stay and enjoyed the meals you had with us.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Ross Hamilton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

After a four hour journey down, we were looking forward to getting to the hotel. However we were really disheartened when we realised we wouldn't be staying in the lovely, well presented white building we had seen on pictures. Instead we were staying in the motel building next door. Staff at check in were lovely, and friendly. Room is small and has a feel of a caravan, but it's very clean. Bed was far too soft for us and the rooms do get too hot, and being on a ground floor room we didn't want to leave windows open. We did use the fan in the cupboard which helped. Rooms are over priced. We are in the restaurant, which is overpriced and, we felt, not a wide choice. My partner ordered nachos as a main and the meat was dry and minimal. Breakfast wasn't great, didn't like that nothing was freshly made, it was all self serve so had been sat under lights. Wouldn't return to the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamandSim0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at The Devon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your views of the hotel. I am happy to hear that you found the reception staff welcoming and the rooms spotless. I wished that you had brought to our attention anything you felt you were not happy with, so that we could have rectified any problems you had at the time.

Kind regards

Ross Hamilton
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
2.0 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
2.4 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
529 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,736 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#18 of 31 in Exeter
1,313 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devon Hotel

Address: Matford, Exeter EX2 8XU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Exeter
Price Range: £66 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Devon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With easy access to Exeter City Centre and the surrounding area, the Devon Hotel is the perfect place to enjoy a city break or stay whilst on business. Exeter is a bustling and lively city with a fascinating Roman heritage and one of the world's best examples of a twelfth century Gothic cathedral. It is conveniently situated for visiting Dartmoor and the stunning coastline of South Devon. The Devon Hotel in Exeter has an outstanding reputation for fabulous cuisine and great accommodation. Situated on the edge of the vibrant city of Exeter, when you enter the Devon Hotel, you enter a world of exquisite comfort. Set in the Georgian building which is the heart of the hotel, our flagship Carriages Brasserie and Lounge Bar beckon you to linger with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Devon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Hotel Exeter
The Devon Hotel Exeter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing